Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday November 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2005, 12:18 AM   #1
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default Question about wireless modems. please help

This is probably a dumb question to you networking gurus. I don't really know what I need to run my laptop wireless but keep my desktop wired.

Right now I have my cable modem going into my router and then I have a Cat 5 wire running to mydesktop, and a Cat 5 running to my Desktop. My wife is tired of the 100' of Cat 5 all over our house going to wherever my laptop is so I need to make it wireless. What do I need to get to keep my desktop ON the Cat 5 but make my laptop wireless? Is that possible?

So to summarize, I want my desktop to stay on Cat 5 from my router, and my laptop to by wireless from the router. what do I need after the router? Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:19 AM   #2
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Oh, and before anyone asks, I use the laptop all thetime at home because it is my work computer. I can't just use my desktop while at home.
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:19 AM   #3
WRXedUSA
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26833
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Vehicle:
'07 Bugatti Veyron
'03 Chevy Silverado

Default

Cameo's don't make for brownie points.
WRXedUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:21 AM   #4
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

You need a WAP(Wireless Access Point). Plug it into your router and it'll allow you to connect your laptop to it, via the wireless connection.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:21 AM   #5
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXedUSA
Cameo's don't make for brownie points.
yeah but at this point in my NASIOC life, Idon't need to collect any brownie points.
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:22 AM   #6
WRXedUSA
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26833
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Vehicle:
'07 Bugatti Veyron
'03 Chevy Silverado

Default

Quitter.
WRXedUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:24 AM   #7
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge
You need a WAP(Wireless Access Point). Plug it into your router and it'll allow you to connect your laptop to it, via the wireless connection.
Thanks. Can you recomend one? SO I'm guessing All I need is the WAP and a wireless modem card for my laptop right?

Is this a good way to go or would I see any benefit to running the wireless to my desktop as well?
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:25 AM   #8
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

Get the cheapest one you can. For home, you only really need 802.11b...but you could get 802.11g if you wanted, or if you thought you'd be doing a lot of file transfers from wireless to your desktop.

The laptop doesn't already have wireless? What kind of laptop? Some had wireless as an option, and if you didn't get it originally, you can still add the internal card, which is easier to deal with than a PCMCIA card.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:26 AM   #9
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

And don't bother running wireless to your desktop as well, unless the cable to your desktop is a nuisance.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:28 AM   #10
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge
Get the cheapest one you can. For home, you only really need 802.11b...but you could get 802.11g if you wanted, or if you thought you'd be doing a lot of file transfers from wireless to your desktop.

The laptop doesn't already have wireless? What kind of laptop? Some had wireless as an option, and if you didn't get it originally, you can still add the internal card, which is easier to deal with than a PCMCIA card.
It's an IBM ThinkPad R31. I don't think it has a wireless card because our company never really intended us to use wireless I think. It does have a built in network card though so my little card slot where a wireless card would go is still open so I would not have to switch out cards between the office and home.
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:32 AM   #11
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge
Get the cheapest one you can. For home, you only really need 802.11b...but you could get 802.11g if you wanted, or if you thought you'd be doing a lot of file transfers from wireless to your desktop.

The laptop doesn't already have wireless? What kind of laptop? Some had wireless as an option, and if you didn't get it originally, you can still add the internal card, which is easier to deal with than a PCMCIA card.
Also, I use VPN to connect to our work server so I would like it to be as fast as possible because I work in real time swapping data on the server. that being said, should I go for one of these new 54mbps WAPs?
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:35 AM   #12
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

The 54Mb will only help if your internet speed goes that fast. 802.11b is 11Mb and that's usually higher than your internet speed.

Your R31 did have an internal wireless option. I'll do a quick search to see how cheap it might be. Probably just pop the keyboard off and insert it into the Mini-PCI slot, inside the unit.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:37 AM   #13
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge
The 54Mb will only help if your internet speed goes that fast. 802.11b is 11Mb and that's usually higher than your internet speed.

Your R31 did have an internal wireless option. I'll do a quick search to see how cheap it might be. Probably just pop the keyboard off and insert it into the Mini-PCI slot, inside the unit.
Thanks!
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:44 AM   #14
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

eric, email me the exact model number off the laptop. It'll probably be on the bottom. should be 4 numbers, a dash, then another 3 characters(letters or numbers).

tullnd@gmail.com
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:44 AM   #15
Kaiser
\_(ツ) Maybe faq u rug?
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

ERIC!!!!!!!





That's all I got. That and "hi!"
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:47 AM   #16
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser
ERIC!!!!!!!





That's all I got. That and "hi!"

I'm still alive. I'm always working in the field during the day now and at night I'm rarely playing on the computer. OT moves to fast to just browse occationally so I rarely try to keep up anymore
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:49 AM   #17
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

If it is on the bottom, it's rubbed off. I'm an auto adjuster so I am always putting my computer on things that scratch the bottom. SInce I have this open slot, I wouldn't think it would be that bad to put the card in it right?
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:50 AM   #18
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Is the Linksys WAP11 a good one to get
http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=35&prid=563

It looks like the Linksys version of an 802.11b WAP
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:51 AM   #19
Kaiser
\_(ツ) Maybe faq u rug?
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric SS

I'm still alive. I'm always working in the field during the day now and at night I'm rarely playing on the computer. OT moves to fast to just browse occationally so I rarely try to keep up anymore
I too have fallen off the wagon, alas.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 12:59 AM   #20
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Amazon.com has the linksys 802.11b access point for only $17.49 after the mail in rebate. That seems like a great deal. Shous I do it?
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...27904?v=glance
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 01:00 AM   #21
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

Might have to go the slot route, since I can't find specifics on your model. IBM's site is a nightmare without the specific model number.

I'd think you'd have a regular PCMCIA slot...but yours might need Cardbus. Does it say on the side of the notebook?
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 01:02 AM   #22
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

The linksys one looks fine. Buy.com has it for $9.99 after rebate. Check techdeals.net for more info.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 01:03 AM   #23
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge
Might have to go the slot route, since I can't find specifics on your model. IBM's site is a nightmare without the specific model number.

I'd think you'd have a regular PCMCIA slot...but yours might need Cardbus. Does it say on the side of the notebook?
It doesn't say what type of slot it is but the little icon on the side of the computer is a rectangle split in half with 4 little dots above it.
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 01:04 AM   #24
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge
The linksys one looks fine. Buy.com has it for $9.99 after rebate. Check techdeals.net for more info.
Charge, you are da man. Old sk00l fo' life!
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 01:07 AM   #25
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

I think it's just a regular Type II PCMCIA slot. Probably supports Cardbus as well. So any of those would work.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about swapping suspension please help! ar0b Brakes, Steering & Suspension 1 01-04-2009 04:16 PM
question about clutch adjustment, please help 4pOwnag3 Newbies & FAQs 9 11-07-2006 12:30 AM
Question about wireless router and proxys...help PLEASE summit Off-Topic 3 11-30-2004 03:41 PM
Questions about wheel install. please HELP! SubSonic Tire & Wheel 2 05-04-2003 12:22 AM
newbie question about Sway bars - please help Osgood30 Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 08-16-2002 06:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.