Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 3, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2005, 12:28 AM   #1
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default Mac guys - problem with Tiger/Spotlight not loading right...

I've got a G4 here at work and last week I loaded Tiger onto it.

Earlier this week, it locked up and I could hear through my headphones a short static noise that repeats over and over. So I hit the restart button. When OSX came back after logging in, it would stall when trying to load the menu bar. It got as far as the spotlight icon, but nothing else. I could hear the hard drive working for a bit, then nothing.

So I moved the mouse over the Spotlight icon and I get that rainbowy circle that spins. Tried shutting down & restarting all with the same effect. So I re-loaded Tiger and just now it did it again.

I use Synergy with iTunes and I dunno if that's the cause, or even a ballpark of what the cause is. Any ideas? This is super frustrating.

I'm not at work right now so I won't be able to try anything but I've already listed using Disk Utility and trying to delete the Spotlight preference / index file.

Thanks for any help
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-08-2005, 01:23 AM   #2
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default

no one?
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 01:29 AM   #3
US2JDM
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 5893
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Fairport, NY
Vehicle:
1997 Black GC4
1995 White BK6

Default

PM WagonMacster.
US2JDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 01:40 AM   #4
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by US2JDM
PM WagonMacster.
I'm sure if we keep bumping it, he'll see this thread eventually!
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 01:43 AM   #5
US2JDM
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 5893
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Fairport, NY
Vehicle:
1997 Black GC4
1995 White BK6

Default

WagonMaster's a homo.
US2JDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 01:50 AM   #6
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by US2JDM
WagonMaster's a homo.


OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH!

YOU IN TWUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUBBLE!!
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:00 PM   #7
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default

edit:

stupid me. didnt know Installer had a menu bar too.
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:05 PM   #8
scaryfastskier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7893
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
2010 F150 & Iron883
Husky TE449 + TXC250

Default

i am hazy on the exact procedure... but you have to hold down the shift or apple key or something after a reboot with the OSX dvd in to get the utilities to come up, right? i assume thats what you tried? do you have a mac store nearby? i've had goodluck stopping by there with weird stuff like you are describing. they never charged me either. i hear the apple help hotlines are not horrid either.

goodluck,
grant

edit: nevermind all that you got it under control
scaryfastskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:06 PM   #9
alacrity024
Review Crew
 
Member#: 49476
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Out of the car, long-hair!!
Default

*hugs his PC*
alacrity024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:08 PM   #10
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

Throw it out the window, that may solve the problem

j/k do not want a mac/pc war in this thread...
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:09 PM   #11
LegacydelFuego
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40893
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Vehicle:
1998 Legacy GT Sedan
Black

Default

*nevermind*
LegacydelFuego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:35 PM   #12
dvswrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56570
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bozeman, MT
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Silver

Default

I had this problem when i had a bad driver loaded. After I upgraded from 10.3 to 10.4 it would hang up after 2-3 minutes. I ended up reloading from scratch with the 10.4 (tiger to most) and finding the programs to load again.

Devious
dvswrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 12:40 PM   #13
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default

well i ran disk utility for both repair disk and repair permissions, and that had no dice. so then I got a tip to use terminal to remove a com.apple.systemuiserver.plist file, which ties into Spotlight and delete that.

Well I can't get into OS X at all, so I tried booting from CD and using Terminal in there. Well, that doesn't work either. Terminal doesn't wanna find anything except the OS X install disk.

**** all this. I shouldnt have all this trouble at MY JOB.
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 01:19 PM   #14
Ludicrous Speed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70620
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
07 R63 AMG
Obsidian Black

Default Mac stuff

No Mac support ppl at your job?

Did you just install 10.4 on top of the old system, or did you archive and install? Any other macs around to possibly go into target disk mode? Reset the board? Reset PRAM and NVRAM? Running the latest firmware?

Are you using your admin account as your user account, or do you have a seperate user account?
Ludicrous Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 02:10 PM   #15
Kinsbane
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15679
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: GPSW - UFQC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludicrous Speed
No Mac support ppl at your job?
Nope.

Quote:
Did you just install 10.4 on top of the old system, or did you archive and install?
Archive & install - and now everything works, and the apple website says, "Oh yeah! Just copy your crap from the Previous Systems folder to wherever and it'll be fine!" Apple's a dumbass, though. Finder nor Spotlight can locate my Previous Systems folder.

Quote:
Any other macs around to possibly go into target disk mode?
none that can be spared.

Quote:
Reset the board?
no.
Quote:
Reset PRAM and NVRAM?
no.
Quote:
Running the latest firmware?
dunno.

Quote:
Are you using your admin account as your user account, or do you have a seperate user account?
I've got my account which is separate from the System Administrator.
Kinsbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 02:32 PM   #16
Keith
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 191
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2012 J train
Brown

Default

macs suck
and so do u
Keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with my wrx stephentodd Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 4 06-02-2010 08:53 PM
weird problem with boost gauge, not sure how to diagnose... tobylazur Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 14 01-13-2010 10:31 PM
Hey Guys, problem with beam pattern from H1 Osram Silverstars on MY05 2.5RS 3DF Electrical & Lighting 1 03-15-2006 12:33 AM
Mac folk - can't install Tiger on iBook G4 1ghz Fuzz541 Off-Topic 2 01-11-2006 01:43 AM
Are there any MAC gurus here. Having a problem with a website. Mud Pig Off-Topic 9 09-15-2005 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.