Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2005, 01:05 PM   #1
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default 02 ECU in an 04

Hope this is the right forum (please correct me if I am wrong). Recently got an 02 ecu for my 04 (as a cheap solution to inherent problems with the 04). Right now the car is completly stock. I swapped out the ECUs (took out the 04 put the 02 in) and everything was fine and danndy for about 7-10 miles. Then the CEL came on. I was going to run over to auto zone to get the code pulled when it struck me? Do they need to know what year the car is to pull the code? IF so what year do I tell them? 04 - 02?

Anyone else done this swap? What were your results? (Oh by the way my car is a Manual and I did verify the ECU was from a manual. Any way to make sure it's from a manual?)
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 01:11 PM   #2
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

EM forum would be a better choice. . .

I believe the codes are the same for my02+, go get it pulled.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 01:16 PM   #3
mmorningstar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73432
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lovely Central Rainsylvania
Vehicle:
2008 Ford Mustang GT
Performance White

Default

the 04 has some additional sensors I believe...
mmorningstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 01:31 PM   #4
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

...get another '04 ecu and get it reflashed.......the '02 isn't gonna do it for ya.....unless it is reflashed....and then, as posted above.....there are several differences that may or may not be issues with it, even reflashed....I don't remember exactly, but some of the emissions junk is different and you may have permanent CEL's
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 01:33 PM   #5
Ironlung
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52121
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Centreville
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

You can't use an 02 ecu in an 04. I believe the 02-03's are interchangeable with each other and the 04-05's are interchangeable with each other. Probably should have searched around a little before you swapped em out. I'm no ecu expert, but I wouldn't drive it till you get a replacement 04 or 05 ecu in it. Hopefully it didn't hurt your car any.
Ironlung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 02:39 PM   #6
drees
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25905
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Silver Wagon
Tuned with Enginuity

Default

Some people were saying earlier that you could use an 02-03 ECU in an 04, but not the otherway around... Obviously it's pretty close to working!
drees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 03:07 PM   #7
bofh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59287
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2007 WRB WRX
2004 WRB WRX (RIP)

Default Yep. Me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drees
Some people were saying earlier that you could use an 02-03 ECU in an 04, but not the otherway around... Obviously it's pretty close to working!
I was one of them. Pull the damn code. An 02-03 ECU has worked in several 04s to remove the OL/CL delay. It is not as good as a retune, but it does fix that one problem. You probably have a different issue, but you won't know until you pull the cod. Also, there were several "versions" of the software for the 02-03 ECU. Go to openecu.org and you can see some. They can now do some limited image burning there.

Scotty: The differences is that the 02-03 will not check some sensors on the 04+. But since it don't know about them, no big deal. An 04 ECU will look for those missing sensors on an 02, and CEL out.

Ironlung: Please don't talk about stuff you have not actually done, or seen done. This is how misinformation gets spread. It works for many.
bofh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 04:31 PM   #8
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

bofh - Thanks for explaining all that for me.

I have looked over at openecu.org. Singed up and even have PM with some of the key people over there.

But to my understanding they can do limited flashes but haven't released the software (or a least a compiled version). If I'm wrong please set me straight.

I reset the ECU and it's been good for 50 miles now we will see what happens in time. As soon as the CEL comes up again I'll go get the code pulled and let you guys know.

"Probably should have searched around a little before you swapped em out."

I know there are alot of ignorant people around here but that doesn't mean you have to assume everyone is! I did plenty of reading first! ( Not like there is a whole lot around here). Hopefully this thread will help out the next guy (if everyone post "Known" info)

Thanks for the help!
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 07:29 PM   #9
MRF582
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48219
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
. Always drive
the race line .

Default

I just wanted to thank bofh for stepping in here. i was going to type up a long post but don't have to anymore.
MRF582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 10:56 AM   #10
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Got to about 60 miles and it seemed like everything was going well and as soon as I opened it up through a couple of gears I got another CEL. Ran over to autozone and got the code pulled.

P0340

Something about camshaft posistion sensor on cam A. Not really what I expected? Any ideas why it would be throwing this code (other than the car has the wrong ECU in it.) Something diffrent with the cam sensors in the 02s? Thanks for any help.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 01:08 PM   #11
Bismarck
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41744
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2006 Evolution IX MR
Graphite Gray

Default

I ran an 03 ECU in my 04 along with an XEDE for a long time (until the XEDE was stolen and I went to the Hydra). Worked just fine, no CELs, no problems. The most obivous things to do will be to check the wiring harness and make sure none of the pins are loose at the ECU and that the sensor plug is securely connect. Also check to make sure the connector isn't damaged or corroded. I would suspect that the sensor itself would be fine as the 04 ECU wasn't throwing this code, but it's worth checking out in any event.

You might want to try putting the 04 ECU back in and driving around for a while to see if it generates the same code. If it does, then it could be that the sensor itself is hosed or there's an issue in the harness somewhere. You could also actually have a cam timing problem, but I kind of doubt it. If that were the case, I think you'd be having quite a few more symptoms (car won't start, or start and dies quickly thereafter, something along those lines).

Pick up the 02-03 service manual and follow the diagnostic procedure in there. The 04 manual lists a procedure that looks to involve a scope of some kind (there's a waveform that you check to verify the output from the cam position sensor at various degrees of rotation and cylinder TDC positions).

Not a whole lot of help from me, but it might get you going in the right direction.

-Bis
Bismarck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 02:12 PM   #12
bofh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59287
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2007 WRB WRX
2004 WRB WRX (RIP)

Default

Sounds like an electrical problem, or a sensor problem, not an ECU problem. Make sure there is no gunk in the connector first. Then a search will reveal the guy on here who has posted an 03 service manual... (Trying to stay politically correct here) Diagnose the trouble code that way. It is easier on an 03 anyway.
bofh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 02:19 PM   #13
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

I'll give that a try and we will see what happens. Car seems to be running better, boost is right where it should be. Do you think this is a don't drive the car problem? (Since it doesn't seem to be in limp mode I don't think it's a big deal to drive it till it's figured out?)
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 03:16 PM   #14
Bismarck
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41744
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Portland
Vehicle:
2006 Evolution IX MR
Graphite Gray

Default

Personally, I wouldn't run the car with that code, regardless of why it's being generated. I'd diagnose the problem and get that sorted out before I started driving the car around in any manner other than for testing purposes. But that's just me.

-Bis
Bismarck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 03:21 PM   #15
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

Already removed! Thanks for the input tho!
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 08:45 PM   #16
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeramie
Got to about 60 miles and it seemed like everything was going well and as soon as I opened it up through a couple of gears I got another CEL. Ran over to autozone and got the code pulled.

P0340

Something about camshaft posistion sensor on cam A. Not really what I expected? Any ideas why it would be throwing this code (other than the car has the wrong ECU in it.) Something diffrent with the cam sensors in the 02s? Thanks for any help.
Sounds like you might be a victim of:
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 02:48 AM   #17
bofh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59287
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2007 WRB WRX
2004 WRB WRX (RIP)

Default

Ooops! The stuff at openecu.org will be able to fix that after the library of images grows a bit.
bofh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 08:50 AM   #18
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

So basically the ECU needs to flashed with a diffrent image (as the image it has, has problems?) Am I understanding correctly? If that is a the case thats a good thing, got the link/flash cable on the way! (and got a spare ECU to screw with). I'll keep you guys posted as this project rolls on! Thanks for the help.

Oh by the way, I did swap the 04 ECU back in and no problems yet.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 02:14 PM   #19
Jeramie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56995
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Blue

Default

"But to my understanding they can do limited flashes but haven't released the software (or a least a compiled version). If I'm wrong please set me straight"

FYI - They have released a compiled version. But it's command line, not very easy for the avgerage Joe.
Jeramie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Koni struts from 02 sedan in an 04 wagon? sevendhappy Brakes, Steering & Suspension 5 02-10-2009 06:19 PM
What do i need to instal an 02 trans in an 04 wrx MaxMendez Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 04-10-2008 09:34 PM
02 ecu into an 04? neenjafus Engine Management & Tuning 8 01-10-2006 10:12 PM
How do I install an 02 WRX stereo in an 04 STi? adrive43 Car Audio, Video & Security 6 08-23-2005 11:47 PM
02 ECU in an 04 will it work? CMJ Engine Management & Tuning 0 09-05-2003 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.