Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday November 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2005, 08:43 PM   #1
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default Laptop help needed. Won't turn on, or turns on then dies

I have a Dell Latitude laptop, about two years old. It's having some type of power issue. It just shut off one day while plugged in and with the battery in it. Then it would turn back on for between 10 seconds and 5 minutes before it died. Now it won't turn on at all. I can hear a reaaally low humming sound when I plug it in or hold the power down. I'm not a computer expert, but I assume it is a power issue and the harddrive is fine. So I'm basically just looking for a possible source of the problem. Motherboard, power, etc. Thanks for any help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 09:41 PM   #2
VSG
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19435
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

I had a similar problem with my 4 year old power book. Replaced the AC adapter and it's been fine since.
VSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 09:44 PM   #3
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

It is probably the power brick which is dead, if it isn't charging you won't get power anywhere else.
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 09:44 PM   #4
incorporeal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1820
Join Date: Jul 2000
Default

its because of the ice cream

FTW
incorporeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 09:45 PM   #5
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

JDM dell swap time.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 10:08 PM   #6
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

IBItsADellItsAPieceOfCrap
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 01:30 AM   #7
kevinh211
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56297
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island NY
Vehicle:
2004 STi HTA Green
28psi, MSPT Tuned

Default

my sony laptop had the same problem
kevinh211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 01:39 AM   #8
GlobalWaste
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 74792
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Default

my laptop had the same problem, it'd turn on for a few minutes and then shut off, then eventually the on light came on but nothing actually happened... turned out i had burnt out my motherboard and shorted a few wires... something like that
GlobalWaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 10:44 AM   #9
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Thanks guys. I have tried two different batteries which are both fully charged, so I don't think it is the ac adaptor. It won't work plugged into the wall or running off the battery. This actually happened about a year ago and then worked fine after a week. So what exactly is the power brick? Should I just replace the mobo? Thanks again.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 10:47 AM   #10
Neek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3400
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2013 Gojira
2007 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

No idea what's wrong...

But since we are on laptops...I've been thinking about something. What do you do regarding surge protection on laptops? I mean you don't always have a surge protector on the outlet to plug into, so are there small portable ones? Or does the AC adaptor have inherent surge protection built in?
Neek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:02 AM   #11
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

I would think the ac adaptor has it. That's why it has that big box on it normally.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:04 AM   #12
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Officer Go F*** Yourself just
Vehicle:
thre atened to kill
me!

Default

Install FreeBSD on it.
aod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:07 AM   #13
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garface
I would think the ac adaptor has it. That's why it has that big box on it normally.
The "big box" is an AC-DC converter, isn't it?

I imagine it could incorporate a surge protector too.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:46 AM   #14
Neek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3400
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2013 Gojira
2007 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

Does anyone know for sure?
Neek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:48 AM   #15
Neek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3400
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2013 Gojira
2007 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

Neek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:23 PM   #16
DrBuzzad
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1345
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy
Atlantic Blue

Default

Shut off the computer and remove:

RAM
Battery
any wireless cards

Then put back in one by one to see which is causing the problem

I had this happen a few months ago. It turned out it got power fine except for when the RAM was in...then it would die in 4 or so seconds. I bought new RAM and it was fine after that....but I still sold the POS.
DrBuzzad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:27 PM   #17
Machine Age Victim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29961
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: my job is a hobbie to most
Vehicle:
2008 Honda Element
1975 Triumph Spitfire

Default

IBhowdidyoupostthisthen?
Machine Age Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:42 PM   #18
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

+1 laptop power supply (internal)

try what dr buzzard said

your probbaly screwed
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:09 PM   #19
bhall
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56015
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
No you're a towel!

Default

All I do all day long is work on Dell laptops. If you have swapped batteries then my guess is the motherboard is shot. You can try to remove the RAM cards, optical drive ect but don't bet on it working.

I am sure it is just a small part that is bad but with laptops if its not the HDD or the optical drive you almost have to replace the entire board as everything else is on board.
bhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:20 PM   #20
Machine Age Victim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29961
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: my job is a hobbie to most
Vehicle:
2008 Honda Element
1975 Triumph Spitfire

Default

IBdon'topenletdie





god, I'm bored
Machine Age Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:41 PM   #21
Thug
Choke Artist
Moderator
 
Member#: 603
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Nashua, NH
Default

I had an old Dell doing the same thing. I had to take the battery out and start up the computer on AC power only.
Thug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 11:18 AM   #22
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

It doesn't work on ac power or battery. I'll have to figure out what's what in there. I took it apart last night, but it's a little more confusing than a desktop inside. There were two wires that were kind of taped down, but I can't tell if they were taped together or to a certain part. Very ghetto looking, maybe grounds?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 11:30 AM   #23
DrBuzzad
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1345
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy
Atlantic Blue

Default

Were the ram and other cards out when you tested in on ac power only?
DrBuzzad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 11:39 AM   #24
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

I haven't figured out exactly where they are yet. Would they be accessable after removing the keyboard section?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 11:59 AM   #25
BacDoc
Tone Patrol
 
Member#: 75141
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Default

My Dell Insipron 3800 did that last year = Motherboard.

EEEEEEEEbbbbbbbbbaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy yy!!!!
BacDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New laptop help needed ANZAC_1915 Off-Topic 15 05-12-2008 03:17 PM
Laptop help needed....OT I turn to you for help The Tree Off-Topic 16 07-19-2006 03:07 PM
Laptop Help needed!! Sephro Off-Topic 12 01-18-2006 11:00 AM
Tongue Rings: Turn on? or Turn off? MidnightSti05 Off-Topic 37 06-09-2005 12:26 PM
was that lift, turn,break, or turn, lift, throttle?????? joe z New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 26 02-20-2001 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.