Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 29, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2005, 11:47 PM   #1
The_Triton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18647
Join Date: May 2002
Location: -=AWOL OT MEMBER=-
Default One Remote to Rule them All??? Logitech Harmony 680 (big pic)

Logitech info site












I've built my HTPC and now I am looking at ways
to reduce my remotes. After a few months of
researching I've finally found a remote that will
control the pc as well as all of my components.

Just log into their website and go through the Test Drive
and see how easy it is to program the remote and
configure 1 touch functions No more Contra codes
trying to program macros.

Anyway, I'm 99% sure that this is the remote that
I'm going with. I figured that someone here has
one and can solidify my decision and give me some feedback
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
The_Triton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-15-2005, 11:52 PM   #2
thesmokingman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17751
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: I want to believe...
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
944 Turbo track

Default

The mother of all remotes?
thesmokingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 11:58 PM   #3
dr_wheel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60106
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pennsyltucky
Vehicle:
I eat pieces of
** like you for breakfast

Default

dr_wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 11:59 PM   #4
Jumpy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 48235
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Tucson
Default

It controls an orbiting Ion Cannon.
Jumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 11:59 PM   #5
wrxpunk53
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48001
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Galveston/College Station, TX
Default

my sony remote controls my fan I think I might take it back though..I want the Harmony

wrxpunk53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:01 AM   #6
Porter
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 486
Join Date: Nov 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, VA
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT
bug spattered

Default

What, did Logitech buy out Universal/HomeTheaterMaster?

That sure looks like Universal's buttons. I wonder if they make it for Logitech under contract.

Last edited by Porter; 08-16-2005 at 12:08 AM.
Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:05 AM   #7
Porter
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 486
Join Date: Nov 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, VA
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT
bug spattered

Default

Btw... the color screen on the 880 is badass.

Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:17 AM   #8
The_Triton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18647
Join Date: May 2002
Location: -=AWOL OT MEMBER=-
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porter
Btw... the color screen on the 880 is badass.


I like the color screen as well. However, the 680 is made to fully integrate
in with Media Center Edition 2005 for the PC. This will be the final piece that I need to complete my entertainment system (finally).

I currently have the older model of the Sony System Commander that WRXPunk posted. I find it VERY limited and there are only 3 buttons that you can program macros with. As well, the backlight does not activate when touched. You have to use the "light" button before it activates.
The_Triton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:19 AM   #9
Porter
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 486
Join Date: Nov 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, VA
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT
bug spattered

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Triton
This will be the final piece that I need to complete my entertainment system (finally).
[stewie] And then.... interstellar domination!! [/stewie]
Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:26 AM   #10
Jimmy S.
I'm a real doctor
Moderator
 
Member#: 11271
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: www.ftwracing.net
Default

I have the Harmony and it freaking ROCKS!

-SF
Jimmy S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 01:37 AM   #11
driggity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7453
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Grapevine, TX
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
2006 LJ Rubicon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Triton
I like the color screen as well. However, the 680 is made to fully integrate
in with Media Center Edition 2005 for the PC. This will be the final piece that I need to complete my entertainment system (finally).
Any codes that are available for the 680 are also available for the 880 (or 676). Just because they call it a Media Center Remote doesn't mean that it has nifty extra features. Some of the button labels may be a bit better for MCE but may not be as good for other devices. That being said I much prefer the type of buttons that the 680 and 676 have (although the two feel different) to what the 880 has.
driggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 01:38 AM   #12
intence
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 58477
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
. Member #1 of
the witty MS Crew

Default

my friend has that
intence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 02:49 AM   #13
Noir
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36907
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mullet Country
Default

i saw it at a show a few months ago. it was pretty neat. although the suggest price they mentioned was around $160.
Noir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 07:44 AM   #14
bdoss123
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19958
Join Date: Jun 2002
Default

What are the hardware specs of your HTPC(s)? Just started piecing one together for myself. Going for HD Tivo'ing, DVD/Music storage/player, and maybe a little gaming. Also drooling over the harmony.

- BD
bdoss123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 08:11 AM   #15
Ketchup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 62373
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Mexifornia-Refuse 2 b in SCIC
Vehicle:
08 Mazdaspeed3
Sonlight Silver

Default

I've had one of these for about a year.
Sucks batteries, though...


http://www.ofausa.com/remote.php?type=URC%209960
Ketchup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 08:38 AM   #16
drkwtsn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61940
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, Italy
Vehicle:
2013 Volvo XC90

Default

I have the harmony and the sony
The sony sucks, if anyone wants to buy it pm me

The harmony is good, but does have its hangups...
Sometimes when pushing the button to watch tv, it wont turn on the cable box or something... which means i have to grab the cable remote to turn it on.
Other times the up arrow wont work or is difficult to push (also, me being 6'5 means i have big hands, meaning some of the buttons are a tad small)
With the buttons being small, its also difficult for people with poor eyesight to read them.... namely if my father comes and tries to use my remote, he cant see it very well...

overall id give it a 8/10, if they fixed the buttons a 9/10 and if they fixed the cable box / etc not turning on all the time 10/10
drkwtsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 09:13 AM   #17
sonicblue
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25227
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Oh s**t I ain't from Brooklyn!
Vehicle:
2012 Escape
Black

Default

I have the RM-AV3100 as posted above. No complaints. Zero. It's awesome. Learning function is simple. I had an older generation that survived many, many drops, but it finally took one right to the screen that rendered it useless. I immediately bought the successor. I think I found it somewhere online for like $80.
sonicblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 09:26 AM   #18
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketchup
I've had one of these for about a year.
Sucks batteries, though...


http://www.ofausa.com/remote.php?type=URC%209960
I have one of those. Biggest waste of money ever. Sucks batteries is an understatement. If you so much as breathe within 400 yards of the thing, the ****ing backlight turns on. With 3 dogs in my house, that means for all intents and purposes it's on all the time. Batteries were running out every day or so. As a result it's cocooned in dust under the tv shelf, utterly unused.
Retsyn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 09:29 AM   #19
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Isn't the latest model the 688?

Anyhow, here's all the info you could ever want on HTPC remotes:

http://htpcnews.com/forums/index.php?showforum=9


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 09:43 AM   #20
docwhorocks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13772
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: -=OT SQUIRREL HERDER=-
Vehicle:
79 Chevy
Scottsdale

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Triton
This will be the final piece that I need to complete my entertainment system (finally).....


Until tomorrow.
Fixed
docwhorocks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 09:47 AM   #21
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicblue
I have the RM-AV3100 as posted above. No complaints. Zero. It's awesome. Learning function is simple. I had an older generation that survived many, many drops, but it finally took one right to the screen that rendered it useless. I immediately bought the successor. I think I found it somewhere online for like $80.
I have the older model -- the RM-AV2000. Kicks ass, and is quite the conversation piece.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:03 PM   #22
driggity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7453
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Grapevine, TX
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
2006 LJ Rubicon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gongzero
Isn't the latest model the 688?
No. The 676, 680, and 880 have all been released since the 688.
driggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:03 PM   #23
sonicblue
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25227
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Oh s**t I ain't from Brooklyn!
Vehicle:
2012 Escape
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gongzero
I have the older model -- the RM-AV2000. Kicks ass, and is quite the conversation piece.


-A
Yes, I believe that's the one I broke. I immediately replaced it with the current version, as it does rule
sonicblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:04 PM   #24
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by driggity
No. The 676, 680, and 880 have all been released since the 688.
Well, that's a bizarre product-release-and-naming system.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 12:05 PM   #25
driggity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7453
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Grapevine, TX
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
2006 LJ Rubicon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gongzero
Well, that's a bizarre product-release-and-naming system.


-A
Its just another way for the Logitech bitch to laugh at people.
driggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boxing -One thread to rule them all. toulakid Off-Topic 1 11-19-2009 03:21 AM
VIDEO: Ken Block Gymkhana practice, or one hoon to rule them all AVANTI R5 Non-Subaru News & Rumors 74 04-01-2009 01:11 PM
One Thumb to Rule Them All raptor2100 Off-Topic 13 05-30-2007 06:59 PM
One Pretzel to rule them all! runnah Off-Topic 12 03-19-2007 04:26 PM
One Amp to Run Them All. spshultz Car Audio, Video & Security 14 09-14-2002 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.