Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > UTEC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2006, 01:32 PM   #101
drfrink24
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36369
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rochester, MN
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
Java Black

Default

I think its often referred to as "control" wire. They often use it for wiring home control and security systems. I don't know the length. Something like this would work fine I'd imagine:

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
drfrink24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 05:17 PM   #102
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

can i use larger wire?
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 07:14 PM   #103
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

Still pretty confused on what wire to use and where. I went to a few places, and the smallest I could find was 18 guage. Also, is the need for shielded wire only if you use a seperate sensor?
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 03:23 PM   #104
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

same questions as before...also wondering if the sheilded wire is only necessary when using seperate knock sensor
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 01:45 AM   #105
santofontana
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26876
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 1990 GMC Sierra 4x4 350ci
Vehicle:
1994 Camaro Z28 383
Black M6

Default

18 gauge is fine. Thicker wont hurt you its just harder to work with sometimes if you need to solder into a small connector or something. I would use shielded for any type of knock sensor hookup. Ive used shielded wire for all my gauge installs. Yes it could melt but it is more durable than a regular wire because it has a jacket and shield protecting the wires inside.
santofontana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 01:55 AM   #106
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

any more specifics? what wire would it replace and where?
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:43 AM   #107
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

subscribe... I still have my knocklite sitting here because I'm still not clear about this shielded wire business. I opened up the back of the knocklite and it seems impossible to get the board out without removing the white goop.

Again, for the knock signal wire, do we have to unsolder the old wire from inside the knocklite? Then solder in a new shielded wire?

EDIT: To be clear, I want to use the ECU knock signal, not a separate knock sensor.

Last edited by Zumble; 03-06-2006 at 12:30 PM.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 12:28 PM   #108
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

you could ground the shield at the block if you wanted. a shield is just held at a fixed potential to avoid electromagnetic coupling.
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:46 PM   #109
Lost_Pete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100570
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney
Default

The caveat on this is that there are numerous knock sensors and cable types and various interference sources in the car so some cases may require a different approach.

When connecting sensitive signals from high impedance sensors ideally you should use shielded cable. The shield reduces the amount of interference from the outside reaching the signal wires on the inside of the cable. The shield should be connected to a "solid" reference point such as the ground of the car. The shield should be connected at one end only to prevent circulating currents.

So using a easily obtainable cable such as;

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

NOTE: This is not a recommendation for this cable as we would ideally use a specific type of cable depending on the job. For example a twisted pair overall shielded cable with the outer shealth specific for the environment or perhaps whatever we could find in the box!

You would connect the signal to the inner wires using one or both of the wires depending on your application. The outer shield wire would be connected to a ground. In practical terms join the shield to the 0V lead at the Knocklite.

regards
Pete
Lost_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 08:38 PM   #110
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

Just had it installed w/o shielded cable...seems to work fine. Lost_Pete...are you an engineer?
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:56 AM   #111
Lost_Pete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100570
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shemoves
Just had it installed w/o shielded cable...seems to work fine. Lost_Pete...are you an engineer?
Good to hear it is working fine.

Yes I am an engineer..........

regards
Pete
Lost_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:52 AM   #112
nmyeti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4980
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost_Pete
Good to hear it is working fine.

Yes I am an engineer..........

regards
Pete
Lost Pete used to be TurboXS_Pete. He knows what he is talking about.

-Nathan
nmyeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:59 AM   #113
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

I just made up a new harness. I found some twisted pair shielded cable at radio shack. I cut the white knock wire out of the stock "harness" and I soldered in on of the wires from the shielded wire. I then used shrink tubing to join the two wires back together at the knocklite end of things. I guess I'll solder a new wire to the shield braid and attach it somewhere to the body ground. I haven't installed the knocklite yet. I only had time to put in the new wire. I still have to figure out which wires to connect for a 05 USDM FXT ECU.

EDIT: I don't think this thread should be in the UTEC section. The knocklite can be used with ANY EM or no EM at all.

Last edited by Zumble; 03-07-2006 at 11:53 AM.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:55 AM   #114
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

I knew it! My dad is an engineer too. He also has the inability to answer questions in 'layman's terms.'
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:12 PM   #115
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

I didn't want to say it.. but yea, couldn't get a straight answer out of pete.. =P At least not a straight answer I could process and be sure about so I just did what made sense to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shemoves
I knew it! My dad is an engineer too. He also has the inability to answer questions in 'layman's terms.'
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:43 PM   #116
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

I call it "geniuos syndrome." He prolly got really frustrated with us tards. Pete, thx for continuing to try to explain it w/o calling us names.
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 04:24 PM   #117
Lost_Pete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100570
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zumble
I didn't want to say it.. but yea, couldn't get a straight answer out of pete.. =P At least not a straight answer I could process and be sure about so I just did what made sense to me.


If "engineer speak" makes no sense then just ask me to translate to "man in the street" speak (MITS) or in KISS language.

You also have Nathan and Jermaine who really do know their "stuff".

regards
Pete

Last edited by Lost_Pete; 03-07-2006 at 04:49 PM.
Lost_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 04:52 PM   #118
R4ND0M_AX3
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 67483
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zumble
EDIT: I don't think this thread should be in the UTEC section. The knocklite can be used with ANY EM or no EM at all.
Agreed. I just happend to see this in the summary when I was up one level. Otherwise I wouldn't have come into the UTEC thread.

<----knocklite user with AP/ST.
R4ND0M_AX3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:38 PM   #119
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

I also have the AP/ST.

As far as 'fine tuning' goes...what sensitivity level to most of you use?
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 09:13 PM   #120
n2xlr8n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18960
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Bama
Vehicle:
02 WRX MBP
It lives! ; )

Default

As always, "helpful_Pete"

Great to see you back.

S.
n2xlr8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 12:17 PM   #121
R4ND0M_AX3
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 67483
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shemoves
I also have the AP/ST.

As far as 'fine tuning' goes...what sensitivity level to most of you use?
I'm on 6 now.
R4ND0M_AX3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 05:06 PM   #122
Lost_Pete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100570
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2xlr8n
As always, "helpful_Pete"

Great to see you back.

S.
Thanks...........

regards
Pete
Lost_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 04:55 PM   #123
Nixlimited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86730
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2005 STi
460 WHP @ 28 PSI

Default

It would be great if the KnockLite directions were available on TurboXSs website...
Nixlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 05:00 PM   #124
shemoves
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 80663
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
1997 Outback

Default

I had mine installed by a shop, and they even had to spend quite a while trying to figure out where to put what cause the instructions provided are pretty lame.
shemoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 07:17 PM   #125
Nixlimited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86730
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2005 STi
460 WHP @ 28 PSI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shemoves
I had mine installed by a shop, and they even had to spend quite a while trying to figure out where to put what cause the instructions provided are pretty lame.
Do you know how to set the sensitivity level and how to do the initial calibration using RPM points?
Nixlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATP stock location Turbochargers review and discussion EFI Logics Proven Power Bragging 360 12-29-2013 08:27 PM
turboxs knock light anthonyrb98 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 6 03-14-2007 11:11 PM
TurboXS knock light hook up in a 2006 bcarleton Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 0 11-30-2006 05:06 PM
turboxs knock light? anyone runnin it? kessler89 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 35 05-03-2006 02:11 AM
Installing TurboXS Knock Light?? ScoobySnacker Electrical & Lighting 4 03-09-2006 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.