Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2005, 07:38 PM   #1
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default e-manage blinking rapidly, why?

I noticed after taking a trip to my parents. Cranking it up the first time after the trip, the green light on the emanage blinks rapidly, but only at idle. If I turn on the a/c to raise idle or just put a little pressure on the pedal to bring it up, the blink goes back to the normal slow blink. Has anyone else had this happen? I don't know which forum to ask this in because my last emanage question posted in the engine management forum got zero responses. Thanks for any help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 12:55 AM   #2
punkrocksailor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43376
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Default

you probably didn't get any answers because almost nobody uses e-manage on Subaru's because the proccessor in it is too slow for the Subaru ECU's. There should be something in the manual about why it is flashing. Out of curiousity what are you running for an engine that you are using the e-manage? The best solution I've seen for the N/A cars is the perfect power so far.

Cheers,
Joel
punkrocksailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:24 AM   #3
redwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2181
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: So Cal
Vehicle:
2008 SpecB
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by punkrocksailor
you probably didn't get any answers because almost nobody uses e-manage on Subaru's because the proccessor in it is too slow for the Subaru ECU's.
Joel, where did you come by this info? I've heard various reasons to use something other than the emanage, but this is a new one on me.
redwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 10:14 AM   #4
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

I don't know where you get that information, Joel. The emanage is slightly newer than my 95 impreza ecu, it is definately not slower and the build quality is just as good (just in case you go there). I'm running a dohc 2.5na on my 1.8 computer so I need to tweak the midrange to make sure I'm not running too lean at any rpm. I'm also using an a/f gauge with its' own O2 sensor to keep from affecting the stock O2's output to the ecu. I'm not getting any error code when I turn the car off and back on to check the emanage. I started using the crank sensor signal for the rpm signal before I took the trip and it worked great. Maybe the duration of the cam signal was making the emanage send too long of a pulse for the ignition module/ignitor to handle and it overheated? I don't have an extra one laying around to test so I'm going to look for one today. I will also put the rpm input for the emanage back on the rpm wire of the ecu. I should have expected an ignorant response like that from an 04sti owner. That's why I asked in the NA FORUM, I didn't want some smartass sti owner that's not giving any helpful info. answering my questions with something a spoiled kid would say. Cheers,


B
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 12:09 PM   #5
bugman1964
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57667
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: frederick,md
Vehicle:
01 gm6 rs brp
SXS performance

Default

mine does the same thing are you getting any ill results?im also na ...now
bugman1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 01:14 PM   #6
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

Car runs fine, bugman. I was using the crank sensor signal for the rpm input, what are you using? I just changed it back to the rpm output the the ecu a little while ago and now the green light doesn't even blink, it just stays solid. It does turn orange when at 2,3,4,5, and 6k like normal though. Runs great whether I use the crank sensor or ecu's rpm output, but I did notice it didn't detonate when using the crank sensor. Now with it back to the normal recommended ecu's rpm output wire, it detonates at around 5500 when hard on the pedal. Of course it was doing that when we first attempted to program the emanage and advance timing a little. I wonder why it didn't detonate when using the crank sensor? Maybe the emanage didn't engage at all when using the crank sensor and that's why it didn't detonate?
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 05:19 PM   #7
bugman1964
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57667
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: frederick,md
Vehicle:
01 gm6 rs brp
SXS performance

Default

i cant rememebr what im using for rpm.. its what ever subachads site lists for using.. followed his directions.I was just curious cause im having idle issues.
bugman1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 05:34 PM   #8
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

You must be using the recommended ecu rpm signal wire. I put it back to that wire and no more rapid blinking, now it stays solid green, can't figure out if that is supposed to be normal, the manual is TOO vague. I will hook my friend's laptop up and check for any problems when he gets it back from Sony, the dvd drive was acting up. What engine ecu are you using?(1.8,2.2,2.5?) Is it an auto ecu and auto transmission or standard ecu with standard transmission? Are you using all sensors? What are the issues you're having at idle? Mine idles well, amazing the 2.5 engine can run on the 1.8 ecu.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:35 PM   #9
redwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2181
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: So Cal
Vehicle:
2008 SpecB
DGM

Default

The light is supposed to stay solid green, not flash all the time. Leave the rpm wire connected to the rpm signal wire.
Note that incorrect jumper or switch settings will also cause flashing lights on the emanage, though the engine may run just fine. I just wish Greddy could document this! Half-assed documentation really devalues this product.
redwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 09:59 AM   #10
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

For some reason I don't think Greddy cares much if americans can use it to its' full potential. Otherwise their manual would have been a little more detailed. It's good though, that there are so many people who have had success using it and can offer help. Cool, so solid green is good, I couldn't remember if it was solid when I first connected everything because I only ran it with the rpm wire for a matter of days. Seems ok now, just have to go back in and adjust everything again now that I've figured out how to use that function that averages the values. (can't remember the term right now)
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Do Tie Rods Sieze so Rapidly? williaty Brakes, Steering & Suspension 20 04-29-2009 09:19 PM
rapid blinking cel 02 wrx alexmartynyuk Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 11-23-2008 08:36 PM
Faster blinking turn signal- why only one side and no LEDs? Kwyjibo Interior & Exterior Modification 3 06-27-2005 01:27 AM
Why are apartment complex managers dumb? xenocide Off-Topic 3 02-03-2004 12:20 AM
Why the lack of stand alone management? jimb Engine Management & Tuning 17 07-18-2003 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.