Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 8, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Legacy Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2005, 06:08 PM   #1
Subietonic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12588
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Down by the sea
Vehicle:
Four Count 'em
GF5,BDA,BD5, BP5

Default ECU and smog equipment re-learn

Aight! No time to search on this one. My 99 LW has been sitting since the 1st of June and I disconnected the battery to keep it from running down. Anyway, I hooked everything back up because I'm registering it and needed to take it in for smog.

Car started right up with no problems but I only drove it about 4-5 miles to the shop to get it smogged. When they ran the test the car passed all of the "sniff" stuff but the cats and O2 sensors wouldn't read. The guy asked me straight away if I had disconnected the battery and I said yes. He then told me that the car needed some run-time for the ECU to gather data and do its own self-test.

My question to all of you is, how many start-run cycles do I have to do before the car's ECU captures this info? I know it all works, or it wouldn't have passed the tailpipe test. It's just that ECU doesn't have the info in its memory yet. As is, I'm in a failed status until this is resolved.

I knew I should have taken it out and driven it this week. Sometimes, you got to listed to the little voice inside your head...

Anyway, TIA and I appreciate your thoughts/experiences on this one.

Dale
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Subietonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-10-2005, 06:16 PM   #2
fibuz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53410
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Tucson, AZ / Port Angeles, WA
Vehicle:
BE-> GD->GR->SG->BL
WAawd.org

Default

I usually notice that it takes 2-3 tanks to "normalize" the maps after an ecu reset.

I seem to think the first tank runs really rich(less mpg at least)...and then it starts to normalize after that.

fibuz
fibuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 07:35 PM   #3
Kawikid20o2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86291
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Fairfield, CT
Vehicle:
'97 LegaSTi-2.5XTR
'96 BrightonCoupeWRX-SR30

Legacy

Yea thats what i experienced after my ECU reset, rich in the begininning but then it calmed down and by the 2nd tank full in it, it was running they way it should. I dont think it would have passed the tail pipe test, mine was running rich enough to smell it at the back on idle.
Kawikid20o2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 10:06 PM   #4
Subietonic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12588
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Down by the sea
Vehicle:
Four Count 'em
GF5,BDA,BD5, BP5

Default

Car runs absolutely perfectly, it's just that the ECU has to self-test other components to ensure that they're on-line and ready to go as apposed to running different fuel maps and passed the sniff test with flying colors.

Apparently, the ECU needs several cycles to pickup and store in memory that these components are on-line and working. I ran it for about 30 miles at highway speeds after the test but this still may not be enough to register. The 4-5 miles to the smog shop were all surface streets and 30 mph or less. It got into the normal operating temp without any problem but I don't think the cats got hot enough is the problem.

Dale
Subietonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 11:52 PM   #5
KD7000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16653
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Central MA
Vehicle:
2012 Mazda 3
2004 Honda Pilot

Default

here ya go:
Quote:
Originally Posted by North Ursalia (from another ECU thread)
It's 100 miles (usually) on a Subaru ECU before it changes to "ready" from "cleared".
KD7000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 05:13 AM   #6
Subietonic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12588
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Down by the sea
Vehicle:
Four Count 'em
GF5,BDA,BD5, BP5

Default

Great! That's what I was looking for. I'll have to run it some more tomorrow to get it back up to "ready". Ticks me off that I didn't think of this when I had the battery disconnected all that time. I could have just put a trickle charger on it and none of this would be an issue. Will cost me another $30.00 on top of the $45.00 I paid today for the test. Oh well, live and learn.

Thanks all,

Dale
Subietonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 05:58 PM   #7
Kawikid20o2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86291
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Fairfield, CT
Vehicle:
'97 LegaSTi-2.5XTR
'96 BrightonCoupeWRX-SR30

Legacy

good luck hope it passes!
Kawikid20o2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to re-learn after ECU reset? 1DOWNCLOWN Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 7 08-10-2004 03:09 PM
shat exactly is the 'vishnu method' for re-learning the ECU ? SportyBry STi Forum Archive 2 08-18-2003 03:13 PM
change in altitude, will the ECU re-learn? philip_g Engine Management & Tuning 19 05-24-2003 01:04 PM
Stock ECU re-learning question! Bobsterwrx Engine Management & Tuning 3 11-14-2002 08:10 PM
ECU re-learning RezaREX Service & Maintenance 6 08-15-2002 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.