Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 13, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2005, 11:21 PM   #1
fatcamp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 91148
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default Tuning with a Mac?

so my brother just installed a utec into his 03 wrx and i was wondering if i could tune with my power book. i called turbo xs and they said it can be done they just didnt know how. if anyone had any advice on this it would be great. thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
fatcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 11:27 PM   #2
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

*subscribe*
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 11:40 PM   #3
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

I use Virtual PC. Key is getting a USB-Serial adaptor with drivers that function on both in Mac OS and Windows. I began a thread about it awhile ago. I'm tuning with the Element Tuning Hydra, the communication issues are the same no matter what the system is.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 11:55 PM   #4
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Bah, you dont need that with a UTEC, its just a serial port.

Use ZTERM and a USB->Serial adapter (keyspan is best).
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:16 AM   #5
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

Gotcha....just run the signal to a terminal program with UTEC, but the Hydra requires the GUI.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:21 AM   #6
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Yeah, so does my StreetTuner, for which VirtualPC is fine.,
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:22 AM   #7
wkw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17352
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Eugene, OR
Vehicle:
1999 bmw 540i
black

Default

anyone had any luck getting delta dash to work with a mac and virtual pc?
wkw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:23 AM   #8
snwman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72680
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma/Spanaway/Graham
Vehicle:
2013 Subaru STi
Satin White Pearl

Default

I dont know if it will be the same with a MAC but USB to Serial Adapters are not the best for tuning. Works ok once its connected but sometimes will take a few attempts for me to connect to my AEM EMS, one time it actually corrupted the map I was loading. After that I got another laptop dedicated for tuning now with a serial port... You should be able to pickup something for $200-$300 on ebay that you can use to tune with that has a serial port and windows based which would make it a little easier for the GUI of the Hydra or AEM.
snwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:15 AM   #9
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

I keep reading that the Radio Shack USB/serial is a pretty reliable one. Probably my only purchase of any consequence from Radio Shack in a decade... I'd google it to find out if it's Mac compatible. But with the PCs I use it with it's been consistant and actually pretty fast.

I usually carry the driver floppy with me in case I need to put in on another machine, but I don't have it at school with me now.

Surely there is a teminal/VT100 emulator for a MAC. Is that what Zterm is? You don't need any graphic interface for the basic UTEC stuff anyway. Just text. And surely MAC has a text emulator.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:37 PM   #10
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2phless
Surely there is a teminal/VT100 emulator for a MAC. Is that what Zterm is? You don't need any graphic interface for the basic UTEC stuff anyway. Just text. And surely MAC has a text emulator.
ZTerm is the emulator for Mac, and works great for UTEC.

I prefer the Keyspan over radioshack for the adapter.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can i tune my ECU with a mac :confused: YamadaRunner Newbies & FAQs 11 09-30-2009 10:53 PM
Tuning with a Mac ZACKARU Open Source Reflashes 6 01-16-2008 01:35 AM
Using ZTerm on my Mac to tune with UTEC... PumpinIron UTEC 2 10-21-2007 02:37 PM
Tuning UTEC w/ Mac 1stgearsyncro Engine Management & Tuning 11 11-06-2003 05:34 AM
tuning with mac? SLowery Engine Management & Tuning 4 02-16-2003 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.