Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday May 6, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2005, 09:43 PM   #1
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
OBP

Default just fried my accessport

i thought i had the right plug...turns out i didnt. now it smells burnt and wont turn on...

think i can get it fixed or will i need to buy another one?

and if so how can i divorce it now?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-15-2005, 09:56 PM   #2
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

I did the EXACT same thing 4 weeks ago.

Cobb said that over volting it blows the voltage regulator and the screen usually. They fixed mine for $150 and shipped it back in its married state. Works great now.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 10:17 PM   #3
HonduHunter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 28408
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 vf48ed WRX
OBP

Default

that is great news. awesome!
HonduHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 01:56 AM   #4
STirocket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84006
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX STi
WRB with Goldies

Default

Just curious, but how could you plug the wrong connector into an OBDII port on your car and the DB-9 port on your AccessPort? Just not sure I understand what you did...
STirocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 02:24 AM   #5
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Plug it into the wrong AC adapter . Theres one for my laptop, and one for my AP, and they happened to be the same size, except the AP one is 5V, and my laptop one is 19.5V
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 03:04 AM   #6
05redrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86665
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Frisco, TX
Vehicle:
2005 WRX SRR 2.5/20g
2010 FXT SWP Cobb Stg2+

Default

Been there... cost me $80 I think to have repaired. Just fess up when you call.

Call me crazy but shouldn't Cobb use a unique connector? My Nintendo has one.
05redrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 05:27 AM   #7
hybrid gti 2
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 67004
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: (818) 200k+ ej205 ppg 5mt
Vehicle:
02 vf30 pnp wagon
silver and cf

Default

i marked the transformer with a label so i know what transformer it is. As it looked very close to 5 others i have floating around.
hybrid gti 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 05:48 AM   #8
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

did the same stoopid thing, damn laptop cord is almost identical. . . .someone suggested putting masking tape at the end of the cord to identify. . .
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 07:16 AM   #9
Trip McNealy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37338
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
2007 Legacy 2.5 GT
2009 Daytona 675

Default

hmmph, mine came with a Cobb label on it with a warning to never use any other adapter.
Trip McNealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 01:33 PM   #10
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05redrex
Just fess up when you call.
DEFINITLY. Don't abuse the warrenty by claiming defect when its your fault. God it pisses me off when people do that.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 01:48 PM   #11
flwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35944
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: west palm
Vehicle:
'03 v7/6mt/30r wrx
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
I did the EXACT same thing 4 weeks ago.

Cobb said that over volting it blows the voltage regulator and the screen usually. They fixed mine for $150 and shipped it back in its married state. Works great now.

ditto. $135 here
flwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 02:05 PM   #12
fogdor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 45726
Join Date: Oct 2003
Vehicle:
2007 Mazdaspeed3
Cosmic Blue

Default

OMG a manufacturer actually REPAIRING what they sell
fogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 03:39 PM   #13
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05redrex
Been there... cost me $80 I think to have repaired. Just fess up when you call.

Call me crazy but shouldn't Cobb use a unique connector? My Nintendo has one.
The problem isn't the connector. The problem is that they chose to use a regulated wall adapter and then have no regulation, over-current, or over-voltage protection inside the device itself. It's much more reliable for consumer electronics to have an unregulated supply and a diode + PTC fuse + MOV + regulator inside the device to protect it. This way the consumer can't do anything to hurt the device by plugging the wrong adapter in.

Last edited by colby; 09-16-2005 at 05:10 PM.
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 04:34 PM   #14
Bonefizz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 62433
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Valencia CA
Vehicle:
2006 Outback XT
Blue and Silver

Default

How about people not be a dumb-a$$ and use the right connector? Jebus!
Bonefizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 05:09 PM   #15
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

How about you go **** yourself....The two connectors I had were IDENTICAL, and both power adapter were plugged in behind a 100lb. desk....no way to tell them apart.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 06:11 PM   #16
Bonefizz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 62433
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Valencia CA
Vehicle:
2006 Outback XT
Blue and Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
How about you go **** yourself....The two connectors I had were IDENTICAL, and both power adapter were plugged in behind a 100lb. desk....no way to tell them apart.
I wasn't refering to you and your accident. I was refering to the unregulated wall adapter statement. Accidents happen, and I feel for you. In fact, I believe that my adapter has Cobb written on it. Perhaps it has happened enough for them to change the adapter to include their name. I wasn't trying to be a dick. Sarcasm doesn't translate well I suppose.
Bonefizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 08:55 PM   #17
STirocket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 84006
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX STi
WRB with Goldies

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
Plug it into the wrong AC adapter . Theres one for my laptop, and one for my AP, and they happened to be the same size, except the AP one is 5V, and my laptop one is 19.5V
Oh, my bad, I thought he was talking about plugging it into his car...

Yeah, you have to be careful with power adaptors. They really ought to have different connectors so that people who aren't familiar with electricity or consumer electronics won't destroy their devices. Not only do power adaptors supply different DC voltages to devices through identical connectors, but some supply AC voltage instead of DC voltage. On top of that some countries supply different frequencies of AC voltage.

IMHO, the best plan for a consumer is to label the adaptor end and the connector end for what it goes to...
STirocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 09:54 PM   #18
949
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58906
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: california, the OC
Default

i leave all my power adaptors in its original boxes.
949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 09:04 AM   #19
Spiider
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13680
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: DCCDPro.com
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

NO bonefizz, colby is 100% right. It was the first thing I thought to myself coming from an electronics background. Why didn't they reg the input?

They are charging way too much for that pos accessport and they didn't put anything to regulate the dc input. It would cost them maybe $5 per unit.
Spiider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just got my Accessport!!11!!!1 slowscooby South East Region Forum 14 02-18-2005 09:50 AM
Just got my accessport shadyrex Tri-State Area Forum 11 01-08-2005 02:47 AM
Just got my Accessport... but I have a dealer appointment Wednesday for a CEL. thrillho Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 17 08-10-2004 12:44 AM
Just installed my AccessPort! WRXWuLf North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 8 03-12-2004 02:54 AM
I think I just fried my headphones and/or sound card beachbum Off-Topic 3 10-30-2003 02:28 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.