Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 29, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 10:51 AM   #1
sadd16
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37717
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default Accessport: unable to change realtime maps for 02 wrx

With the news about gas prices going up, I decided to finally change to an economy map on my accessport.

Whenever I choose the "switch map" option, it tells me to select a map, so I select the economy map and hit the OK button, shows that it's sending to my ecu, and then tells me it's DONE and to click OK. So I clicked OK and then checked the map that it's currently using, and it's still showing Stage 2 93 octane.

I've tried changing the map while the car is turned off but with the ignition key set to ON, also tried other maps like valet, but that didn't change it either. Also tried changing the map with the car ON but it keeps showing Stage 2 93 octane.

What is the problem here? I also have Stage 2 93 octane set as my base map.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sadd16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-22-2005, 11:10 AM   #2
AdmiralWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80204
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hollis, NH
Vehicle:
2005 WRX++
WRB

Default

I believe the AP will only display the base map you are currently running.
AdmiralWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:11 AM   #3
pictureboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85132
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
11 Jeep
White

Default

When you check current map the AP will only tell you the base map! Unfortunately there is no way to check whick real time map you are running. Or at least this has been my experience.
pictureboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:16 AM   #4
AdmiralWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80204
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hollis, NH
Vehicle:
2005 WRX++
WRB

Default

User's Guide is your friend:

AccessPort User's Guide

Show current map only displays base map currently in use.
AdmiralWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 12:01 PM   #5
BoostinEJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73710
Join Date: Nov 2004
Default

yup +1 for the accessport only showing base map.
BoostinEJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:14 PM   #6
sadd16
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37717
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

AHHH no wonder. I was trying to for the life of me to figure it out.
The manual I had with it basically just said how to change it and how to view what map you have.

Thanks!
sadd16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 06:16 PM   #7
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

this should be a feature added to the AP SW. Not knowing what RT map you're running could be VERY dangerous. . .
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 06:53 PM   #8
Poodie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76010
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indiana
Vehicle:
05 WRX Sti
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
this should be a feature added to the AP SW. Not knowing what RT map you're running could be VERY dangerous. . .
Yeah, but if you're that worried you could just reload whatever map you want
Poodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 07:10 PM   #9
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

no kidding, but that's not the point. IMO it's fairly important to know what map you're running, base or RT>
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:58 PM   #10
mrbell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1871
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

The process of loading a realtime map is pretty fail-proof. If the AP says OK, and you know your battery hasn't been disconnected, then the realtime has been loaded. Base maps are a bit more complicated, and it's possible that something could happen to prevent you from having a proper basemap. In any case, the hardware of most of the ECU's prevents us from "signing" the realtime maps currently, so there's no way for the AP to easily say what map is running. The ONLY solution possibly available to us now is to read back the whole realtime map and compare it, byte by byte, to the maps on the AP. But the hardware of the AP doesn't make this currently feasable. It's quite possible, however, that the map no longer exists on the AP, and therefore reading it back wouldn't tell you what you were running.
Our philosophy is this: the basemap should match the hardware of the car the realtime map should be modifications on top of this. It really should not be dangerous to lose your basemap.
That said, we do recognize the need for and lack of this feature. We are addressing it, but it is not as simple as I would have thought it would be before I started looking at it.
mrbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 12:08 AM   #11
Trip McNealy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37338
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
2007 Legacy 2.5 GT
2009 Daytona 675

Default

I have a somewhat related question..when you load a realtime map into the ECU, how do you disable it and go back to the base map (stage 2 in my case)? does that entail me having to also transfer a realtime map for a stage 2 even though it's my base to begin with??
Trip McNealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 12:52 AM   #12
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

You could either xfer the realtime version of your basemap, or reset your ECU.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 12:54 PM   #13
erik04wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88066
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnsville ,MN
Vehicle:
2004 wrx sedan java
black Cobb SII

Default

^ what he said

and for keeping track of what map is in use....... buy post-its or try to remember, my butt-dyno tells me wich map is running
erik04wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tactrix Ecu Cable with connectors for 02-05 and Map for 02 WRX deathskrye Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 02-25-2008 08:10 PM
Hybrid Map for 02 WRX? duece_bugeye UTEC 2 04-06-2007 03:39 PM
how many KM do you get on Accessport's economy map for 02 wrx sadd16 Engine Management & Tuning 0 09-22-2005 02:44 PM
Going from a TXS st1 w/TDO4 to VF29 do I need to change the map for now? Camperguy Engine Management & Tuning 7 08-06-2003 10:20 AM
Motec system maps for 02 WRX alfriedesq Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 88 02-02-2002 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.