Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 07:27 PM   #426
thejaredhuang
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86206
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Irvine
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
Blue

Default

What size vac hose do I need?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
thejaredhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 12:16 PM   #427
SubiSam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 156401
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro NC
Vehicle:
'03 WRB WAGON
2.1 stroker GTX3071R

Default

Has anyone ever had a problem when not using a 10 ohm resistor? I think the resistor might be causing problems for me and I want to remove it to find out. Sometimes my boost is rock solid with rapid response with 20psi as my target, and then suddenly I'm unable to run more than 15psi. I think the resistor might be slowing the opening and closing of the solenoid once the resistor heats up.

Just a theory. I'm going to remove it and I will let you know if it is the root of my problem.
SubiSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 01:11 PM   #428
polish man
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 200087
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: delaware
Vehicle:
01 IS 300
99 cbr f4

Default

i dont use one i was gonna put a diode in for safe keeping but never did, i for got to pick one up but i havent had any problems
polish man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 10:24 PM   #429
SubiSam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 156401
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greensboro NC
Vehicle:
'03 WRB WAGON
2.1 stroker GTX3071R

Default

Ok, I took my resistor out and drove for two hours. Not sure what is happening, but the resistor was not the cause of my problem, because it still runs at about 15-16 psi.
SubiSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 10:43 PM   #430
logic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 47613
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Alameda, CA USA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Wagon
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Random tidbit of information for folks who like cleaner installations: the OEM BCS plug (at least on the '05 WRX; I make no claims about any other year or model) is a pretty common Sumitomo MT-series (sealed) plug. The part numbers are M(6188-0266) for the male connector (the part that's molded into the solenoid itself), and F(6189-0249) for the female plug (attached to the car's wiring harness).

(Even more random tidbit of information: the plug on the Evo BCS is identical, except that the key on the bottom of the connector is on the opposite side.)

I ended up ordering the male connector from Eastern Beaver (no, that's not a porn site, it's some Canadian guy who moved to Japan and sells connectors and miscellaneous Japanese motorcycle parts); it ended costing about $4 shipped. Anyone who deals in Sumitomo kit ought to be able to get it for you, though (I was already placing an order with EB, so that ended up being easier for me).

Add this connector to a pigtail/connector for whatever BCS you're using (GM, MAC, whatever), and you have a very tidy plug-and-play harness.
logic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:21 PM   #431
pbfoot
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 223962
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

just bought a MAC 3-port solenoid, and just wanted to clear some issues up. should i run a hose from the turbo to port 3, port 2 to the wastegate, and vent port 1? the diagrams in the beginning of the thread are for the GM solenoid, which is a bit different than the MAC.
pbfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:56 AM   #432
bluescoobywagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14911
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The land of E85
Vehicle:
Not A Wagon!
2011 WRX - 285s on 18x10s

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbfoot View Post
just bought a MAC 3-port solenoid, and just wanted to clear some issues up. should i run a hose from the turbo to port 3, port 2 to the wastegate, and vent port 1? the diagrams in the beginning of the thread are for the GM solenoid, which is a bit different than the MAC.
http://www.aempower.com/images/produ...%2030-2400.pdf
bluescoobywagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 11:27 PM   #433
Tougesteve
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 161590
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

hey well ive been running this setup on my 04 sti for a year or soo recently i noticed that the solenoid quit making the clickin noise it has always made and now im underboosting i went through checked the wiring test drove after making corrections and still underboosting and no noise from the solenoid anyone have this problem yet? im thinking its just a bad solenoid all of a sudden any input would be great!
Tougesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 12:11 AM   #434
02RexWI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165141
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WI
Default

Its easy to test it... just blow through the ports to see which ones are connected when its at rest, then connect 12 volts to it and see if the ports switch... if they dont change then the solenoid is bad
02RexWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 10:27 AM   #435
bluescoobywagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14911
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The land of E85
Vehicle:
Not A Wagon!
2011 WRX - 285s on 18x10s

Default

For those that can't seem to find the GM solenoid at a good price try part 1997244:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/GM-BO...s#ht_500wt_956

The bracket is different, but the valve is the same and it works great.




No, that's not my auction...
bluescoobywagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 03:21 PM   #436
realitycheck3907
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 227033
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Birmingham, Al
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

Alright guys, I saw one person on here from years ago was running this gm solenoid as a two port like the stock solenoid, until he could get his gm tuned to his car. Does anyone know how to hook up the vacuum lines to run it two port?
I want to do this so I can have everything hooked up drive to my tuner change vacuum lines and start tuning.
realitycheck3907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 03:27 AM   #437
jareds
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249729
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle:
2005 ADM WRX
Black

Default

I must do this!
jareds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 04:54 AM   #438
Indica
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 260596
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ansbach/germany
Default

Great write up.
Thank you so much.
Indica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:59 PM   #439
skatin707
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 251552
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Honolulu, HI
Vehicle:
2014 FXT
Satin White Pearl

Default

Any pictures to clarify this? I'm a bit confused.
skatin707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 05:30 PM   #440
DatDude
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96157
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: El Paso, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS-T
Silverthorn Metalic

Default

I know this thread is old but did anyone ever have any problems running the MAC valve with a Hydra? I am running an AVCR at the moment but I am thinking about running the MAC valve or GM style, I can get the MAC valve though and id prefer to use it, just wondering if anyone has had anymore kinks surface?
DatDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 07:41 PM   #441
ascott13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 234966
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Worcester, MA or Aiken, SC
Vehicle:
2004 Baja Turbo
black/gunmetal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DatDude View Post
I know this thread is old but did anyone ever have any problems running the MAC valve with a Hydra? I am running an AVCR at the moment but I am thinking about running the MAC valve or GM style, I can get the MAC valve though and id prefer to use it, just wondering if anyone has had anymore kinks surface?
any 3 port solenoid should work as long as you connect it correctly. The solenoids are very simple devices, no electricity flowing keeps it in one position, electricity flowing through it moves the solenoid to the other position... The ECU flips back and forth many many times per second. how long it stays in one place versus the other is determined by the duty cycle that the ECU calls for depending on the tune.
ascott13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 07:47 PM   #442
DatDude
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96157
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: El Paso, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS-T
Silverthorn Metalic

Default

Ya I'm very familiar with PWM just concerned with product quality, I believe I will do the mac style.
DatDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:51 PM   #443
fabiano14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129040
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brazil
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza GT
white

Default

I know this is very old thread, but I appreciate if someone could help me.
My doubt is:
Will a Blitz SBC-id III EBCS be able to control the GM solenoid?
Mine is a Blitz SbC id-III Spec-S, which is designed to 18 psi and/or 300hp max, so I've reached it's limit so far.
One option would be purchasing the 'Blitz Spec-R upgrade kit', that includes a 3port-solenoid and part of the connection wiring.The problem is the prohibitive price: around $250!
The GM solenoid woud be a very effective and low cost upgrade. Does it work with the Blitz unit? Another cheap or alternative idea?
Thanks

Last edited by fabiano14; 02-28-2011 at 01:52 PM. Reason: typing mistake
fabiano14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 04:40 PM   #444
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

fabiano:

it should be able to handle the coil specs.

i take it your current solenoid is only a two port?
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:53 PM   #445
realitycheck3907
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 227033
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Birmingham, Al
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

Fabiano, does it work with the stock solenoid?

If so it should work with the GM solenoid. 3 port rules!
realitycheck3907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:22 AM   #446
fabiano14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129040
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brazil
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza GT
white

Default

Yes, mine 'Spec-S' is a 2 port.

I didn't connected the stock solenoid to it, because I don't want the CEL to appear.

The Blitz system is operating but the stock solenoid is still connected electrically, just not the vacuuum hoses, to avoid the CEL.
fabiano14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 09:11 AM   #447
realitycheck3907
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 227033
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Birmingham, Al
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

How many wires does the blitz solenoid have on it?
realitycheck3907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:18 PM   #448
fabiano14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129040
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brazil
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza GT
white

Default

My kit today has only two wires connected to the solenoid.
It looks like the arrangement is similar.


Here is a link of the kit I mentioned. That kit appears to have 4 wires.
http://www.blitz-uk.co.uk/ProductItem-2813.aspx

Last edited by fabiano14; 03-01-2011 at 12:21 PM. Reason: forgot some details
fabiano14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 01:21 PM   #449
realitycheck3907
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 227033
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Birmingham, Al
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

If yours only has two wires I would assume that it would work just fine. But I don't know that for an absolute fact. So you would be taking a risk either way. Unless someone more knowledgeable can tell you for sure.
realitycheck3907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:44 AM   #450
fabiano14
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129040
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brazil
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza GT
white

Default

It worked perfectly, the boost is up and stable.
The perfect mod, cheap and effective!
fabiano14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Bypass Nav '08 (56k Warning) snwbdr94 Car Audio, Video & Security 18 03-02-2008 05:13 PM
Turbo XS Gasket Damaged? (a few large pics; 56K warning) lethal.adv Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 03-24-2006 07:13 PM
thread link to gm solenoid boost install moorebl Engine Management & Tuning 0 08-30-2005 02:33 PM
NASA AutoX Pics 5-23-04 (heavy 56K warning) InfamousDX Tri-State Area Forum 20 05-24-2004 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.