Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2005, 07:11 PM   #1
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default EGT probe?

I have an autometer EGT guage. It hasnt worked in like 6 months. I want to re-tune my car, so im gonna have to get a new probe and or gauge.

I tried to diagnose both the probe and the guage using a multimeter, but i can't say for sure which one is broken. Ive been told these probes fail all the time.

I heard not to long ago that there is a site that sells replacement probes for a good price (better than 120 for the autometer setup?)

if anyone knows, lemme know.

-Jake
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 02:02 PM   #2
Unsung Boxer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37196
Join Date: May 2003
Location: WA state
Default

really? no one?
Unsung Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 02:13 PM   #3
Fernely
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6824
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Kendall/ Miami, FL
Vehicle:
2008 QSM Leg. spec B
Pastelito Racing/ SFSOC

Default

google k type thermocouple that should give you a good start
Fernely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 02:46 PM   #4
rob
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 811
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: WA
Vehicle:
2000 RS-Ej20G
It tastes like burning

Default

Hey Jake,

I have a spare used EGT probe. It was originally with a Greedy guage, but it the same type so should be fine. There's not connector, so you would have to use what's on your current probe. Shoot me a PM if you wanna give it a go. I'm in Edgewood down by Puyallup.

-Rob
rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 03:07 PM   #5
Eriksport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5825
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
02 Impreza WRX Wag
Silver, curb rash, mud

Default

I've had this Autometer EGT in my wagon for a few months now, and it randomly died...now stuck on 1100 whether the car is on or off. I've checked my wiring, I removed the probe, and all seems visually fine.

...so I'm probably looking at a probe as well huh?

Erik
Eriksport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 04:42 PM   #6
GotTurbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64186
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Glendale, Queens NY
Vehicle:
1998 A MONSTER
SOON BMW STEEL GREY

Default

dude go with vdo guage. love mine alot and never had one problem at all


-matt
GotTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 10:15 PM   #7
Hitokiri
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2604
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
1999 2.5RSt
RBP

Default

the problem with the autometer gauges is that the fitting that they have you weld in is tough to get on any other probe that theirs. I believe the "street" and "competition" probes also have different fittings that come with them as well. I have a autometer competition probe that burned out as well, so if you find a good replacement I am interested.
Hitokiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 10:28 PM   #8
Wedge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2279
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The MIA
Vehicle:
2000 Slingshot
Pastelito Racing

Default

Email Autometer telling em you got a bad probe, they reply, and send you a replacement probe for free. Simple. I did just that when mine went bad.
Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 11:17 PM   #9
2.5 Blue Roo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 45727
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MD
Vehicle:
1981 Audi Rally Ur
Quattro

Default

yeah autometer is really good on replacing broken parts, i effed up a temp sensor, they sent me one for free
2.5 Blue Roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omori EGT probe install. Probe wont lock down. Valhakar Electrical & Lighting 2 06-15-2006 06:14 AM
autometer egt gauges, what egt probe are you using? Tobey Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 15 07-09-2004 11:19 PM
Replace stock EGT probe with a aftermarket probe? jfalcon001 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 10-09-2002 08:02 PM
feel stupid for asking... probe fitting & egt probe Imprezin Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 10-05-2002 09:12 PM
OE EGT probe and o2 probe locations? lstepnio Newbies & FAQs 2 09-13-2002 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.