Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2004, 10:07 PM   #1
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default HYDRA ?s

I am selling just about everything that has to do with my ECU, intake, and MAf system, so that I can get a HYDRA... I have a few questions, I have had some people try to answer but maybe I can send this question up the ranks to the mighty Phil... (or someone who absolutely knows the answers) i have not been able to find this info in searches, so noone tell me to do a search.

Can i run the Hydra in an auto car? (this car has the stock TCU still, so im wondering if it will need the stock ECM in order to communicate with the trans still...) IF i will have to ditch the TCU all together and get another means to control the shifts, like Leveltens shiftronic gear selector, then so be it.

what peramiters control the antilag system? reason i ask, is because the utec uses the clutch switch. if its still the clutch switch, ill have to make my own switch.

can i run it without the stock rear O2 sensor?

How much work is needed in getting it all installed.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 08:30 AM   #2
CK02WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Winder, GA
Vehicle:
2002 EJ257 w/CP's
8cmFP Red, RA 5spd, Hydra

Default

I'm not sure about the auto trans you'll probably have to ask phil like you stated. The utec doesn't control antilag so I guess you are talking about launch control. The launch control is activated in the same manner as the utec and is wire from the hydra harness to the clutch switch or a secondary ground switch that you can buy and install yourself. I don't have it hooked up. The last time I talked to Phil about the launch control he said he was still testing the system. You can run with out the rear o2 sensor if you get the wideband option. The wideband can be used to control fueling and for the auto tune function. The Hydra does not use the front o2 sensor. The install is about the same as the utec but you have to run a line to a boost source for the interal map sensor. You will also have to install the wideband in the rear o2 sensor bung or a 3rd bung on the downpipe if you have one.
CK02WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 08:49 PM   #3
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

yeah thats what i meant, what is the diff between the utecs launch controll or 2 step and the HYDRAs antilag ? reason i ask is because my stall converter only stalls at 3k right now, and im hoping that maybe with some really effective antilag, i will be able to get some more boost off the line. right now its making 2.6 lbs when i power brake it on the line... what do you think antilag will do for it? and closed loop fueling, because isnt the utec on open loop up untill 60% load? allright thanks thats all
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 03:51 AM   #4
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

bump cuz i wannt learn this
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 11:33 AM   #5
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jared nelson
and closed loop fueling, because isnt the utec on open loop up untill 60% load? allright thanks thats all
It's configurable in the UTEC, if I recall correctly.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 11:41 AM   #6
T3RMIN4L
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37434
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Default

think 20 percent load is the new minimum.
T3RMIN4L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 12:32 PM   #7
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

i don't think launch control is useful on an automatic tranny car...

how would you use it?
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 06:21 PM   #8
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

you hook it up to the brake switch so that while you are on the brake and on the gas, it is in antilag. its perfect actualy. and it will help me because i have a really big turbo that takes a long timeto spool, so antilag will be awesome
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 06:22 PM   #9
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

oh and, i dont have the new software for UTEC because it does not work with auto cars
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 09:00 PM   #10
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

bump
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 10:38 PM   #11
CK02WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Winder, GA
Vehicle:
2002 EJ257 w/CP's
8cmFP Red, RA 5spd, Hydra

Default

Phil from Element tuning will be able to answer questions better than any here but I belive he won't be back until after the time attack. You could try Andrew at Hydra-EMS but my guess is that Phill will have more Subaru related info.
CK02WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 11:10 PM   #12
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

hmm thanks,
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 11:18 PM   #13
west_minist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53451
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Caribbean
Vehicle:
2000 JDM Impreza SRX
w/ AVCS Silver

Default

Did you get a reply from Phil on the Hydra w/ automatics?
west_minist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 07:37 AM   #14
x99percent
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27108
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Detroit-ish, MI
Vehicle:
2004 STi
2004 A4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jared nelson
Can i run the Hydra in an auto car?
I'm pretty sure you can...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jared nelson
oh and, i dont have the new software for UTEC because it does not work with auto cars
Are you sure about that?

You can use 5.0 UTEC firmware on a WRX w/ automatic... you just can't use OLF.

Last edited by x99percent; 11-01-2005 at 07:59 AM.
x99percent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 11:43 AM   #15
jared nelson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35075
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 02 MBP debadged spoilerless
Vehicle:
for Trade with U!
PM me to trade.

Default

yeah that post was a year ago, back then even turboxs was telling people they couldnt use that software, but ive since used it. ive even used OLF on my car, it runs like ****, but ive used it.

oh, and the hydra doesnt control the torque management system for the 4eat, so iirc, it wont do anything to help the car shift, and may make problems occur with the trans.

you could probly run it, but not with good results. thats my assumption, maybe phil has this thread watched and can chime in.
jared nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 12:39 PM   #16
west_minist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53451
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Caribbean
Vehicle:
2000 JDM Impreza SRX
w/ AVCS Silver

Default

I will try and call Element tuning now to see.
west_minist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 01:13 PM   #17
west_minist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53451
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Caribbean
Vehicle:
2000 JDM Impreza SRX
w/ AVCS Silver

Default

I just spoke w/ Phil.

All sounds good.

There suppose to be a new Hydra coming out by the end of the year.

Right now, there is no support for auto, but he states the capability is there and can be easily program.

He also mentioned CAN support, especially for the new auto that communicates w/ the ECU using CAN. Unfortunately for me and others, our controls are not CAN.

It would be nice for those of you who have an auto to visit Element Tuning for analysis of this feature.

Thanks guys for your input.
west_minist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 01:41 PM   #18
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 673 WHP Element ProComp Engine
Default

Guys,

I would love to setup the Hydra for the automatic but the cars are rare (enough mods to warrant a stand-alone) so I haven't had the opportunity to perform the necessary R&D so I can provide proper mapping. Once the new units that fully support CAN I will be able to use my 05 LGT with the 5 speed auto to start the R&D process.

As for anti-lag as Jared stated I would program the Hydra so that when the brake is applied or the car is at 0 mph and the TPS was greater than 80% this would engage both the Anti-lag maps and the launch control (2 step rev limiter).

Due to SEMA week and Time Attack 3 Iíll have limited access but Iíll do my best to check emails and keep up on the forums.

Thanks for your understanding,

Phil
http://www.elementtuning.com
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 02:02 PM   #19
west_minist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53451
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Caribbean
Vehicle:
2000 JDM Impreza SRX
w/ AVCS Silver

Default

How easy is it to work w/ you to offer controls?

Can you give me and idea on needs to be done to acheive full functionality?

For some reason, I think of it as a toy. Why?? Really do not know.

That means that this is a good product to market.

Last edited by west_minist; 11-01-2005 at 02:13 PM.
west_minist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 12:10 AM   #20
Redleader
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14430
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tacoma, Wa. USA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX Wagon WRB
STi swap luvin it!!!

Default

Quote:
There suppose to be a new Hydra coming out by the end of the year.
Details please???

Anyone?
Redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 12:13 AM   #21
west_minist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53451
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Caribbean
Vehicle:
2000 JDM Impreza SRX
w/ AVCS Silver

Default

From my understanding, it will be the same device, by with CAN support and new firmware or software.

ET can give you more info.
west_minist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 12:19 AM   #22
Redleader
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14430
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tacoma, Wa. USA
Vehicle:
'02 WRX Wagon WRB
STi swap luvin it!!!

Default

Ok thanks!
Redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 Sti Hydra EMS II 2.6 ECU SOLD tolishel Engine/Power/Exhaust 8 07-07-2010 04:50 PM
FS - Harness for Hydra (fits 05-06 Sti) 05pearl Engine/Power/Exhaust 2 06-16-2010 02:15 PM
Hydra with Hydra mist only? BuggeyEYED Water/Methanol Injection, Nitrous & Intercooler Cooling 10 03-27-2008 11:32 AM
Hydra- Fuel pump wont turn off when hydra is powered up...whats the cause? White 2.5rs Other Engine Management 9 10-17-2006 09:06 PM
Hydra Users: Anyone know the Hydra injector mapping? wgknestrick Other Engine Management 12 03-07-2005 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.