Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2005, 08:04 PM   #1
steelgrey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 98387
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Question V1 Placement

Im looking for good locations to mount my V1. I have seen several cases where people have mounted just above the rearview and tapped into the compass lights/autodimming harness. However I dont think mounting there is a good plan since there are those tinty-black dot things all in that area and the V1 website says mounting behind that stuff reduces range a bunch. So Im thinking maybe just below the rearview, but then there will be a wire going down. Or maybe just to the left/right of the tinted area. Has anyone else come upon this problem?
thanks
chris
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
steelgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 08:22 PM   #2
markadopolus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 69586
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Default

I have mine mounted to the right, above the rear view. I just put the suction cups on the black dots (hasn't fallen off yet) and positioned it so the front detector portion is just below the black dots. Sure, its got like an inch and a half of wire showing, but I don't mind.
markadopolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:07 PM   #3
WR^2X
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37617
Join Date: May 2003
Vehicle:
2007

Default

Mine's above the mirror (actually resting on it) so that about half of the front detector screen is completely below the black dots. I have not experienced any decreased range. Still picking up radar traps, sometimes miles ahead of time. You can put the thing on the floor and it'll still pick up radar. Laser is another story, though in its current location it does not seem to have any problems picking that up either.

And for the ultimate in stealth installs, the clock pod-mounted remote display!! (Thumbnails link to fullsize pics)


Last edited by WR^2X; 11-01-2005 at 10:13 PM.
WR^2X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:11 PM   #4
markadopolus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 69586
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WR^2X

And for the ultimate in stealth installs, the clock pod-mounted remote display!!

NICE! Any bigger, higher res pics of the remote display?
markadopolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:13 PM   #5
WR^2X
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37617
Join Date: May 2003
Vehicle:
2007

Default

I just edited my first post, so the thumbnails link to fullsize pics.
WR^2X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 04:02 PM   #6
Sperm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX sedan

Default

What did you so with the mute button on the remote display?
Any more info on how you did that, exactly?
Sperm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 04:12 PM   #7
WR^2X
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37617
Join Date: May 2003
Vehicle:
2007

Default

Ahh, I guess I should have posted that pic as well


I took apart the remote display, removed the button, soldered wires onto the contacts for the button, covered the hole left by the button, and then put the display back together. Then I soldered more flexible, lower-gauge wires onto the smaller wires that I had just soldered onto the display's board, and ran them to a small $3 pushbutton from Radio shack, which is mounted in front of my DCCD Auto/Manual toggle. I tried to find a pushbutton that had some kind of orange light on it, so that it would look stock, but didn't find any that I liked.
WR^2X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 04:28 PM   #8
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

I used the suction cup mount (without the cups) to attach my V1 to my useless center visor.

1) Obtained screws and a few washers to mount. painted them grey to match
2) Predrilled holes and screwed in the screws partially. This was the hard part as the screws had to be at quite an angle to have the V1 close to parallel with the ground.



3) Tighten the screws in the two spots where the suction cups normally clip into
4) Push on V1



5) Pull off stereo bezel
6) Carefully dremmel
7) Glued display in place



Display is in a great line of sight. Easy to push the mute button. And with the V1 mounted farther back it is harder to see from outside the vehicle = less likely to be stolen.
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 04:33 PM   #9
Sperm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX sedan

Default

That's really cool, man.
Sperm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 06:46 PM   #10
steelgrey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 98387
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

phathead and wr^2x, NICE installs, both look very clean. Anyways for now I am just using the suction cups so that the entire sensor is just below the dots. Maybe Ill take some pics tomorrow, but its not nearly as cool as the above two installs. Also just in case anyone is wondering hardwiring it takes like 15 minutes, with the biggest PITA being cramming the wiring in there, there is space for it all though...
steelgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 01:07 AM   #11
Apex Rex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63218
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Default

Nice V1 installs! I just have mine mounted above the rearview mirror, with the display mounted in a single DIN pocket that sits above my head unit.
Apex Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:21 AM   #12
Sperm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX sedan

Default

Question:
When you hardwire it using the kit that comes with the V1 it has two "ports", one for the V1 itself, and one for the remote display, right?

Where did you put that power adapter, and what did you wire it into?
Thanks
Sperm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:23 AM   #13
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

yeah the ports are correct. I just used my tap light to find a 12V when key was on. Mine is mounted under the steering column somewhere.
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb AP V1 for 2004 wrx Project Blackhawk Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 1 06-02-2010 06:32 PM
AP V1 ECU lock? V1 override old V1 map AFTER V2 install and uninstall. sonic03rex AccessPort 2 08-28-2009 12:33 AM
a/f bung placement and egt probe placement 06whitesti General Community 2 11-12-2006 02:46 PM
pedal placement stgardner Legacy Forum 0 04-18-2001 06:46 AM
Attn:Jamie- Sticker placement? Ryan24 North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 5 08-10-2000 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.