Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2005, 01:08 PM   #1
SubieWahn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38107
Join Date: Jun 2003
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default Running wires through the firewall?

I put a switch inside my car to control my driving lights - however, the wiring needs to go to the engine compartment, and I didn't know the best way to go through the firewall (so I didn't). The stock wiring goes through in a couple locations, surrounded by a rubber donut/seal thingy. Didn't want to remove/cut this in fear of damaging it.

Just wondering what people were doing in this situation. Thanks!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SubieWahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 01:10 PM   #2
sjl1614
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56791
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
06 OBS

Default

There is a groment on the drivers side firewall kinda near the clutch master cylinder. It's easier to see without the IC in place, but you can still get to it. What i usually do is take a razor, make a cut into the center and cut out a hole for the size of your wire and reinstall the groment. You will have to feed it from the engine side, it's even harder to see from inside.
sjl1614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 01:21 PM   #3
Casey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82371
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Princeton, MA
Vehicle:
2002 IMPREZA
22 psi @ 2600rpm

Default

There is also a round hole with a cover behind your brake pedal near the floor.
Casey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the best place to route wire through the firewall Psyk Car Audio, Video & Security 8 09-01-2005 11:58 AM
Where to run wires through firewall? prelude/2.5rs Electrical & Lighting 6 04-06-2005 10:21 PM
Wiring through the firewall sneeky Electrical & Lighting 8 03-27-2004 10:01 PM
Running wire through firewall Dakken Car Audio, Video & Security 7 12-04-2002 07:22 AM
Where should I run wires etc. through the firewall? scootr Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 2 10-22-2001 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.