Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > UTEC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2005, 03:04 PM   #1
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default UTEC reset(?)ed my custom tuned maps

so today i went to see my tuner for boost adjestment for winter... and found out that i was running on base map!!! ahhh

he thinks battery in utec died or something so when i disc'ed car battery for turbotimer install, it reseted the whole map. Now I only have basemaps on my utec... however, he is not 100% sure if it's battery.. has this ever happend to anyone? if so, how did you fix it?
can i change battery myself or do i have to send to turboxs...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 04:55 PM   #2
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

There is no battery in the UTEC. The maps are stored in non volatile memory, the only way to loose them is to rease them (or some sort of electrical gremlin). If your tuner told you that the battery inside the UTEC has gone bad and you are now left with basemaps, find another tuner The UTEC does store a little charge and takes around 5-20 seconds to shut off even after you turn off the ignition. It also takes a few seconds to initialise when powering up, about the same time as it takes the fuel system to prime.

You can disconnect the main car battery and it won't affect the UTEC at all. It will just reset your OEM Subaru ECU so it will have to relearn again.

While you are at it, flash the new firmware, v5 is better than 4.2c. It also has temperature compensation for fuel and timing.

http://www.turboxs.com/utecwrxupdate.htm
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 11:59 PM   #3
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default

hm i already have v5 firmware..

what could be the problem then..? any ideas?
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 12:44 AM   #4
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Reload the maps.....they should have a copy of them.....they can email them to you if you dont want to go there, and you can put them in yourself, very easy.
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 04:24 AM   #5
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

If you reflash your UTEC with a new version of firmware you will erase all your maps and parameters.

regards
Pete
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 07:42 AM   #6
wrex03
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29963
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Vehicle:
04 sti
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuhga
so today i went to see my tuner for boost adjestment for winter... and found out that i was running on base map!!! ahhh

he thinks battery in utec died or something so when i disc'ed car battery for turbotimer install, it reseted the whole map. Now I only have basemaps on my utec... however, he is not 100% sure if it's battery.. has this ever happend to anyone? if so, how did you fix it?
can i change battery myself or do i have to send to turboxs...

You could not tell the difference from driving on your tuned map compared to the base map?
wrex03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 05:12 PM   #7
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrex03
You could not tell the difference from driving on your tuned map compared to the base map?
well i only get on my car like once every two weeks... I only had my car tuned for few weeks = /.. ever since map got erased start'ed flashing cel so i never got on it. (ofcurse i didnt think my map was gone..)
He does not have copy of my map.. Can my tuner be that bad? he is pretty reputable around where I live.
also I got tune'ed after I freshed 5.0 so the map shouldn't just dissapear... i guess i'll just have to call TXS monday =/ sorry my english sucks
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:42 AM   #8
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Unless your tuner or you have a copy of the map then unfortunately there is no way that TXS can recover your map from the UTEC after it has been reflashed. (If I understand what your intention was in contacting TXS)

regards
Pete
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:42 AM   #9
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default

no i just want to know if my utec will do it again ... if so how I will be able to fix it
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 10:22 AM   #10
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

my utec has never "lost maps."

you (or your tuner) probably reflashed over the old ones. this is why the reflash directions tell you to save them before you reflash!
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 10:38 AM   #11
cdvma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21980
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Central MA
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX (Sold)
2009 BMW X5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ride5000
my utec has never "lost maps."

you (or your tuner) probably reflashed over the old ones. this is why the reflash directions tell you to save them before you reflash!
+1


Bow to the Guru!
cdvma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 12:23 PM   #12
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdvma
+1


Bow to the Guru!
+2 - When you load new firmware all maps are lost... I hope someone took a copy of them first....

Last edited by mick_the_ginge; 11-07-2005 at 12:23 PM. Reason: Typo king strikes again
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 12:56 PM   #13
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuhga
also I got tune'ed after I freshed 5.0 so the map shouldn't just dissapear...
i never touch'ed my utec after i got tuned so it shouldnt have changed..

anyway, i called txs and they said theres no way map can just dissapear.. either i flashed on top of tuned map or my tuner never tuned my car...

however it's weird because I have never touched my utec (why would i lie) and I was driving the car while getting road tuned and i remember pushing the clutch in to save etc all that .....
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:39 PM   #14
cdvma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21980
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Central MA
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX (Sold)
2009 BMW X5

Default

You sure you didn't just flip the switch to a different map?
cdvma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 02:23 PM   #15
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Electrical gremlins can rease non volatile memory to bork itself, did you cause any by installing that Turbo Timer? Is the UTEC properly grounded too with the supplied ground cable?
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:28 PM   #16
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default

-You sure you didn't just flip the switch to a different map?

i dont have map switch =/

-Electrical gremlins can rease non volatile memory to bork itself, did you cause any by installing that Turbo Timer? Is the UTEC properly grounded too with the supplied ground cable?

maybe that... cutting through wires ? i did ground the utec though.. maybe grounded in wrong place ?
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 04:02 PM   #17
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

While anything is possible, I have not had one report about a UTEC erasing a map by itself.

If there was some "electrical glitch" that could do it it would be likely that the some other parts of the firmware would be corrupt and hence not run correctly or the map would be filled with corrupt data that your car would not run properly or at all.

regards
Pete
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 04:46 PM   #18
nuhga
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80770
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2005 v7 spec-c
WRB

Default

^^^ yeah.. samething nathan said. He said that only chance is I overwrote the map or tuner never tuned my car. which both doesnt sound right to me but anyway

very weird, that day when we found out that our map was gone, we tunred down all the boost to wastegate level... however, today my car was boosting and holding all the way to around .1bar?? hmmm i dont have seriel port to check the map but is this normal?
nuhga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:22 PM   #19
DISCOPOPE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43339
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mpls, mn
Vehicle:
2oo4 STi
URgt35r w/t3hM3finj3cki0n

Default

did you or your tuner fellow try to update firmware on a turboxs tuner?
i tried one late night and selected a utec update by accident.
only reason i noticed is that when i went to reconnect, the hyper term came up saying SECURITY!
DISCOPOPE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 09:05 PM   #20
AaronWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7194
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVa
Vehicle:
2011 997.2 Turbo
Black

Default

a buddy of mine had his utec fail. I was able to re-create his map fairly close based on a lot of utec logs he had. It wasnt that hard.
AaronWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:17 PM   #21
T-boner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57608
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Edmonds
Vehicle:
All your boost are
belong to us! Mwahahahaaa

Default

Bummer! Dude, it's just a computer. Even tho it is not a Windows machine (thank God!), it is still susceptible to various gremlins such as electostatic discharge events, bad memory cells, or FM (F'n magic).

You do have a map switch, you just may have never seen it. BTW, it's just a cheap little rotary switch and it's been a long time since anybody made a decent-quality switch. That too may be a culprit.

As with any compooter, it behooves you to maintain backup copies of your code. Particularly if you are running a custom map. If you do not have the capability or desire to do so, then you should ask your tuner to do it for you. Capeesh?
T-boner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 02:30 PM   #22
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

bah ancient post

reading teh date > me
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NJ:TXS Rev.7 STi 04-06 Utec-w/rem. map selector and custom tuned maps Cuztom15 Engine/Power/Exhaust 2 12-04-2006 04:27 PM
PA: 04 STI UTEC - with custom tuned maps EdsWRX Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 19 06-16-2006 10:57 AM
Reputable tune shop to get an Cobb AP custom tune map in NY state Kosmic AccessPort 4 04-08-2006 12:39 AM
FS: TurboXS UTEC plus Remote switch plus Tuned maps jetskizero Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 18 11-20-2005 03:18 PM
CO: Rev. 5 UTEC w/ remote switch and tuned map! DjRez4 Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 9 05-02-2005 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.