Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
View Poll Results: Would this be worth $400 to you?
Yeah, sounds cool. 7 58.33%
Nah, what a waste of money. 5 41.67%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2005, 05:17 PM   #1
beachbum
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 457
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default Would this be worth $400 to you? Re: media/gameroom lighting

I'm putting together my shopping list for the lighting portion of my basement remodel project, and I came across a really cool lighting product by Lutron. It's called the Spacer System. Basically, you gang 1-4 dimmer switches together in one box, along with a scene master control. Then, you can program "scenes" by setting each dimmer where you want it and telling the master control that's a scene. Just like programming a radio station in your car. The switches operate independently and communicate with each other via IR signals passed from the master control through the clear backs of the switches. You can buy one of their remotes or use any programmable remote to switch scenes, just like changing channels on a TV.

In my case, I'm going to have 4 lighting circuits. It's a large rectangular room divided in half (TV half and "games half), and there will be 4" cans along the perimeter of each half for a gentle wall wash and accent effect (small soffit on one side) and 4 or so 6" cans for main lighting on each side.

One scene could be "movies" where all main lights are off, and the soffit cans are on the lowest setting. Another scene could be "games" where the lights over the card table are up all the way, and the rest are dimmed. When you turn the system off or on or switch zones, the lights gently fade from one setting to the next. You can still use each lighting circuit independently, turn them all off/on with one press, etc... It just seems like a really cool and easy to set up system. Me want.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
beachbum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 05:21 PM   #2
Matt A
NASIOC Vendor Manager

 
Member#: 15382
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cambridge, MA
Vehicle:
. 2005 OBXT LTD

Default

certainly would add some bling and impress all your friends. I say spend $400 more and upgrade the audio/video or seating.
Matt A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 06:02 PM   #3
monkeyfritters
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9865
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ahhhhh, yeah...
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon PSM

Default

DOOOEEEEET!

I have a Lutron 4 zone unit in my HT. It is GREAT. To not have to get up every time I wanted to do something in the room was worth the weight in gold.

My zones are for Movies, Gaming, Equipt. rack, and Low, low lighting for when I don't want room totally dark. The low lighting also doubles as my "pause" lighting setting for when I press pause on my remote, the lights come up a bit so that you can see where you are going.
monkeyfritters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 06:36 PM   #4
Flake
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 84657
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Riley, KS
Default

we have those at work in the conference room. they are pricey, but cool. if you have the cash, imop, do it.
Flake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 07:13 PM   #5
super-ru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90094
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2002 Pathfinder
Merlot Perl

Default

my friend installs lutron systems, they are l33t. I really like your ideas, mature them and put it into action. I may steal your ideas too when I finish the basement.
super-ru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 07:19 PM   #6
dr_wheel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60106
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pennsyltucky
Vehicle:
I eat pieces of
** like you for breakfast

Default

Too upscale for me.
dr_wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 07:48 PM   #7
35mm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 97001
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Default

I am using the same in my HT.
35mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:41 AM   #8
beachbum
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 457
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default

I ran this by my wife last night, and she thought it was pretty cool. So I guess it's a go! I just think it's awesome that stuff like this is available and relatively cheap, especially compared to what it would have cost 5-10 years ago. Home automation pushes my nerd-button big time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfritters
The low lighting also doubles as my "pause" lighting setting for when I press pause on my remote, the lights come up a bit so that you can see where you are going.
That's cool... What remote do you have?
beachbum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:15 PM   #9
monkeyfritters
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9865
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ahhhhh, yeah...
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon PSM

Default

I use the Niles Intellicontrol. It is RF and EASY to navigate. It has the usual control buttons, but it also has a set of "preset" buttons.
I use these for
DVD
Satellite
Games
Movies (filters all movie channels in the "Guide" view of DirecTV)
Sports (filters all sports channels in the "Guide" view of DirecTV)
Radio
VHS
Lights
etc.
This remote has been used in the HT industry a long time and most everyone knows how to program it. I opted for this as opposed to others with elaborate LCD screens because I had no need for "whole house" control, and COST. You can prob. find a great deal on this unit, as pple are caught up in the "eye candy" remotes.
I do know that Logitech has a new remote, the 880, but I don't believe it is RF capable. I heard somewhere though, that there is a model that is RF capable, but I don't know for sure.

http://www.nilesaudio.com/product_se....php?catcdID=9
http://www.diginteriors.com/niles_intelli.htm bigger picture

Last edited by monkeyfritters; 11-10-2005 at 01:22 PM.
monkeyfritters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:19 PM   #10
SkirtBoy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11056
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Vehicle:
2009 MB CLK 350 CPO
Black on Tan

Default

[size=really****ingbig'cosIfindthisannoying]PUTING[/size]
SkirtBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:20 PM   #11
tcs007
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4103
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Madtown
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Reddish

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfritters
I use the Niles Intellicontrol. It is RF and EASY to navigate. It has the usual control buttons, but it also has a set of "preset" buttons.
I use these for
DVD
Satellite
Games
Movies (filters all movie channels in the "Guide" view of DirecTV)
Sports (filters all sports channels in the "Guide" view of DirecTV)
Radio
VHS
Lights
etc.
This remote has been used in the HT industry a long time and most everyone knows how to program it. I opted for this as opposed to others with elaborate LCD screens because I had no need for "whole house" control, and COST. You can prob. find a great deal on this unit, as pple are caught up in the "eye candy" remotes.
I do know that Logitech has a new remote, the 880, but I don't believe it is RF capable. I heard somewhere though, that there is a model that is RF capable, but I don't know for sure.
AHHHHHH! The Intellicontrol!

I was the very first person to install one of those things (Outside of factory guys). What a PIA that was. I must have spent as much time on the phone with Niles as I did installing the whole stupid system.
tcs007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:28 PM   #12
monkeyfritters
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9865
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ahhhhh, yeah...
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon PSM

Default

Well I didn't get mine the moment it was released. I put it in a couple years ago, and by then I am sure the inital growing pains and kinks were worked out. It went in flawlessly and has been awesome.

Were you a certified installer and you had problems, or just a DIY installer? I think it only took about 2 hours to get it tweaked to perfection.

Also, I am not saying it is the best out there. It just really works great for me and my needs. Add to that, the diversity of what it is capable of, and I think it is a great deal.

tcs007,
Do you install remotes systems? If so, what do you like that is sub $500
monkeyfritters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:29 PM   #13
FaastLegacy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 11671
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Default

If you got money to burn, then hell, why not?
FaastLegacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:37 PM   #14
tcs007
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4103
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Madtown
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Reddish

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfritters
Well I didn't get mine the moment it was released. I put it in a couple years ago, and by then I am sure the inital growing pains and kinks were worked out. It went in flawlessly and has been awesome.

Were you a certified installer and you had problems, or just a DIY installer? I think it only took about 2 hours to get it tweaked to perfection.

Also, I am not saying it is the best out there. It just really works great for me and my needs. Add to that, the diversity of what it is capable of, and I think it is a great deal.

tcs007,
Do you install remotes systems? If so, what do you like that is sub $500
Certified installer (Not that that meant much back then).

Don't do it anymore. And no one can make me go back into that feild again I play with real toys now
tcs007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How hard would this be to do, to move the fog lights??? shamrock 05 Interior & Exterior Modification 9 11-12-2008 07:20 PM
Would this be the right pipe reducer to connect WRX mid to OBS stock exhaust? kaisersouse Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 02-20-2006 09:15 AM
let this be a lesson to you all! HighWayDrifter Off-Topic 4 03-22-2004 02:47 AM
This would so be a way to get back at someone ... avatarr Off-Topic 16 11-16-2003 03:01 AM
Cure for AIDS...how much would it be worth??? xfactor834 Off-Topic 65 11-14-2003 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.