Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > UTEC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2005, 12:24 AM   #76
dingobite
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82391
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lou. ky
Vehicle:
08 OBP Sti
stg2.... 279awhp, 299tq

Default


Sorry for being out of text.

Im giving Utec alot of consideration i mean alot im leaning on Ecutek though right after the seasons over.
Future plans for my wrx i have know ideal something in the stage 2 range with or without mods. <Big 16g

Ive even heard about some software that will eliminate AFR ratios thats being converted over or subarus only im skeptical of its uses stock or modded as much as the guy that will have his first sample in the next few weeks.



Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyBlueSubaru
For those wrx owners without a tuner, when you are running rich does it say "RICH", or "Rich" or "rich"?? Also does it ever say "Lean" or anything like that? I cannot remember, its been too long. The quicker I get the answer to this the quicker I can program compatability into my program for you.

Jeff
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by dingobite; 11-27-2005 at 12:30 AM.
dingobite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 02:15 PM   #77
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Update: Ok guys, Version 1.6 is out on the site. Major bugs have been fixed and a lot has been re-vised, also new features have been added.

Please read the version history update on the site before you run the program. Also, you WILL NEED TO update your .ini File with the one provided and just re-do your settings the first time.

Road testing is complete, this version is golden! It syncs up in literally 1 second...switches from logger-1 to dashboard almost instantly, and auto-logs perfectly with any option enabled/disabled as you desire.

Please let me know how well this one works for you all!

Jeff

Last edited by NavyBlueSubaru; 11-27-2005 at 02:37 PM.
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:18 PM   #78
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

Most excellent! Looks like you're on top of it. Logs are functional and I dig the air temp option. Logger and dashboard connection is smooth. No errors. I haven't tried all the settings yet but I'll work through them soon.

Code:
 3284 -10.0 2.0   0  00    00     8.0    4.6 ECU.   -2.2 ECU.   1.6  20.0
 3217 -10.0 1.9   8  00    00     8.0   13.0 ECU.   -2.3 296.00 2.1  20.0
 3214  -9.5 2.4  17  10    00     8.0    8.5 +29.1  -2.2 248.00 2.3  20.0
 3255  -7.9 2.9  33  10    00     6.0   13.8 +29.1  -3.3 200.00 2.6  20.0
 3264  -5.4 3.1  43  10    00     7.0   16.3 +28.9  -3.3 210.00 2.7  24.47
 3271  -2.3 3.3  84  20    00     7.0   19.4 +21.6  -4.4 215.00 2.8  16.62
 3333  +0.6 3.4 100  30    00     7.0   21.1 +15.7  -4.7 215.00 2.9  14.11
 3356  +3.2 3.6 101  40    00     7.0   24.0 +14.0  -4.6 215.00 3.0  12.99
 3415  +5.1 3.7 101  40    00     7.0   26.1 +14.0  -4.8 215.00 3.1  12.68
 3439  +7.4 3.9 101  50    00     7.0   31.5 +14.0  -4.2 215.00 3.3  12.64
 3565  +9.9 4.1 101  70    00     7.0   38.4 +13.9  -1.5 215.00 3.5  12.46
 3671 +12.9 4.2 100  80    00     8.0   45.0 +13.0  -1.1 215.00 3.6  12.05
 3720 +16.0 4.3 101  90    00     7.0   48.4 +12.3  -0.9 215.00 3.7  11.52
 3753 +18.9 4.3 101  90    00     7.0   48.7 +12.7  -0.8 215.00 3.6  11.23
 3935 +20.8 4.3 100  90    00     7.0   50.9 +13.2  -0.7 220.00 3.7  11.17
 3926 +21.6 4.3 100  90    00     8.0   49.2 +13.6  -0.7 220.00 3.7  11.23
 4105 +22.0 4.4  87  90    00     8.0   55.3 +14.1  -0.7 217.00 3.8  11.24
 4050 +21.0 4.3  25  00    00     8.0   44.4 ECU.   -3.0 232.00 2.4  11.17
 4156 +16.9 2.7  15  00    00     7.0    8.9 ECU.   -3.0 312.00 1.7  10.76
 4089 +10.9 1.8  12  00    00     7.0    3.8 ECU.   -3.2 ECU.   1.1  11.12
 4100  +3.3 1.4   0  00    00     8.0    3.6 ECU.   -3.0 ECU.   1.2  14.00
 4120  -3.8 1.6   0  00    00     7.0    3.6 ECU.   -3.0 ECU.   1.6  22.77
The 8.0 7.0 stuff in the middle is ait in celcius.

I'll try to remember and get some shots of it in action on the road tomorrow. Very very nice.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 02:35 AM   #79
rainmanjam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64581
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Oswego, Or
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

Works good except for the tables. They appear to be about 500 RPM's off. At ~750 and ~850 RPM there should be more logging at the 750 - 1000 RPM range instead of at the 1250 - 1500 RPM Range. How about UTEC Map Versioning with a GUI to make changes to maps and store them? Also how about a AFR offset to compensate for the lag in some Wideband sensors? Sometimes the true AFR lags maybe 2-3 lines behind.
rainmanjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:42 AM   #80
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

I was going to mention being able to set the AFR offset, but I was gonna give him a break first. It'd really be offsetting the rest of the lines I'd guess.


I haven't checked the table-to-real life connection. I still have my settings kinda weird so I can get more recordings and pop-ups etc... I'm not concerned with much outside of function. I'll see if I can come up with the same issue a little later this morning.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 12:15 PM   #81
fatray
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18150
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore MD
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon EJ207
Velocity Red, Liberal kit

Default

Can you bump up the RPM warning to 8500, some of us do rev to 8,200 rpms once in a while.
You know how the UTEC has a shift light output. Well why don't you add a shift light to your program. Have the program window flash at certain RPMS.
fatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 01:26 PM   #82
AaronWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7194
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVa
Vehicle:
2011 997.2 Turbo
Black

Default

fyi. The past 4 versions ive tried have had alignment problems:


AaronWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 02:36 PM   #83
rainmanjam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64581
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Oswego, Or
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

AaronWRX
Looks like you have some of the font settings under your display off a bit. Try playing around with the Display Properties.
rainmanjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 03:05 PM   #84
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

2phless - you just reminded me; I forgot to make it so that if you replace your stock ignition value with something else, to move over the value of it whenever your running off of the stock timing. I see in your logs the utec timing says ECU but you have no idea what that is because its being replaced. I ment to do that and just forgot.

rainmanjam - I rescaled the tables a few versions back from 500-900 down to 750-8500. The reason was because they didnt fit in lower resolutions for those with carputers. I figured that what I removed was useless anyways. I think i might have forgotten to re-adjust where the data is logged at after doing that so they might very well be off by a row, i'll double check.

fatray - bumping up the rev limiter warning is no problem. I have thought of shift-lights but you cant really see the screen well enough for it to get your attention so I moved first for audible warnings. If you have an fm modulator or aux input in your stereo then you can hear it quite well.

Comming up in future versions is total audio immersion. Im talking like everything is spoken like "Syncronized" or "Auto-Logging" or "Log recorded" or "Shift" or "Overboost". Some things can be simple beeps but I want other things to be spoken. Im tossing ideas around in my head. Im thinking that if you have no screen then you could use the program blind literally and be totally ok. It will also be cool to be driving and have your car(my program) talk to you and tell you that its autologging or telling you when to shift.

Thanks for the input guys, i appreciate it.

AaronWRX - what rainmanjam said. It works fine if you dont touch your display settings.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 03:17 PM   #85
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Sorry guys, I found the table error and it is drawing the information 2 rows down from where it should. This is a result of me removing the 250 and 500 rows. It is getting fixed as I type this.

Just fixed the deal with replacing the "ECU. " with the actual ecu timing value if you are replacing the stock value with air or H20 temp.

Just adjusted the rpm rev warning. From 6500 to 8500 it is in steps of 100rpm. Happy revving!

*The settings panel is going to get a slight overhaul soon. I want to widen everything to better fit the screen and allow for more options. I have a ton in my head that im toying with and I want you to all enjoy them.

Jeff

Last edited by NavyBlueSubaru; 11-28-2005 at 03:26 PM.
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:06 PM   #86
AaronWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7194
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVa
Vehicle:
2011 997.2 Turbo
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyBlueSubaru

AaronWRX - what rainmanjam said. It works fine if you dont touch your display settings.

Jeff
hmm that did fix it. too bad though. I run my laptop display at 1400x1050. That gave me the realestate i needed and setting the font to "Large size 120 dpi" kept my eyes from going cross eyed. I guess i cant have my cake and use UTI too.
AaronWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:08 PM   #87
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

aaronwrx - im currently making it so that the settings panel is larger and easier to use. I am limited though to having the program work perfect in an 800x600 screen.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:21 PM   #88
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Update: Version 1.6B is out. All the corrections mentioned above have been made. The settings panel is also re-done. This version is nearly the same to 1.6 just with the above mentioned tweaks.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 05:08 PM   #89
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

The speech is really comming around. I have 7 sounds so far. They sound pretty cool. There is going to be a tab in the settings window that you will use to turn it on/off. Perhaps it will be done by tomorrow.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:32 AM   #90
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Well on my way to work today I tested out the speech functionality. It works just as designed. When I roll on the gas and meet my logging conditions, my laptop says "Logging". It also announced when It launched, Connected, and synchronized. Very very cool, the feedback is nice. I can just turn on the computer and not even open the screen. I will know that im sync'd up even if I cant see it. I think you will all get a kick out of this. Also, you can turn on/off each different sound so that you can custom tailor it to your needs/wants.

I'll probably release it this afternoon sometime. There is something I want to do with the audible warnings too so I have to do that as well, and I want to put in a sort of "Peak Boost" hold that retains what the max boost that you hit was, just like on any standard boost controller. I just dont know where to put it on the window. Well thats it for now....


Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 01:26 PM   #91
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

Just used your software to fix my x-over hesitation in one felled swoop. It wasn't bad before but I lost the slightest bit of power whenever the utec took over. Watching it happen live let me target the issue. Made it easier to wrap my head around than perusing a log and trying to remember the circumstances. Big number that transition smoothly is key.

I stopped in a parking lot, made what I though would be good corrections. And they were. Smooth sailing now. Very nice.

One idea. You have those substitutions of AIT and Water temp for a timing value. Can you add an option to have it just repeatedly place the map number there? I like to set a few similar maps up in different locations, then run some loops around town and try different ones on the fly. Then I get home and forget the order. Having the number on the map would help a lot on those occasions.

If that isn't hard, other things like the aux solenoid output, and all that dash stuff you can't get from hyperterminal very easily. They'd almost all be useful on occasion.

Otherwise it's working great. Thanks!
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 03:47 PM   #92
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

2phless - Great to hear your positive experience. I can have those item substitued, that is extremely easy; in fact its as easy as it was for you to type about it. The only thing is that in order for the map to be the same width I would have to make the item going in that spot be the same width as the stock ignition value, 5 characters. If I did otherwise and allowed it to be bigger then it might cause problems in other programs, but is still easy to code if users are willing to take that chance. I'll See what I can do, and the map position will work, it will just say "Map 1" which happens to be 5 characters so its no problem. Dont worry, I can make it work.

I tested the speech again today and it works great. I think you will all hail 1.7 just as much as 1.6B, it is finally comming together.

I'll post more later today.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 03:55 PM   #93
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

The thing about AFR offset is that you cant simply retain the afr value for a few lines, you have to retain the rest of the log instead. At any certain time, everything is correct except your afr, you are reading what happened in the past by anywhere from 1/10 of a second or more/less, but anyhow it was in the past. What you need to do is match it up with a logger-1 line that also happened in the past. What this will do is basically cause the program to lag behind. You will not see what the active data is because its being withheld to show later when the afr mixture reaches your sensor.

If a user is willing for everything to be delayed just to meet up with its proper afr reading then thats fine but that is how it is would have to be.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:52 PM   #94
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Ok I added the ability to show the current switch position instead of stock ignition value. This obviously only works in dashboard mode.

I also fixed a small bug in drawing data in the tables.

I think that comming up soon will be audible shift commands which are programmable.
Also, im thinking of a built-in utility that will re-tune your maps for you. You will have to download the map you are running and let my program open it, then it will compare your afr with your target and update your map with its suggested value. Keep in mind that if my program is doing this then that means that im basically tuning your car. My initial idea is that if you are running 12:1 instead of 13:1, then 12-13 = -1, so minus 1 from your fuel map. While that may not be entirely accurate and im not saying by any means that it is how to tune a car or a good method, but to some degree it has truth behind it. If doing it takes you from 12:1 up to 12.5:1, then you are now closer to your target, no? So if you now have to minus 0.5 then you will be even closer. As long as it doesnt cause you to overshoot. I will obviously add in something that is like a "sensitivity" setting that modifies just how drastic the program changes your map, whether its 1:1 or 0.2:1 or whatever, you decide.

1.7 out in about 20 minutes

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:53 PM   #95
rainmanjam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64581
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Oswego, Or
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

+1 on the delay. I don't think i'll be doing any real time updates of my maps durning a pull.

How about making the value of the edit adjustable as well. some people may want to do a +/- .3 rather then a +/- 1. How about a range between .1 and 2. Or, even better, adjustable based on the difference in AFR like a
9:1 AFR in the log and a 12:1 AFR target will yield a -1 change in the fuel map but a 12.5:1 AFR in the log and a 12.3:1 AFR target will yield a +.1 change in the fuel map.

Last edited by rainmanjam; 11-29-2005 at 05:03 PM.
rainmanjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:57 PM   #96
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

Delay feature will probably be in 1.8. I would guess another 2 days or so.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 05:02 PM   #97
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

UPDATE: Version 1.7 is out. Go get it!

I seriously think you will all get a kick out of the audibles. Do try it!

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 05:08 PM   #98
rainmanjam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64581
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Oswego, Or
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

No hot chick for the audio....damn....but the improvements are AWSOME.. Thanks...
rainmanjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 05:22 PM   #99
TypeC
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9794
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
02 2.5LWRX-Retired
335i w/twins

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyBlueSubaru
Also, im thinking of a built-in utility that will re-tune your maps for you......it will compare your afr with your target and update your map with its suggested value
I would hesitate about going there if I were you. The logic for that isn't exact (x percent maf vs x percent fuel vs load), not to mention all the variables and the liability.

I for one wouldn't want it editing my maps. Now, if it showed suggestions, that would be great. Kinda like if asking for a favor vs pushing your gf's head in your lap; results could be devastating!
TypeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 05:24 PM   #100
TypeC
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9794
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
02 2.5LWRX-Retired
335i w/twins

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmanjam
+1 on the delay. I don't think i'll be doing any real time updates of my maps durning a pull.

How about making the value of the edit adjustable as well. some people may want to do a +/- .3 rather then a +/- 1. How about a range between .1 and 2. Or, even better, adjustable based on the difference in AFR like a
9:1 AFR in the log and a 12:1 AFR target will yield a -1 change in the fuel map but a 12.5:1 AFR in the log and a 12.3:1 AFR target will yield a +.1 change in the fuel map.
And that depends on how you're scaling (or not scaling) your maf. Jus to reiterate, this can be extremely dangerous. And you know there is always someone who doesn't rtfm and blows their stuff up.
TypeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enhanced UTEC Interface ...? ScreaminFast Engine Management & Tuning 4 09-20-2003 11:23 PM
UTEC interface enhancement (Long) LiquidForce Engine Management & Tuning 51 06-09-2003 04:10 PM
UTEC Interface Enhancement LiquidForce Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 6 05-29-2003 11:42 AM
UTEC software or interface nekard Engine Management & Tuning 5 10-22-2002 04:16 PM
UTEC interface program question? davidm_sh Engine Management & Tuning 3 10-09-2002 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.