Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Tribeca Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2006, 12:07 PM   #51
UKscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33287
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: 2013 Focus ST, Yella
Vehicle:
RIP Nik
I will always miss you

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpatton View Post
I looked at the 07 schematics also. It looks like the same 6 lines that run to the DVD player in the cars that have it are the same pinouts that run to the AUX in for the 07s. I spent some time at the dealers and talking to Subaru and you can't get the aux in jack part to install. They couldn't find it on any parts list and say they arent offering it. I bet they will have to if one breaks on an 07. They can't just throw the car away. I am also not sure what all the wires are for so just buying any jack will probably not work. My guess is

1. right channel
2. Left CHannel
3. Common audio ground
4. Shield ground for Noise
5. ???? One or both of these may be the sense that has been mentioned in this thread.
6. ???

The aux in for the 07 wo DVD is only audio so no video. The 06 also has a knockout in the center consol for the aux in jack.
5. Also shielding.
6. ??? Someone needs to probe this. Actually, anyone with a wiring diagram, can you post the key to the colors and line types? This will let me know if the thicker cable is power or a signal.

Also, possibly bad news, I'm doing the same thing you guys are but with my 04 Nissan Quest. Unfortunatly on the Quest, everything has a CAN address and therefore there are data communication lines. Wire 6 could be a one wire serial interface.

EDIT: Taking another look, wire 6 is also ground.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
UKscooby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 07:47 PM   #52
kmartin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65346
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2012 Outback 3.6 Ltd
Ruby Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpatton View Post
I took the easy route suggested by some. I put an inline fm modulator into my car. The sounds is pretty good on some material and sounds squashed on others. Not sure I can define what makes it ok or bad. Definitely not as good as a direct line in but really easy to put in on the tibeca and not expensive.

I havent been able to find anything about the frequency response of inline frequency modulators. I know FM is from 30 to 15,000 hz and any good radio gear will have a frequency response of about +/-1 DB over that range. But, no information seems to be available on the fm modulators. A few say they go to 15,000 but don't say how flat and most don't say anything. It would be nice to know if I have a good modulator or not.

I am pretty picky on sound quality over the whole spectrum from lows to highs so this is not the end for me but don't have time to mess with it right now.

I did find an electronics box in the center console right infront of the gear shift. I wonder if it is part of the radio system and a possible location of the ports. The box has the name denso on it and I believe they are into ignition parts more than radios so it might have nothing to do with the radio but seems a strange place for an ignition component.
Yes, that IS the airbag module under console near the gear shift...don't mess with it!!!

Also, I installed an FM modulator. I have found the quality issues have more to do with the compression factors of individual audio files more than frequencies. The less compressed the file, the more info the MP3/iPod has to work with, and the better final sound you'll get. I even went back into iTunes and reformatted some files using higher quality settings, and the results were pretty good.

-Karen in AZ-
kmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 01:13 AM   #53
rpatton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129348
Join Date: Oct 2006
Vehicle:
2006 tibeca limited

Default Ipod compression

Not sure what you mean about changing the compression. All my files are 44,100 sample rate and the bit rate is 128 - standard cd quality. The only conversion I can see in the Ipod softare is the AAC conversion unless you are reloading your software. Am I missing something?

I also tried a mp3 disc in the Tribeca and it works very nicely and actually displays the name of the song. To bad the ipod software will only allow you to make a MP3 file out of music that is not AAC, the standard Ipod format.

On the fm modulator I may have been overloading the input. If I turn my ipod volume up over 2/3 the music starts to get muddy if music is complex. Still playing with this to confirm. Also may try a differnt modulator when I have time.
rpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 05:27 PM   #54
rpatton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129348
Join Date: Oct 2006
Vehicle:
2006 tibeca limited

Default electronics in center console 06 tribeca

I think the electronics in the center console are for the Nav system and not the airbags. The box says Denso on it and that is the same name shown on the Nav DVDs.
rpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 06:17 PM   #55
scot3818
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122994
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpatton View Post
I think the electronics in the center console are for the Nav system and not the airbags. The box says Denso on it and that is the same name shown on the Nav DVDs.
Uh, no.

All the nav components are Kenwood. Denso is a massive auto components firm, kind of like the Delphi of Japan:

http://www.denso.co.jp/en/

The box is the Airbag sensing computer. Most certainly NOT something to screw around with, or even install anything near. Denso probably just produces the DVD's for Subaru.
scot3818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 11:33 PM   #56
kmartin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65346
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2012 Outback 3.6 Ltd
Ruby Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpatton View Post
Not sure what you mean about changing the compression. All my files are 44,100 sample rate and the bit rate is 128 - standard cd quality. The only conversion I can see in the Ipod softare is the AAC conversion unless you are reloading your software. Am I missing something?

I also tried a mp3 disc in the Tribeca and it works very nicely and actually displays the name of the song. To bad the ipod software will only allow you to make a MP3 file out of music that is not AAC, the standard Ipod format.

On the fm modulator I may have been overloading the input. If I turn my ipod volume up over 2/3 the music starts to get muddy if music is complex. Still playing with this to confirm. Also may try a differnt modulator when I have time.
Yes, that is standard CD compression. However, I have a few other CDs burned at slightly less that that...they really sound distorted over the FM Mod connection.

My FM Mod has a gain control on it (got it from Crutchfield). I have in turned just slightly less than halfway up, which is pretty well-rounded sound quality. Otherwise I get more distortion.

I'm a music teacher and professional musician by trade :-) FM Mods will not give you CD quality sound, but when the engine is running and the car is moving, you'll have enough background noise that it's quite difficult to distinguish.

-Karen in AZ-
kmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 10:50 AM   #57
kmartin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65346
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2012 Outback 3.6 Ltd
Ruby Red

Default Photos of stereo already posted

Check out the pictures here: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...4&postcount=30

-Karen in AZ-

Last edited by kmartin; 11-11-2006 at 10:55 AM. Reason: Title and URL
kmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 10:51 AM   #58
kmartin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65346
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2012 Outback 3.6 Ltd
Ruby Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldino View Post
Well, as I said above, I have an '06 Tribeca w/o the Rear DVD option and I *DO* have the "RSE/AUX" button on my stereo. This button is pictured and described in the owner's manual and I highly doubt that they have a separate version of the owner's manual for cars with/without the Rear DVD option so I will go out on a limb and say I am 99% sure the button is on all '06 stereos.

As for your comment about getting the stereo to recognize that the ipod is connected to the Rear DVD source input, I agree that could be a challenge. I am hoping that if it sees a signal on one of the audio channels, that will be enough to recognize that there is a device out there. I may be wrong in which case I guess I will be SOL.

For starters, all I want to do is get a cable connected to the back of the stereo so I can start experimenting with the pinouts. To do that, I need to know what kind of connector is back there. I need to know this up front so I can order a suitable cable. I am not knowledgable about stereo installation and so I want to pay a stereo installer to pull the unit, connect a cable, run it out to the console and reinstall the stereo. So back to my original question:

Can anyone tell me what kind of connector(s) are on the back of the '06 factory stereo?

I would be grateful if you would stop speculating whether I can make this work or not and only respond if you can answer my (seemingly?) straightforward question.

Thank you,
goldino
Check out the pictures here: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...4&postcount=30

-Karen in AZ-
kmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 04:55 PM   #59
Archee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132374
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Well Guys I don't have good news. I just called New England Subaru yesterday and they told me that SoA doesn't plan to upgrade the audio system from 06 to 07. Also I called 1 800 SUBARU 3 which is NJ base tech support and they confirmed what NES said and said that if you want to try to put the 07 radios in it it's going to void the warranty. Also they told me there is no plan for adding an extra wire, pin or what ever to make this thing work. She admited that in case of high demand to ipod your becky 06 they would consider to realeas some patch but at this time no way. So, to my understanding we unlucky ones with 06' have to submit a request on www.subaru.com USA part and we have to be followed by many others. I can't tell you one thing right now. If you are music enthus. no fm modulator, transmiter or any other walk around other than hard wire is not going to make us happy. Sat. Radio modulators are using mono signal. What's wrong with these people. I'm not asking for Sat radio direct hookup but once you dummies made the RSEAUX button there have it working. I wonder if some of you with the radio out was trying to play with aux input and put some cables in those empty pins. Btw. SoB doesn't even offer the cable for rear ent. system from radio. We could somehow fix that. Video signal goes to screen so then it's easy. Ground. left right and shield. Please help someone. PLEASE DON"T LAUGH BUT I PUT PC SPEAKERS IN MY BECKY. I CAN"T HANDLE CD"S ANYMORE.
Archee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 10:17 AM   #60
dconway00
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117999
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Vehicle:
2006 B9 Tribeca
Champange

Default

Goldino

Tell me exactly what pics you would like and I will extract my unit once again and send you the pics. If you want pics of the insides let me know that as well

Dennis
Lansing, MI
dconway00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 12:55 PM   #61
rpatton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129348
Join Date: Oct 2006
Vehicle:
2006 tibeca limited

Default aux input and fm modulator

I put in the scosche hard wired modulator and the sound quality was ok on some material and a little less than ok on others. It really wasn't good enough for me to bother hooking up my ipod or satellite radio unless i was really bored. I thought this just doesnt seem like the quality I would expect from a good fm modulator but no one posts performance data for these things.

I went and bought a kenwood modulator off ebay (not made anymore) and put that in. I wanted to see if there was a difference between the old ones that were made to hook in CD players and the scosche. What a difference. The music is now at least as good as a good radio station and seems a little better, but not sure if that is possible.

BTW - Installation was a breeze, about 30 minutes (when I didn't know what I was doing) without having to take radio out or anything because the antenna line and a disconnect are behind the drivers side center kick plate. I purchased the Monster cable braided cover 6' extension and plugged that into the fm modulator and tucked it under the side of the center console (no disassembly required) and ran it up between the drivers seat and the console.

When I am not using it i just tuck it down by the side of the seat. When I want to use it I just pull it out and I can put my ipod or satellite radio in the cup holer, center console, or passenger seat for easy access. The Monster cable braided extension looks nice, not like a bunch of wires. Works for me until the hard wire issue is solved and maybe forever.
rpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 01:51 AM   #62
Archee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132374
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Did anybody play with the Pins. Just to check if they are feeding any audio signal to main speakers and unit. Perhaps RSE recognize that there is an external input. Please give us an echo Thx Archee
Archee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 09:21 AM   #63
scot3818
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122994
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archee View Post
Did anybody play with the Pins. Just to check if they are feeding any audio signal to main speakers and unit. Perhaps RSE recognize that there is an external input. Please give us an echo Thx Archee
Tried all possible combinations. Even tried grounding some of the unknowns in case they were sense lines. Nothing.

I wish someone at Subaru could tell us how to enable the AUX button
scot3818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 04:30 PM   #64
rpatton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129348
Join Date: Oct 2006
Vehicle:
2006 tibeca limited

Default aux input - RSE Button.

Thanks for checking out the possible input connection. I am sure a bunch of us wanted to do it but none of us was able to step up to the plate like you did.

Does anyone know if the RSE button is wired to the radio in the 2006 units without the RSE? It might be a dead button. My discussions on this with a Subaru tech and the parts people were that the RSE may have a different wring harness. Some of the wires that go to the RSE are not on the plugs at the back of the radio, just empty connections.

It doesn't look like the RSE is a dealer installable option. This may mean that the RSE button is not wired to the radio in the units without an RSE. That seems more likely than the radio manufacture having two different radios and subaru stocking both at the mfg plant. One with and one without the aux intput.
rpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 08:55 AM   #65
scot3818
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122994
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpatton View Post
Thanks for checking out the possible input connection. I am sure a bunch of us wanted to do it but none of us was able to step up to the plate like you did.

Does anyone know if the RSE button is wired to the radio in the 2006 units without the RSE? It might be a dead button. My discussions on this with a Subaru tech and the parts people were that the RSE may have a different wring harness. Some of the wires that go to the RSE are not on the plugs at the back of the radio, just empty connections.

It doesn't look like the RSE is a dealer installable option. This may mean that the RSE button is not wired to the radio in the units without an RSE. That seems more likely than the radio manufacture having two different radios and subaru stocking both at the mfg plant. One with and one without the aux intput.
It's wired... Because when I press it when in nav mode I see the CD track number pop up.
scot3818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 09:42 AM   #66
kuoh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 127558
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

It could be +12 instead of ground. I do know for sure that the radio/NAV communicates "to" the RSE. If the RSE monitor is off and you select either the RSE audio or video from the front, the DVD player spins up and picks up where it left off. As soon as you switch both front units off the RSE, the DVD shuts down again. Just don't know whether the signals back and forth are simple on/off or a digital data stream.

KuoH

Quote:
Originally Posted by scot3818 View Post
Tried all possible combinations. Even tried grounding some of the unknowns in case they were sense lines. Nothing.
kuoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 10:42 PM   #67
scot3818
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122994
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuoh View Post
It could be +12 instead of ground. I do know for sure that the radio/NAV communicates "to" the RSE. If the RSE monitor is off and you select either the RSE audio or video from the front, the DVD player spins up and picks up where it left off. As soon as you switch both front units off the RSE, the DVD shuts down again. Just don't know whether the signals back and forth are simple on/off or a digital data stream.

KuoH
Since each component of the system is a different brand, I doubt there is any digital communication. I'm a little scared of putting +12 on unknown connectors, who knows what kind of damage I could do...
scot3818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 08:15 AM   #68
dconway00
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117999
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Vehicle:
2006 B9 Tribeca
Champange

Default Makes you cry - Volvo can do it

Makes you want to cry - IPD, an after market supplier of Volvo stuff, offers just what we are looking for - a plug in connector for an Ipod

http://www.ipdusa.com/ProductsCat.as...762&RootID=629

Seems like Subaru would take the hint.

Dennis
dconway00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:52 AM   #69
daloosecannon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 138087
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default It can be done

It can be done i tested it last night on my 06 and had my Xm radio playing out of the factory stereo using the RSE AUX button
If you strip down a 3.5 mini jack plug you will find 3 wires inside one for power and a left and a right channel the power is red and the other two doesn't matter
if you pull your radio and look at the plug on the top right side you will push the red wire into the empty hole next ro the last wire on the bottom row
that will allow you to switch to RSE on the radio
next you will need to skip one hole on the bottom and then plug in the next two wires in the next two empty holes this will give you stereo sound
You can either run the cable under the console and into the center armrest and poke out the cut out and drill a hole for an mp3 player or you can run two wires like me one for the ipod in the console and then one will come out the top of the dash where the NAV screen is for my xm radio
I will actually install this this weekend and i'll let you know how it goes
daloosecannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 03:38 PM   #70
tombo_m6
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119338
Join Date: Jul 2006
Default

Sweet! Post pics if you can.
tombo_m6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 04:33 PM   #71
scot3818
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122994
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daloosecannon View Post
It can be done i tested it last night on my 06 and had my Xm radio playing out of the factory stereo using the RSE AUX button
If you strip down a 3.5 mini jack plug you will find 3 wires inside one for power and a left and a right channel the power is red and the other two doesn't matter
if you pull your radio and look at the plug on the top right side you will push the red wire into the empty hole next ro the last wire on the bottom row
that will allow you to switch to RSE on the radio
next you will need to skip one hole on the bottom and then plug in the next two wires in the next two empty holes this will give you stereo sound
You can either run the cable under the console and into the center armrest and poke out the cut out and drill a hole for an mp3 player or you can run two wires like me one for the ipod in the console and then one will come out the top of the dash where the NAV screen is for my xm radio
I will actually install this this weekend and i'll let you know how it goes
I'm not sure I understand. You say that in the 3.5mm jack there is power and 2 audio signals, don't you mean GROUND and 2 audio lines?

In this post I have a photo of the connectors:

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...4&postcount=30

Can you tell us exactly which ones you used?
scot3818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 04:39 PM   #72
HB_Dad
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 45190
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Huntington Beach/Ramona, CA
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport L
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daloosecannon View Post
It can be done i tested it last night on my 06 and had my Xm radio playing out of the factory stereo using the RSE AUX button
If you strip down a 3.5 mini jack plug you will find 3 wires inside one for power and a left and a right channel the power is red and the other two doesn't matter
if you pull your radio and look at the plug on the top right side you will push the red wire into the empty hole next ro the last wire on the bottom row
that will allow you to switch to RSE on the radio
next you will need to skip one hole on the bottom and then plug in the next two wires in the next two empty holes this will give you stereo sound
You can either run the cable under the console and into the center armrest and poke out the cut out and drill a hole for an mp3 player or you can run two wires like me one for the ipod in the console and then one will come out the top of the dash where the NAV screen is for my xm radio
I will actually install this this weekend and i'll let you know how it goes

You don't have a Rear-Entertainment system though, do you?

Based on your install idea, I wonder how hard it would be to install a two-line switcher so I can use my Ipod (or other device) on one line or switch to the other line for rear DVD entertainment audio. I need to be able to support both modes in my case. Is there a clean way to do it where it doesn't look like some freaky "Al & Ed's" hack job?
HB_Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:43 PM   #73
kuoh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 127558
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

Going by his description, it sounds like he used pins 13, 15 and 16 on connector I26. Pin 13 is probably the "sense" wire we've been looking for, except it doubles as ground, and 15 & 16 are the left and right input. Apparently, once the radio detects something on the inputs, it automatically enables that function. This may also mean that it won't work unless something is plugged in when the radio powers up.

KuoH

Quote:
Originally Posted by scot3818 View Post
Can you tell us exactly which ones you used?
kuoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:01 PM   #74
actionyoo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125119
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default Pulling the radio

Does anyone know where to find good instructions (maybe with pictures) on how to pull the radio on the 2006 Tribecca?

Thanks
actionyoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 10:24 AM   #75
scot3818
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122994
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by actionyoo View Post
Does anyone know where to find good instructions (maybe with pictures) on how to pull the radio on the 2006 Tribecca?

Thanks
I'm going to pull it (again) today, I'll post photos.

But in essence you do this:

Pull the plastic trim from the passenger side, this is the one just under the airbag and goes from the door all the way to the side of the radio. Remove the screw holding the radio in place.

Pull the plastic trim from the left of the radio (behind the steering wheel), it's a small piece. Remove the screw you found behind it.

Pull the trim from around the gear shifter panel, you can use your fingers but you'll be better off with a gap opener or plastic wedge.

Now remove the entire panel from around the shifter. You'll see the last 2 screws on the bottom of the radio.

Pull the entire center console out, disconnect the wires one at a time. Soon you'll have the entire radio console in your hands.
scot3818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know how to release the pistons in the rear calipers of this vehicle? BGPunk2001 Off-Topic 6 05-16-2009 04:07 PM
Anyone Know How To Tune A 05 Rs In The Hanover Pa Area????? smithrcing17 Open Source Reflashes 14 02-26-2009 06:53 AM
anyone know how to install a aux jack or wire for an iPod? db97 Car Audio, Video & Security 13 12-25-2007 03:45 AM
Anyone know how to install the JDM HIDs in an 04 ? Whiplash Interior & Exterior Modification 0 09-04-2003 04:45 PM
Anyone know how to remove the orange bulb cover in WRX headlamps GenMaster Interior & Exterior Modification 6 02-05-2002 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.