Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 01:50 PM   #1
ChristopherG
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66086
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Aspen White

Default 04+ Open/Closed Loop Problem

Hey guys, I've been researching the open/closed loop problem regarding the 04+ WRX's. I've been running a catless exhaust for about 2 months now without any engine management. According to my EGT gauge, I'm not seeing anything over 1600 degrees. From what I understand, even though I don't see full boost often, I should get some form of engine management to eliminate the open/closed loop problem.

My question is simple, but I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for when I searched. What engine management will help eliminate the delay in the open/closed loop transition on the 04+ WRX's? Will an off-the-shelf Stage II Accessport do the trick, or will I need to get something more custom, like an ECUtek tune?

Thanks, and sorry if the answer is right in front of my face.

Chris
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ChristopherG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 01:58 PM   #2
subbyspeed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16274
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus,OH
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 2.0L vf30
e30 black/rust

Default

AP takes care of it. Stage 1 and up.

I'm pretty sure the other EM's do as well, ecutek,utec, etc.
subbyspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:20 PM   #3
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Pretty much any. UTEC, AP, EcuTek will all do it.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:46 PM   #4
Spiider
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13680
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: DCCDPro.com
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

With the tactrix cable and openecu.org you can fix it yourself for free.
Spiider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:49 PM   #5
ChristopherG
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66086
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2008 STi
Aspen White

Default

Thanks for the concise input guys.
ChristopherG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 09:03 PM   #6
iiiezekieliii
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101624
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2011 F-150 5.0L

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiider
With the tactrix cable and openecu.org you can fix it yourself for free.

i went this route.... w00t
iiiezekieliii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 09:50 PM   #7
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iiiezekieliii
i went this route.... w00t

.....nothing for the '06's yet, though
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 09:57 PM   #8
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

I believe EcuTek flashes are available for 06 WRXs and STIs.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 10:53 PM   #9
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRSCCivic98
I believe EcuTek flashes are available for 06 WRXs and STIs.


....and AP....but nothing like a cable a progie and a laptop
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 04:07 PM   #10
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

I hope to take care of that soon. Does the '06 have the same problem anyway? It's a completely different code base...

Colby

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
.....nothing for the '06's yet, though
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 05:36 PM   #11
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Yes, because due to regulations they are still required to put such a delay in there for emissions reasons.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 08:28 PM   #12
crazymikie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56321
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Honda El Camino
Green

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by colby
I hope to take care of that soon. Does the '06 have the same problem anyway? It's a completely different code base...

Colby
Yes- there is a delay in the 06 wrx- Is the ECU the same on that is used for the 04/05 STi?

If so, i would assume the CL/OL logic is the same as the STi, but with different parameters.

It should be easy enough to remove.

Mike
crazymikie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 07:42 PM   #13
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

I don't have a '06 in my hands right now, but it is basically the same. It is a 1MB flash SH7058 processor. I have a couple of '06 STi/WRX ROMs already..., but I'd like to get an ECU for the bench too... Let me know if you want to poke around and try to find the OL/CL params...

Colby
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 07:58 PM   #14
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

...damn.....I would SO like to NOT have to buy AP for my '06.....

Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with open/closed loop Cyberguy Engine Management & Tuning 13 06-06-2009 02:40 PM
Can anyone explain the 04-05 closed loop/open loop lean cond.? boxxxer Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 05-11-2005 10:00 PM
04 WRX open loop/closed loop problem -- should I be concerned? perret318 Newbies & FAQs 2 05-03-2005 06:38 PM
2004 open/closed loop question nate49509 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 14 03-24-2004 06:35 PM
at wat RPM does MAP cars switch open/closed loop? wistful Normally Aspirated Powertrain 4 10-14-2001 04:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.