Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 6, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2006, 12:05 AM   #1
JDM 3SGTE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35479
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004
Aspen White

Default timing needs retune after changing to colder plugs?

i changed my plugs tonight to one step colder, copper, ngks gapped at .028. i had planned on going out to tune later in the week to advance a little more timing. well i took it out for a spin after the install, just to make sure everything was running ok. first thing i noticed when i started the car was that the idle was noticably smoother. second thing i noticed was that the car felt slower. i spent a few nights last week tuning so what it felt like before the colder plugs is still fresh in my mind.

i knew the colder plugs would give me more room to advance timing here and there but didnt realize they would change how the car felt otherwise. will i not be reaping the benefits of colder plugs until i retune my timing map??

another thing, saw this on scoobymods after i was done with the install.
"Also, remember to reattach the ground wire on the passenger side coil screw. I think it is somthing easily forgotton as I did and then you will have to remove your airbox to reattach it."
i dont remember unattaching a ground wire when removing either of the passenger side coilpacks. what ground wire is being refered to here? if i did remove a ground and forgot about it, i figure that could be the problem.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
JDM 3SGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-09-2006, 01:53 AM   #2
wall of tvs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29716
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2006 wrx wagon
booze powered e85 monster

Default

I just replaced my plugs last weekend, and NEVER saw anything that resembled a gound wire attached to any of the coilpacks.

There is, however, a bracket that routes the front o2 sensor wire that is held in place by the bolt for the #3 coilpack on the pass. side.

2004 WRX
wall of tvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 04:12 PM   #3
JDM 3SGTE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35479
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004
Aspen White

Default

my stock plugs were gapped at .032 and the new ones are gapped at .028.
JDM 3SGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 04:36 PM   #4
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

I'd think a colder plug would idle worse and perform better under high load... ???
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 09:08 AM   #5
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

crazymikie changed plugs and had to retune. maybe he can chime in. iirc he got some knock where he did not previously have any.
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 07:27 PM   #6
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ride5000
crazymikie changed plugs and had to retune. maybe he can chime in. iirc he got some knock where he did not previously have any.
Read that jblaine thread too, he talks about the "noise" increase he saw on knock sensor with colder plugs. It was a wierd thread.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
`do You Need Retune After Installing Catch Can Set To Atmosfere casper64 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 42 08-21-2009 01:39 AM
Rough idle after changing out spark plugs, help? ctkeith Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 9 05-07-2009 08:57 AM
STG2+ STi: any benefit to colder plugs & fuel pump? overdose Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 16 05-07-2007 03:21 PM
Whining noise after change to stock BOV STIRS Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 05-30-2006 05:11 PM
Knock after 1-step colder plugs? SJwrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 10-22-2003 03:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.