Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2006, 07:02 PM   #1
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default anybody here have a V5

hey i am looking for anybody that has a V5 WRX or STI. the reason is i am having a hard time figuring out which maf i need because my motor didnt come with one. oh yea my motor is V5 STI RA. so if anybody has a V5 an would be nice enough to give me the part number off the maf it would be awesome.

thanks
mohamed
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 09:09 PM   #2
JeremyRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65126
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manchester NH
Vehicle:
00 Leggy Wagon
99 Silverado, 06 HD

Default

22680 aa 301 Good luck!
JeremyRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 09:22 PM   #3
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyRS
22680 aa 301 Good luck!
hey do you know how many volts that maf you have gets when running???
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 10:16 PM   #4
swapstar
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 102779
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: JDM land filling a container
Vehicle:
1998 PM if u need
JDM bits.....

Default

its the same pn as 99 2.5rs supposedly.
swapstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 11:15 PM   #5
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

humm...does anybody know what voltage that runs at when the car is idiling. mine is susposed to be inbetween 1.0 and 1.7

thanks guys!!
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 11:31 PM   #6
Scoobie Steve
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2289
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor, PA
Vehicle:
1998 11.87@112mph
Subaru L Ver 6 STi Type R

Default

What maf are you running?

1.7v sounds about right for idle
Scoobie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:00 AM   #7
svek
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 82259
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: koledge at csus
Vehicle:
1999 impreza 2.2L
Brilliant Red <4EAT Club>

Default

i think powerlabs does...could be wrong
svek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:02 AM   #8
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

my motor didnt come with a maf so i picked up a 1.8 maf that my buddy had an tried that but, its not working. an the reason its not is that the 1.8 maf, while the car is running is susposed to be in between like, this is not exact, but .7 to 1.3 an the matrix in the diagrams i have for the V5 are susposed to be in betwee 1.0 an 1.7 so it cuts out. then also i would have though i USDM WRX maf would have worked so i bought one of those for cheap, however that is a 5 wire an mine only has 4 wires. however the WRX maf in theory should work because the voltage on that is a much larger range, somethng like .8 to 4.5 or somthing close to that.
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:04 AM   #9
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svek
i think powerlabs does...could be wrong
yea i e-mailed powerlabs a couple days ago, an havent hurd back from him yet. he has always in the past gotten back to me pretty quick, bu i havent hurd from him yet. an i really want to figure it out so i can drive m car!!!

thanks
mohamed
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 07:39 PM   #10
Scoobie Steve
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2289
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor, PA
Vehicle:
1998 11.87@112mph
Subaru L Ver 6 STi Type R

Default

I have posted extensively about the Ver 5/6 MAF. There isnt anything in the US that will work. The sensor itself is the same as a 1999 RS but the MAF tube is bigger then the USDM wrx or any other subaru made in the US. You need to contact a JDM importer and get the correct MAF for your car. If you dont get the correct MAF you will destroy your engine, these cars are finely tuned and run on the edge of det even with good gas. I cant express enough how important this is!
Scoobie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 07:40 PM   #11
JeremyRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65126
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manchester NH
Vehicle:
00 Leggy Wagon
99 Silverado, 06 HD

Default

I gave that part number to the dealer because mine has a crack in it, and they told me that it wasnt a good number, so I dont think you can use a 1.8 or any US spec maf
JeremyRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 04:33 AM   #12
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

yea i went to the dealer today an they told me that same thing. do you know a good jdm importer to get this part from???
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 06:24 AM   #13
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobie Steve
I have posted extensively about the Ver 5/6 MAF. There isnt anything in the US that will work. The sensor itself is the same as a 1999 RS but the MAF tube is bigger then the USDM wrx or any other subaru made in the US. You need to contact a JDM importer and get the correct MAF for your car. If you dont get the correct MAF you will destroy your engine, these cars are finely tuned and run on the edge of det even with good gas. I cant express enough how important this is!
also i called miles the guy at fineline imports, an he is saying that a maf off a 93 turbo legacy would work. what do you think about that???
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 01:09 PM   #14
Scoobie Steve
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2289
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor, PA
Vehicle:
1998 11.87@112mph
Subaru L Ver 6 STi Type R

Default

That is one of the dumbest things I have ever heard. They are not even close! The STi MAF is nearly twice the size of the legacy unit. Its hard to see in the pics but you can tell they are mounted completely different.




Last edited by Scoobie Steve; 01-08-2006 at 07:14 PM.
Scoobie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 06:11 PM   #15
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

ok then do you know an importer that i can get one from????

thanks
mohamed
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 09:42 PM   #16
JeremyRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65126
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manchester NH
Vehicle:
00 Leggy Wagon
99 Silverado, 06 HD

Default

JeremyRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 10:35 PM   #17
egytian2.5rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96664
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: salt lake city, utah
Vehicle:
V5 STI RA

Default

so is the only reason the turbo legacy maf wont work is because it wont mount????

Last edited by egytian2.5rs; 01-09-2006 at 02:22 AM.
egytian2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:44 AM   #18
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by egytian2.5rs
so is the only reason the turbo legacy maf wont work is because it wont mount????
i think the thing you are missing is that the size of the tube is just as important as the sensor.. the car may start but the tune will be compleatly off

get the right part
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:57 AM   #19
powerlabs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 45790
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
2006 Corvette C6 Z51
SUPERCHARGED

Default

ScoobySteve is right on, as usual. The sensor from a 1999 2.5RS does work; I have tried it. If you don't have the tube (I didn't think of that when I replied your e-mail) then you will have to find it from a non US-source; it is a lot bigger than USDM WRX and STI; look at the elbow comming from the turbocharger inlet to the MAF sensor; on all USDM cars it carries the same diameter all the way from the turbo inlet, to the sensor, to the airbox. On the JDM engine it widens out to meet a larger MAF:

powerlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anybody here have a V5 egytian2.5rs Impreza Forum 4 01-06-2006 11:16 PM
Anybody here have a GReddy boost controller? WRXMod Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 6 06-28-2001 12:37 PM
Anybody here have the Rallispec turbo Setup?? TR Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 04-17-2001 01:53 AM
anybody here have a Greddy front lip spoiler? subpreza Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 10 03-20-2001 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.