Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 3, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Service & Maintenance

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2006, 07:55 PM   #1
WRXtranceformed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79322
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2007 Acura TL-Hype S
ASM

Default CEL P0103 and loose hoses (image heavy)

So, after a fresh tune I'm driving home later the next night, hit WOT and boom, it feels like I hit a rev-limiter. CEL goes on... P0103, MAF high output. I reset the ECU, it feels good for one pull, then CEL comes back on during the next upshift. I limp it home, park it and wait to look at it tonight. Here's what I found heh.



Those two hoses are completely loose, one had oil in it and there's oil all over the top of my motor.

Here's where the one in the foreground originates:


And here's where the one in the background originates:


This hose as well was off, it's the looped one showed reconnected here:


Additionally, this wire was loose, but may not be needed.. but I noticed it while I was looking so I thought I'd throw it up anyhow.

It's connected to a circuit similar to this one, with a bunch of others connected together:


Unfortunately, I didn't build this car up like my last one, so I'm not too sure what's going on with the hoses or what their functions are. The setup is a GT35R UR kit with FMIC and a blow-through MAF. Any help would be appreciated on how to put this back together safely, because I have a long drive next week. And this is what I'd really like to avoid:
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
WRXtranceformed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-09-2006, 07:59 PM   #2
Chav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3269
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS Sedan STM
RSTi

Default

I can help you with the blue wires. They look to be a grounding kit. You can reattach it to a clean bolt on the strut tower or remove it completely.

-Chav
Chav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 08:08 PM   #3
WRXtranceformed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79322
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2007 Acura TL-Hype S
ASM

Default

Nice, thanks for the info ^_^ I'm getting word from a good friend of mine that the other two hoses in the one picture could be to the wastegate actuator, and since two different sizes were used, whatever was connecting them could have asploded.
WRXtranceformed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 11:15 PM   #4
WRXtranceformed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79322
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2007 Acura TL-Hype S
ASM

Default

The original owner Bo helped me out a lot in pinning down some of the stuff going on here. The two hoses in the first picture are normally connected on a car with the stock turbo, but are fine to be open to the air on this setup. The small looped hose in the 4th picture is IMO most likely the culprit. It's coming right out the back of the intake manifold and is right above the spot where a bunch of oil has pooled on top of the engine. I reconnected it, will ziptie it, check the oil and intercooler hose connections, then see how it feels tomorrow.
WRXtranceformed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 02:24 AM   #5
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXtranceformed
The original owner Bo helped me out a lot in pinning down some of the stuff going on here. The two hoses in the first picture are normally connected on a car with the stock turbo, but are fine to be open to the air on this setup. The small looped hose in the 4th picture is IMO most likely the culprit. It's coming right out the back of the intake manifold and is right above the spot where a bunch of oil has pooled on top of the engine. I reconnected it, will ziptie it, check the oil and intercooler hose connections, then see how it feels tomorrow.
NO HOSE WITH VACUUM SHOULD BE OPEN TO ATMOSPHERE, sorry but that is a BAD IDEA. That means that A) you are allowing unmetered air to enter the motor and B) you are allowing unfiltered air to enter the motor.
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 06:56 PM   #6
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4401 Procorpio Dr.
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

No before pics?

I'm still not sure where the oil originated from. Itdidnt originate at the intake, thats for sure.

Do you have another car?
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:38 PM   #7
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HndaTch627
NO HOSE WITH VACUUM SHOULD BE OPEN TO ATMOSPHERE, sorry but that is a BAD IDEA. That means that A) you are allowing unmetered air to enter the motor and B) you are allowing unfiltered air to enter the motor.
^^^^^


....yeah bad juju, here......ya gots ta get all that re-pluged together right and do NOT drive the car hard----minimum boost....until ya get it all done.

...and your 'fresh tune' was a 'fresh waste' of whatever ya payed for it 'cuz with all that borked, it 'aint runnin right---no way, no how
Uncle Scotty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 08:30 PM   #8
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Um, the open hose looks like a blowby hose from the pcv valve venting crankcase pressure or such back into the stock intake for combustion as a means to reduce emissions. People often connect that to an oil catch can which is why there is oil there, and since you do not have a stock intake, there is no place to connect that hose.
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:25 PM   #9
WRXtranceformed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79322
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2007 Acura TL-Hype S
ASM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theicewall
Um, the open hose looks like a blowby hose from the pcv valve venting crankcase pressure or such back into the stock intake for combustion as a means to reduce emissions. People often connect that to an oil catch can which is why there is oil there, and since you do not have a stock intake, there is no place to connect that hose.
Yeah my mechanic confirmed this tonight. So I'm going to either a) buy and install a catch can at some point or b) find a longer hose and let it drip out of the bottom of the car =p Kidding, I'd prefer the catch can idea. Any clue about the smaller one on the front of the intake manifold? He didn't find any vacuum leak around it, so again, it could be emissions related.
WRXtranceformed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 10:11 PM   #10
WRXtranceformed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79322
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2007 Acura TL-Hype S
ASM

Default

So I removed the grounding kit and the idle feels a lot better actually. I reset the ECU beforehand, then took it for a test drive. Car feels great, runs strong, good torque until I start to build up into the turbo. At about 6psi the car just jerks like it's hitting a brick wall over and over. I can't give it any more gas after that point. MAF sensor could be fried? I have a WRX parked right next to this car, I might try swapping out the MAF sensors between the two cars and see if that helps. Again, anyone have any experience with this or have any suggestions?

Keep in mind we weren't able to find any leaks of any kind, pre or post MAF. TurboXS suggested that the MAF ground or the connection between the MAF and ECU could be bad.
WRXtranceformed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 11:39 AM   #11
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Can you run the stock intake with that turbo, im not that familiar with that turbo setup other than that it has a ton of peak power and a bit of lag. Just to figure out problems you could try that. Also, not that this would be the problem but do you have a CEL fix uppipe resistor?
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 08:03 PM   #12
WRXtranceformed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79322
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2007 Acura TL-Hype S
ASM

Default

Fixed for now =D
WRXtranceformed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 04:53 PM   #13
jbotage9er
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85193
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MD
Default

good that is what I like to hear. let me know if you are ever up in batimore I want a ride.
jbotage9er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:50 AM   #14
2phless
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69343
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 'tween Lewisville&Clemmons NC
Vehicle:
1998 TransAm cnvrtbl
Black

Default

Both of those large hoses vent to post-metered atmosphere. They plugged into the stock turbo inlet hose, between the turbo and after the MAF. The small one back by the throttle either runs to the recirc valve or to the fuel pressure regulator (a round brass colored "can" with a couple of fuel lines running to it.) It looks right as is.

The oil presence might mean that you should look into a catch can setup. Your extra boost is pushing it out of the crank-case more than stock.
2phless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STi Pink Injectors, Injen IC/IM hose hvymetal86 Engine/Power/Exhaust 45 12-02-2012 09:46 AM
cel p0103 and p0113 - input? dehsiung Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 8 08-22-2009 03:55 PM
swapped to modified deatschwerk injectors - now CEL codes p0103 and p0113? anthonyrb98 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 11-23-2006 03:07 PM
cel p0103 what to do? ted@mb Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 10-16-2006 04:54 PM
Cel P0103 jskho Service & Maintenance 8 05-05-2005 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.