Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday November 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Unhappy COBB AccessPORT Stage 1: Disappointment

First off, don't let my thread defer anyone from buying an AccessPORT. This is a fine product and I've always heard great things about it. I'm sure my problem is most likely an isolated incident. With that being said....


I finally got my AP installed tonight after two nights' frustrations (computer troubles).

Anyway, I had to marry my AP to the car with a Stage 2 base map because that's all the previous owner had for base maps. After I got a Stage 1 base map onto the AP, I reflashed the ECU again with the Stage 1 map that I downloaded from Cobb's website.

After that, I took the car for a drive and it felt exactly the same. No torque down low, engine is still rough, and I'm actually hitting LESS boost than I did stock. After my drive I plugged the AP back into the car to make sure that the stage 1 map was actually installed, and it was.

So what's the deal? I honestly feel zero difference between this and stock.

-Matt
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 09:40 PM   #2
supermarkus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6971
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
SSM

Default

You're familiar with the need for the ECU to re-learn fueling and timing?
supermarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 09:41 PM   #3
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Yep. But there should still be a noticable difference right after a reflash, right?
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 09:46 PM   #4
darksands
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75122
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Im in a glass case of emotion
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX
Crystal Gray

Default

There is not much difference with stage 1. The delay is better and it should be a bit smoother. What other mods have you done to your car? Dramatic differences happen when you get rid of the cats.

The accessport doesnt need to be pluged in to tell you what map you have on the car. All that function tells you is the previous base map you have installed with the accessport. If you plug your accessport onto someone elses car with stage 2, your access port will say stage 1 because thats the last base map you flashed with the accessport.
darksands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 09:49 PM   #5
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Car is completely stock. Should be replacing the UP/DP and going stage 2 within a week or two.

But the engine doesn't even feel smoother, regardless of the power.

-Matt
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 09:54 PM   #6
Brahmzy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3293
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: CO
Vehicle:
'14 FXT-T

Default

Never did the Stage 1 thing.....

Just get catless Stage2, Protune and be done.
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:00 PM   #7
Austin-Sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85184
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: austin
Vehicle:
2007 STi OBP sold
08 Speed3

Default

my stage 2 ap hauls ass, it will spin the tires from a punch on cold mornings and is exceptionally smooth. my mods are : Invidia v3 dp no cats, magnaflow ti no resonator, and stock intake including the intake silencer. my best time is 12.9 @ 104 and 60' was 1.74.(the car has more in it I just need practice) The car has way more up top and I know this because I've walked a c6 from a punch. I'm sorry your ap is giving you troubles but I have nothing but praise for them
Austin-Sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:01 PM   #8
yobtah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 48939
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lenexa, KS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDell
Car is completely stock. Should be replacing the UP/DP and going stage 2 within a week or two.

But the engine doesn't even feel smoother, regardless of the power.

-Matt
Possibly bad gas? Do you have any way to datalog the car? You might want to get more information on what's happening before you try to push more power. If something's wrong (not flowing enough fuel, bad sensor, etc), you should fix it before trying to make more power.
yobtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:01 PM   #9
darksands
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75122
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Im in a glass case of emotion
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX
Crystal Gray

Default

did you get the car used? New? Is the map 04 or 05? They are different. Or maybe your one of those guys that are super sensitive or someone overhyped the AccessPort for you.

If you do go stage 2, I suggest you get a full turboback exhaust rather than just a DP. My experience with Stage 2 with downpipe and stock catback was high EGT's at WOT. High as in 1600 degrees+ high. Went away after I went with aftermarket catback. On top of the high EGT's you may not hit target boost<-- That has been stated by COBB.
darksands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:12 PM   #10
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Shouldn't be bad gas. I filled up with 94 octane from Sunoco yesterday in anticipation of the AP. I'm not sure how to datalog... what's involved with that?

I've been the only owner of the car (for two years) and I've never done a mod on it until now. I did download the 2004 maps, I'm fairly certain of that. And I'm definitely not overhyped, I've done my best to tell myself not to expect much from this upgrade.

But seriously, the car feels completely stock still.

-Matt
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:17 PM   #11
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Guys, tell me if this might have anything to do with it. Ever since I installed my boost gauge, the car has made a... I guess you could say "loud fluttering sound".. around 4K to 5K RPMs. I don't know what the source of that could be, but I'm on my 2nd boost gauge and it's done it on both of them.

-Matt
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:24 PM   #12
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

What boost are you running?

So, If I read your first post right, you have reflashed your ECU three times now.

Are you sure your changing the base map?

Not all cars are mechanincally the same you know. If your running low boost that will be your first step to the right drive.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:28 PM   #13
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Not sure what that means "What boost are you running?" I'm hitting about .09 MPa in 3rd gear, around .06 MPa in 2nd.

I've reflashed twice. Once to marry (had to do Stage 2), and then once again to flash the base map as Stage 1.

Very much sure I'm changing the base map.


-Matt
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:37 PM   #14
intence
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 58477
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
. Member #1 of
the witty MS Crew

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDell
First off, don't let my thread defer anyone from buying an AccessPORT. This is a fine product and I've always heard great things about it. I'm sure my problem is most likely an isolated incident. With that being said....


I finally got my AP installed tonight after two nights' frustrations (computer troubles).

Anyway, I had to marry my AP to the car with a Stage 2 base map because that's all the previous owner had for base maps. After I got a Stage 1 base map onto the AP, I reflashed the ECU again with the Stage 1 map that I downloaded from Cobb's website.

After that, I took the car for a drive and it felt exactly the same. No torque down low, engine is still rough, and I'm actually hitting LESS boost than I did stock. After my drive I plugged the AP back into the car to make sure that the stage 1 map was actually installed, and it was.

So what's the deal? I honestly feel zero difference between this and stock.

-Matt
i was in your shoes when i flashed to stage 1. it sucked ass in my opinion. i thought i didnt feel a difference at all. i left it like that for like a few weeks. so when i was driving one day i reflashed to stock and went WOT then reflashed to stage 1 and went WOT and it did pull a little harder. i really expected the AP to cure the hesitations and bucking down low but nope it didnt help.

im now at stage 2 and its a hell of a lot better. i have proven numbers so i know my car is running good. i say make sure you have the latest maps and software. and if youre wallet is deep get an uppipe and downpipe or TBE. its a whole new world. honestly stage 1 is a joke and all hype.
intence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:56 PM   #15
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Would it help if I loaded the Stage 1 realtime map?


-Matt
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 11:00 PM   #16
intence
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 58477
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
. Member #1 of
the witty MS Crew

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDell
Would it help if I loaded the Stage 1 realtime map?


-Matt
sure why not. i load both the base and realtime to be on the safe side. try the vishnu reset while youre at it too.
intence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 11:03 PM   #17
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Vishnu reset?
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 11:10 PM   #18
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

....you may have borked something that is causing your issues....especially if you didn't install the line to the gauge properly
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 11:27 PM   #19
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
....you may have borked something that is causing your issues....especially if you didn't install the line to the gauge properly
I wouldn't be too surprised. I'll check it out this weekend.
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 11:52 PM   #20
darksands
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75122
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Im in a glass case of emotion
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX
Crystal Gray

Default

I would also suggest that you check the place you tapped in your boost gauge. Did you hear the fluttering sound before boost gauge install? Goodluck with your AP issue. And even on the STi's, stage 1 is not noticable. Stage 2 however... Those cats really do hinder performance.
darksands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 02:18 AM   #21
intence
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 58477
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
. Member #1 of
the witty MS Crew

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDell
Vishnu reset?
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=302047
intence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 03:14 AM   #22
twentynine
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96176
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
'05 WRX

Default

Don't worry, I felt the same way about stage 1. It was a little smoother, but I wasn't floored by the performance gains or anything like that. Going to stage 2 was definitely a noticeable improvement, but I think I'm getting used to that too. The quest for more power never ends heh.
twentynine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 05:38 AM   #23
02WHITEDUB
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96793
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
02 ProTuned TD04
Now with more clunks!

Default

I did notice a big difference in my stage 1 reflash, stage 2 was another great kick in the ass. My AP worked exactly as expected!
02WHITEDUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 09:57 AM   #24
Corkfish
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39503
Join Date: Jul 2003
Default

Since you bought a used AP and had to download maps etc, maybe something went wrong during all of the downloading/umarrying.
Corkfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 10:14 AM   #25
Vampyr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31761
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Vehicle:
2005 sold! STi
Aspen White w/ Gold rims

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin-Sti
my stage 2 ap hauls ass, it will spin the tires from a punch on cold mornings and is exceptionally smooth. my mods are : Invidia v3 dp no cats, magnaflow ti no resonator, and stock intake including the intake silencer. my best time is 12.9 @ 104 and 60' was 1.74.(the car has more in it I just need practice) The car has way more up top and I know this because I've walked a c6 from a punch. I'm sorry your ap is giving you troubles but I have nothing but praise for them
12.9?

Gotta a copy of your timeslip? What tires are you using? How are you coming off the line?(blipping the throttle? what rpm do you lauch at?)
Vampyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb Accessport Stage 1 to Stage 2? wrx2k4blue Engine Management & Tuning 13 08-13-2004 08:56 PM
Is Cobb AccessPORT Stage 1 worth it?? wrxfx Engine Management & Tuning 14 08-05-2004 09:51 AM
TurboXS Stealthback w Cobb Accessport Stage 2? Opinions? claudio Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 07-30-2004 01:21 PM
Cobb AccessPort Stage 1 - Please post 1/4 mile results WRexxer Engine Management & Tuning 3 05-24-2004 04:33 PM
Cobb AccessPort Stage 2 vs Vishnu Stage 1 pDXZ Engine Management & Tuning 3 04-28-2004 06:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.