Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2006, 03:25 PM   #1
Norcalrallyist
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15510
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, Tx. USA
Vehicle:
1993 MY94 WRX

Default Questions about swapping jdm

I read that the subie harness is chassis and engine combined into one harness. So If I bought a version 1 front clip and was planning to put it in a 93-94 front clip, would I have to use any part of the US harness? Id have the ecu harness engine transmission from the donor car and I was thinking I might have to extend the harness because its RHD not LHD but Im hoping I wont have to start hacking up two harness and combining them to get it to work. Just trying to do my homework before I go buy this clip.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Norcalrallyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 12:35 AM   #2
suberdave
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 101865
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Covington, WA
Vehicle:
88 GL-10 STi
silver

Default

on the JDM harnisses the engine is not intergrated into the body like the USDM cars. when the clip is cut, you can still start and run the engine like everything is still a whole car.

as for longer wires. i would just find a new location for the ECM.

i just did a 96 JDM swap into an 88 GL wagon, and i put the ECM under the dash on the drivers side. without cutting any wires.

-=Suberdave=-
suberdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 12:54 AM   #3
scobaru
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 31345
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wisconsin
Vehicle:
05 LGT, GC8, NA
blue, white, blue

Default

you don't have to extend ALL of hte wires just some... the older subies I believe the engine and body are 2 different harnesses. I bought a front clip... its the right way to go
scobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 06:10 PM   #4
Norcalrallyist
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15510
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, Tx. USA
Vehicle:
1993 MY94 WRX

Default

But I will still have to integrate the jdm harness into my US harness correct? Or more like integrate the US harness into the jdm harness since ill be using the jdm ecu.
Norcalrallyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 01:01 AM   #5
josh...just josh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82273
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: little creek naval base, VA
Vehicle:
97 impreza L
now with wrx brake love!!

Default

i guess i've never really understood why you cant just pull out the stock car's engine harness (or leave it in and unplugged for that matter) , put the jdm motor in, and wire the jdm engine harness to the jdm ecu ( and find a nice home for the ecu under the hood to make things even easier). i would imagine that the only things that you would have to wire into the car itself would be input for the coolant temp, tach, and oil pressure (all of which you could do without). you could wire in the few things from the car's harness that you might need (like the power steering pressure sensor). since jdm cars dont do emissions crap and niether does iowa i could just rid myself of all the stuff present on the car. i know that there is prob a million holes with this, but im just a noob really.
josh...just josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 06:03 AM   #6
swapstar
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 102779
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: JDM land filling a container
Vehicle:
1998 PM if u need
JDM bits.....

Default

the first swap i did was just that. we removed the complete usdm harness, and then put the JDM RHD harness into the LHD car. we fit in teh mechanical bits, and fit the harness per JDM diagram. then the job was to extend the stuff to reach - i.e. dash harness on the proper side, fuesbox not on your foot, ecu to the Airbag placement, etc etc.

its not bad. just takes some patience and alot of soldering.
swapstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:34 PM   #7
Norcalrallyist
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15510
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, Tx. USA
Vehicle:
1993 MY94 WRX

Default

But its bound to be easier than hacking up 2 harness and combining them right?
Norcalrallyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 03:02 PM   #8
swapstar
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 102779
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: JDM land filling a container
Vehicle:
1998 PM if u need
JDM bits.....

Default

perhaps. perhaps not. but i think it is.
swapstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 04:28 PM   #9
tweakling
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33072
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Centreville, VA
Vehicle:
'95 EJ20g v1 STI RA
BRP, 2001 GC8 chassis

Default

The guys that did the wiring for my v2 swap had to combine the harnesses.
tweakling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 05:10 PM   #10
zphantom
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35024
Join Date: Apr 2003
Default

I did my 94 wagon to 97 JDM and it was not bad once I got the pinning of the ecu and the diagrams for both cars. You definately want to combine the harnesses. The 94 actually had 2 harnesses one for the engine and the other for the rest of the car.
So you really only need to hack the engine harness of the USDM car and then
tie in the misc items (temp, tach, Speed sensor (very important), etc) from the ecu to the other loom in the car. All and all about 17 wires.
zphantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 questions about swap Gurus needed!! sidewayz Subaru Conversions 6 02-17-2006 02:06 AM
Questions about swapping ECUTEK ECU's B16A2NR Engine Management & Tuning 3 01-22-2006 09:43 PM
question about swapping a 2.0 for a 2.0 BlackoutWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 03-25-2005 02:39 AM
Questions about swapping in V4-V6 5mt's into V7. AZScoobie Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 12-29-2003 08:23 PM
Question about swapping in JDM EJ20 turbo engine and gasoline requirements edkwon Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 08-20-2001 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.