Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2006, 10:53 PM   #1
doubleurx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64024
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: truckee, ca
Vehicle:
03 996 TT, 964 C4
salt and pepper

Default When will ECUtek step up to the plate?

Why hasn't ECUtek made any or at least announced any effort in upgrading their tuning software to compete with Cobbs map switching abilities and other features (remote tuning, downloadable maps, CEL reading......etc). Personally my STI is tuned with ECUtek; and while it is tuned very well, I would love to have the abilities that COBB users are currently offered.

Maybe we need more posting on ECUtek's need to update their product for them to hear it.

Any thoughts or new info?

Or should this thread just die and we all eventually fall to the monopoly that will be Cobb.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
doubleurx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 10:58 PM   #2
ravi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37597
Join Date: May 2003
Location: charleston, sc
Vehicle:
2004 STi w/fp green

Default

^^i am in your same situation. i guess alot of guys are dumping the ecuteks for the street tuner. ecutek was supposed to come out with some new stuff this winter from what i heard.. didnt happen.

For what i need it for ecutek will still work, but if i had known more about the cobb product, i wouldnt have spent the clams on ecutek. I guess since i had good reults with my old wrx, that i use dit on the sti
ravi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:01 PM   #3
fqsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104664
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: NC
Vehicle:
07 STI
Black

Default

cobb sucks copared to ecuteck but switching maps would be nice I might go with uteck
fqsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:07 PM   #4
doubleurx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64024
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: truckee, ca
Vehicle:
03 996 TT, 964 C4
salt and pepper

Default

I also heard they were coming out with something through multiple searches. I'm just trying to stir the pot in hopes of either a reaction or an update on some past threads that just died. I didn't mention Utec or hyrda, because I no nothing about them.

As far as Cobb sucks compared to ecutek - in what way? I have several friends with Cobb and they are very happy. They have also put down nearly identical numbers to cars tuned with ecutek with similar mods / same dyno. I have also heard tuners mention how much they prefer Cobb protuner to ECutek for a variety of reasons including license transfer making the Cobb AP sellable as a used product.
doubleurx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:14 PM   #5
txjunglist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11926
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Allen, Tx
Vehicle:
2011 Outback Limited
Dark Grey

Default

I run ecutek and utec... I have multiple maps 6 to be exact... might think about that. but yes the whole user interface would be a nice addition to the ecutek. I know delta dash does a little bit of that . just not sure how much.
txjunglist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:00 AM   #6
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Although ECUTEK does lack an interface... ECUTEK clearly has an advantage. Cobb has about 50% of the maps available that ECUTEK has. The response and drivability that you get with ECUTEK may be attainable with Cobb products, but it would take significantly more time to get to that level. Subaru's have a very sophisticated ECU compared to say Mitsubishi's... and you need software that can take advantage of the extra maps etc.... also, ECUTEK you can now convert to MAP sensors which you can't do with Cobb. I'm sure others can chime in on ECUTEK.
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:08 AM   #7
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

haha. IMO cobb is far ahead of ecutek. . .did you notice the ST was released before protuner? ECUtek is still claiming to release their user tunable (read real usertunable) verison. . .
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:33 AM   #8
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
haha. IMO cobb is far ahead of ecutek. . .did you notice the ST was released before protuner? ECUtek is still claiming to release their user tunable (read real usertunable) verison. . .
That has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that the flash software that ECUTEK has is far superior to anything Cobb has. They just haven't released the user version yet. Do you see the difference? haha.
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:33 AM   #9
txjunglist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11926
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Allen, Tx
Vehicle:
2011 Outback Limited
Dark Grey

Default

not far ahead... it takes like 20 mins to flash with cobb and 3-4 to flash with ecutek... there is some speed issues with cobb for sure.
txjunglist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:40 AM   #10
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txjunglist
not far ahead... it takes like 20 mins to flash with cobb and 3-4 to flash with ecutek... there is some speed issues with cobb for sure.
That is because Cobb totally rewrites the whole ECU to be able to use Live tuning. ECUtek has to reflash to tune, Cobb can use offsets in the RAM so you don't use as many flashes. After the initial reflash the Cobb is at least as fast as ECUtek. As far as maps The ProTuner has just as many maps as ECUtek. It is StreetTuner that has the maps limited.

<-- Has Cobb StreetTuner under a Utec.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:42 AM   #11
Jim Lewis
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92551
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Collegeville, PA
Vehicle:
2005 Saab 9-2X
Black

Default

The only differnce I'm seeing here is totally non-scientific - if one guy bought a Cobb system, then of course, it's the best. If another guy bought the Ecutek license, then of course, it's the best.

That's like saying a Honda is better than a Toyota, based on you owning a Honda.

I went the Ecutek route, the tuner was actualy able to program over OEM ECM throttle tip-in response faults that were there all along, so Ecutek must be the best. I have no use for multiple maps, my car pulls like a freight train, and I'm very happy with my choice.
Jim Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 10:03 AM   #12
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

Anyone care to site examples of what maps one or the other supports that the competitor does not? I see that posted a lot, going both ways, but never with examples...

I know each has a few of their own "hacks" (like Cobb realtime mapping, map switching, Ecutek two-step rev limiter, etc), but I have a hard time believing one or the other is missing too much of the factory ECU mapping. It is known that Streettuner leaves some out that Protuner does have, but Ecutek has no product at all to compete with ST. I can't see how one can twist that into a negative for Cobb. Apples, oranges, and soforth.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:01 PM   #13
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadScientist
That is because Cobb totally rewrites the whole ECU to be able to use Live tuning. ECUtek has to reflash to tune, Cobb can use offsets in the RAM so you don't use as many flashes. After the initial reflash the Cobb is at least as fast as ECUtek. As far as maps The ProTuner has just as many maps as ECUtek. It is StreetTuner that has the maps limited.

<-- Has Cobb StreetTuner under a Utec.

TMS
Again, this is apples and oranges. Until ECUTEK releases a user version then you can compare flash times.

-B
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:05 PM   #14
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freon
Anyone care to site examples of what maps one or the other supports that the competitor does not? I see that posted a lot, going both ways, but never with examples...

I know each has a few of their own "hacks" (like Cobb realtime mapping, map switching, Ecutek two-step rev limiter, etc), but I have a hard time believing one or the other is missing too much of the factory ECU mapping. It is known that Streettuner leaves some out that Protuner does have, but Ecutek has no product at all to compete with ST. I can't see how one can twist that into a negative for Cobb. Apples, oranges, and soforth.
Well it's true ECUTEK doesn't have a street tuning version available. Everybod knows this. Although i haven't seen the protuner software in person, i have seen the flash and flash2004 programming, i can't imagine the protuner having all the same exact maps. I can be wrong on this, but i'm just guessing... If someone who has posession of a protuner can list what's available to them, i'd be really interesting in seeing what that is.

-B
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:11 PM   #15
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumbles
Again, this is apples and oranges. Until ECUTEK releases a user version then you can compare flash times.

-B
Unless ECUtek comes out with live tuning like Cobb that won't change. Plus the ECU is limited to some baud rate(I don't know what it is) and can't go any faster. So the reflash time comes down to how much data you transmit to the ECU.
I know I am coming off sounding like a Cobb fanboi. I am not a big fan of cobb. In fact I have just about given up on ST for my 04 Sti, too many bugs. I use it for CEL defeats, remap the throttle, tip in enrichment and that is about it the rest is done with the Utec.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:30 PM   #16
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumbles
That has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that the flash software that ECUTEK has is far superior to anything Cobb has. They just haven't released the user version yet. Do you see the difference? haha.

do you care to site examples of how ECUtek is far superior to anything cobb has? From where i sit, cobb seems to have the upperhand at this point between having a full user tunable version, and live tuning. I"m sure the protuner vs ECUtek has some slightly different maps etc, but from what i can tell the protuner can do everything ECUtek can do. I have never seen the Flash2K SW, however my tuner has. He's used both, and he has backed this claim up: For all intents and purposes, protuner can do everything ECUtek can.

Unless you have some great info as to what makes ECUtek better than protuner. . ..
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:36 PM   #17
Nemis
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14330
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Italy
Vehicle:
2002 STI euro 265cv
blu mica rally!

Default

switch to free flash programm and remap when and how you want, for free
Nemis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:41 PM   #18
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumbles
Well it's true ECUTEK doesn't have a street tuning version available. Everybod knows this. Although i haven't seen the protuner software in person, i have seen the flash and flash2004 programming, i can't imagine the protuner having all the same exact maps. I can be wrong on this, but i'm just guessing... If someone who has posession of a protuner can list what's available to them, i'd be really interesting in seeing what that is.



-B
Get on AIM or email me mmurray at rfmd.com

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 01:25 PM   #19
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumbles
Well it's true ECUTEK doesn't have a street tuning version available. Everybod knows this. Although i haven't seen the protuner software in person, i have seen the flash and flash2004 programming, i can't imagine the protuner having all the same exact maps. I can be wrong on this, but i'm just guessing... If someone who has posession of a protuner can list what's available to them, i'd be really interesting in seeing what that is.

-B
Having personally seen both products, they are equivalent - you are talking out of your ass. Can you NAME a map that EcuTek has that ProTuner doesn't? My tuner can't name one he's ever felt he needed.

StreetTuner, yes, is more limited, but even with that, I can't think of a single map I've needed that wasn't available in ST.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 01:39 PM   #20
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
Having personally seen both products, they are equivalent - you are talking out of your ass. Can you NAME a map that EcuTek has that ProTuner doesn't? My tuner can't name one he's ever felt he needed.

StreetTuner, yes, is more limited, but even with that, I can't think of a single map I've needed that wasn't available in ST.
Tha Sti Street Tuner really needs the TPS cal table. Just to stop the throttle from closing near redline. It would be nice to have the WG vs speed mulitplier in there too.
Both of wich are in the ProTuner.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 01:42 PM   #21
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
Having personally seen both products, they are equivalent - you are talking out of your ass. Can you NAME a map that EcuTek has that ProTuner doesn't? My tuner can't name one he's ever felt he needed.
I believe you just answered your own question. Just by your sentence it infers that your super tuner friend acknowledges that there is other maps available... Hello?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
StreetTuner, yes, is more limited, but even with that, I can't think of a single map I've needed that wasn't available in ST.
With your level and ability to tune you probably only need what is in the ST, and i'm not arguing about the street tuner anyway. Why don't you stick to the original subject
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:00 PM   #22
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumbles
I believe you just answered your own question. Just by your sentence it infers that your super tuner friend acknowledges that there is other maps available... Hello?
OK, so you've seen flash2k4, etc. You've seen the literally HUNDREDS of maps in there. My tuner (he isn't a friend) can't name them all - when he tuned the car, he used maybe 8-12 of the maps on my not all that modified car. Perhaps there ARE maps in EcuTek that doesn't exist in Protuner, but thats not really important (unless all you care about it numbers). What matter is that all the truly useful maps are there. Given that he states that he's never found a map he wanted/needed in that wasn't PT that was in EcuTek, doesn't that imply that there is no functional difference? Hence, a comment like 'Cobb sucks' is kinda silly. By analogy - say you had a printer A that could print in reverse (mirrored) and printer B that could not. Every other feature is the same. And lets assume you, as a master graphic designer, NEVER EVER needed or even wanted that feature. Would you say that printer B sucks because it doesn't have a useless feature? No. You wouldn't.

Thats my point here.

Quote:
With your level and ability to tune you probably only need what is in the ST, and i'm not arguing about the street tuner anyway. Why don't you stick to the original subject
Granted, at my level, street tuner more than meets my needs.

This discussion is about EcuTek not having a user tuning option compared to Cobb having one. StreetTuner IS the original subject.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:11 PM   #23
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
OK, so you've seen flash2k4, etc. You've seen the literally HUNDREDS of maps in there. My tuner (he isn't a friend) can't name them all - when he tuned the car, he used maybe 8-12 of the maps on my not all that modified car. Perhaps there ARE maps in EcuTek that doesn't exist in Protuner, but thats not really important (unless all you care about it numbers). What matter is that all the truly useful maps are there. Given that he states that he's never found a map he wanted/needed in that wasn't PT that was in EcuTek, doesn't that imply that there is no functional difference? Hence, a comment like 'Cobb sucks' is kinda silly. By analogy - say you had a printer A that could print in reverse (mirrored) and printer B that could not. Every other feature is the same. And lets assume you, as a master graphic designer, NEVER EVER needed or even wanted that feature. Would you say that printer B sucks because it doesn't have a useless feature? No. You wouldn't.

Thats my point here.
Who's saying just the numbers are important? There are plenty of maps that enhance drivability and not only that, you can switch to using a MAP sensor which is awesome for high HP applications over running the stock MAF.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
Granted, at my level, street tuner more than meets my needs.

This discussion is about EcuTek not having a user tuning option compared to Cobb having one. StreetTuner IS the original subject.
Yes the ST probably does meet your needs. I stated that. The SUBJECT was when was ECUTEK going to release their version of a user tunable software package. Nothing to do with Cobb's street tuner.
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:18 PM   #24
Mumbles
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 248
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

And let me say one more thing about ECUTEK. The real race teams out there and i'll name one; http://www.icyracing.com/ they are national champions, and they, along with several other teams all go with ECUTEK. Must be a reason.
Mumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:22 PM   #25
doubleurx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64024
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: truckee, ca
Vehicle:
03 996 TT, 964 C4
salt and pepper

Default

My hopes for this thread were to get some feedback from ECUtek or some tuners that use the product (PDX, etc) for any insight on the subject. A while back I believe it was Jeff at PDX (not sure) posted the possibility of map switching, but the thread just seemed to die. My preference is to get ECUtek to come up with some type of component similar to the access port so we could potentially have a map repaired/replaced without a long drive to the tuner. This would have certainly been handy when I had a mojor issue with my old car - '03 wrx.
doubleurx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Origami: Will it live up to the hype? upnygimp Off-Topic 7 03-03-2006 04:41 PM
BP stepping up to the plate Tex-WReX Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 8 09-03-2005 03:36 PM
Hotmail stepping up to the plate... Random Off-Topic 0 06-24-2004 02:08 AM
VW's Stepping up to the plate STi-Nane New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 24 01-08-2003 03:33 PM
When did the Mazda Protoge ES show up to the party? luxcar101 Motorsports 9 07-19-2002 01:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.