Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2006, 09:40 PM   #1
dodiox
Visiting NASIOC Timeout
 
Member#: 85718
Join Date: Apr 2005
Vehicle:
06 WRX
Cobb Stage 2

Default cobb ap simple question

im getting mine tomorrow and i just wanted to know if the accesport comes with the maps already installed ready to be uploaded.
and should the first map loaded be a realtime or base map?
thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dodiox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 10:43 PM   #2
phantomsr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 69071
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
2002 Stg2-WRX Wagon
WRB & Dust

Default

You have to marry the AP to the car with a base map before you can use it for realtime maps. This a new AP or used? If it's used, you may have older maps loaded. If it's new, you'll have the most current maps at the time the AP was manufactured. It doesn't hurt to download the newest maps when you get it to be safe. Make sure you load the correct basemap for your current mod level and fuel you will run all the time. You can load the lower or higher octane realtime map as required. I keep a valet base map loaded in the AP too as the valet realtime maps can be bypassed by resetting the ECU. If you have any questions when you get it, just search on here. Massive ammount of AP users with the same questions you will have already answered.
phantomsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 12:31 AM   #3
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

If it's used, it'll come with whatever base maps the previous owner put on it. If it's new, it will come with both the Stage 1 and Stage 2 base maps.


I bought mine used and had to flash a stage 2 map, then hook it up to my computer, download a stage 1 map, then reflash my WRX. A bit of a pain, but I did save a few hundred bucks.
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 08:35 AM   #4
phantomsr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 69071
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
2002 Stg2-WRX Wagon
WRB & Dust

Default

As I recall, if you can't get the Sync with PC option when you get the AP, you hold the up adn down arrow while powering it up. Then you can laod whatever maps to the AP before you flash to the car. Saves a little time. The first flash is the longest as it reformats the ECU to support realtime maps.
phantomsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 12:37 PM   #5
yakkosmurf
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81931
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: League City, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI (Stage 1)
WR Blue Mica w/ Gold BBS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomsr
As I recall, if you can't get the Sync with PC option when you get the AP, you hold the up adn down arrow while powering it up. Then you can laod whatever maps to the AP before you flash to the car. Saves a little time. The first flash is the longest as it reformats the ECU to support realtime maps.
That is correct. I did this to verify my maps were the most recent on my new AP. I would recommend doing this to avoid having to flash your ECU more times than is necessary.
yakkosmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 02:14 PM   #6
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomsr
As I recall, if you can't get the Sync with PC option when you get the AP, you hold the up adn down arrow while powering it up. Then you can laod whatever maps to the AP before you flash to the car. Saves a little time. The first flash is the longest as it reformats the ECU to support realtime maps.
Wow, that would have been a nice tidbit of information. The manual I was reading even specified that you COULD NOT connect the AP to the computer until it was married.


Oh well, I got it working regardless.
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 02:27 PM   #7
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

yea that little trick is not in the manual.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 03:25 PM   #8
yakkosmurf
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81931
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: League City, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI (Stage 1)
WR Blue Mica w/ Gold BBS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
yea that little trick is not in the manual.
Yeah, it was. That's where I learned of it. It's on the top of page 47.
yakkosmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 03:39 PM   #9
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

my manual only has 41 pages in it cheif. and IIRC twas NOT in my manual. maybe they updated it. I learned that from being on the phone with Cobb's CS during a crisis of my own.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 07:28 PM   #10
yakkosmurf
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81931
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: League City, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI (Stage 1)
WR Blue Mica w/ Gold BBS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
my manual only has 41 pages in it cheif. and IIRC twas NOT in my manual. maybe they updated it. I learned that from being on the phone with Cobb's CS during a crisis of my own.
You might want to download the new one off of their website. It's got some good stuff in it.
yakkosmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just went Stage2 with Cobb AP... Got questions... wanalaugh74 Engine Management & Tuning 3 07-09-2007 05:07 PM
Cobb AP v1 question SubruWrX AccessPort 6 03-02-2007 02:42 PM
cobb ap stage1 questions GHK Engine Management & Tuning 8 12-29-2005 04:04 PM
Cobb AP noob question wrxetta Engine Management & Tuning 2 05-20-2005 12:04 PM
Cobb Ap upgrade question Jduke Engine Management & Tuning 11 02-19-2005 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.