Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2006, 01:06 PM   #26
Natoe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90353
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Corvallis OR
Vehicle:
Sold '95 22T Impreza
now: AE86 and GVR4

Default

same thing with the legacy turbo maf, cept it goes - _ - - -
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Natoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 05:05 PM   #27
azn2nr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35276
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i clone
438/420 whp

Default

somehow it does because his car wont start. click to elarge adn zoom in if you need but my maf has 5 wires
azn2nr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 06:06 PM   #28
Scoobie Steve
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2289
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor, PA
Vehicle:
1998 11.87@112mph
Subaru L Ver 6 STi Type R

Default

Hmm interesting. Could you check to see if your MAF have 5 pins?
Scoobie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 06:54 PM   #29
Natoe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90353
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Corvallis OR
Vehicle:
Sold '95 22T Impreza
now: AE86 and GVR4

Default

i just told you guys, there are 4 pins on the maf, 5 spots, like (-) ( ) (-) (-) (-)

there are however 5 wires going to the connector, but one of them doesnt have a pin on the maf
Natoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:56 PM   #30
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

yes, the maf has 5plugs, but only 4 are used. ive have seem more then my fare share of EJ20G swaps in person. and ALL of them have 4 wires, and 5 pins at the maf....
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 02:36 AM   #31
azn2nr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35276
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i clone
438/420 whp

Default

im gonna asume you got that backwards and its 4 pins and 5 wires???
azn2nr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 11:19 AM   #32
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

no the MAF has 5 little tabs. but only, the 4 farthest ones on the right are use. the 5th one on the left side is NOT being used. that 5th one is for 22T models only.
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 03:14 PM   #33
snowjob
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 59357
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Vehicle:
2009 Forester XT
White

Default

What is your ecu a hitachi or a Jegs ecu, Hitachi ecus need hitachi maf's they are metal. Jegs ecu's need the signal from a Jegs Maf, the Jegs version uses the 5th wire where as the Hitachi does not.( I may have that last part backwards, but you get the idea)
I had the same prob with my ej20 swap, start and die, start and die, switched maf's and repined one wire to the ecu and voila it ran. Just a though
snowjob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 12:23 AM   #34
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

well i got it all figured out! WOOT WOOT.
today whyle checking all of my ECU wires that would effect engine performance i noticed that i didnt have 12V going into the ignition switch wire. so i ran 12V to it, and WALA. she runs perfect!
not a single CEL, every circut works perfect(checked them all whyle trouble shooting). starts up ever time without even hesitating.

thanks for everones help
Kirill
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 01:19 AM   #35
subbyspeed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16274
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus,OH
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 2.0L vf30
e30 black/rust

Default

congrats! enjoy the "new" car!
subbyspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 01:25 AM   #36
azn2nr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35276
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i clone
438/420 whp

Default

sweet, odd though how it would start even without the power to the ignition
azn2nr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 02:15 AM   #37
swapstar
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 102779
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: JDM land filling a container
Vehicle:
1998 PM if u need
JDM bits.....

Default

nice. well done.
swapstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 04:19 AM   #38
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

well, went out and drove the car out today...that thing is fun.
my clutch is slipping BAD, so i cant even over 5-8psi, w/o slipping. but all i got to say is that it feels like a new car. runs strong, and pulls hard.
the TDo4 on there, spools very fast compared to the to05. i can hit full boost by 3K rpm.
now all i need to do is tie up some loose ends and it will be 100%.
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 02:07 PM   #39
Natoe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90353
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Corvallis OR
Vehicle:
Sold '95 22T Impreza
now: AE86 and GVR4

Default

good to hear man, slippin clutches are lame, but atleast it is something you can fix pretty simply, and that it means your not hurting your tranny hehe. stock RS/L tranny?
Natoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 09:45 PM   #40
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

yeah, stock 1.8L tranny. but i got a jdm 5spd wrx tranny w/ rear lsd ready to go in. i just need to get some axles and a clutch.

so today the clutch held thrue 2nd gear, about .9bar tapering off to .6 at redline. just that one pull put the biggest grin on my face....i love ej20g's
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 10:04 PM   #41
Natoe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90353
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Corvallis OR
Vehicle:
Sold '95 22T Impreza
now: AE86 and GVR4

Default

what is the USDM wrx swap on your profile? in the GF8?
Natoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:16 PM   #42
snowman4us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21764
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salty Lake
Vehicle:
Some GDM V8,
JDM Flat 4 X2

Default

lol...
i have a 94wagon(GF), and sense we never got a WRX GF8 i made my own . hence the USDM
snowman4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car starts but won't run - VIDEO! HELP! trilap5e Normally Aspirated Powertrain 5 09-26-2013 04:16 PM
Car heats up after idling for a long time. ascheier Newbies & FAQs 22 01-15-2007 03:18 AM
Your car is warmed up and you let it idle for a long time: What's that damn knock? HamFist Normally Aspirated Powertrain 10 11-09-2006 12:55 PM
HELP!! car is making boost but doesnt go Ctracer911 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 17 05-08-2006 11:19 AM
weird idle problem. long, but i really need help. BlackoutWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 08-22-2005 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.