Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2006, 12:06 PM   #1
i4dat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83512
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru WRX
Sedona Red

Question UTEC question; NooB

Hello, I had a question concerning the check engine light when using the UTEC.

The manual says that the Check engine light will flash showing which map you have selected when using the Map Selector switch.

Mines does not.

If I switch to the Security Mode, the check engine light will flash continously, which is what the manual specifies. So I know that it will work when switched to Map 7.

Why won't it flash when you change your maps?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

David
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
i4dat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:48 PM   #2
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

I have had 2 UTECS (one in my 02 wrx and one in my STI) and neither ever flashed to show what map I was on when I changed maps. Are you sure you are reading that correctly?
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:38 PM   #3
i4dat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83512
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru WRX
Sedona Red

Default

Well I can only go by the instructions from Turbo XS.

Quote:
The UTEC Dashboard will show both the number of the Map and the switch position that is selected once the car is running. If the car is not running the UTEC may revert back to stock mode. Also, when starting the car the check engine light will flash and indicate which map you have selected. For example if you have selected map 2 the check engine light will flash twice and then stay on until the car is started.
This is from the 17th page of the UTEC Manual under the General Information Section.

I just want to know if this is a mistake or if my UTEC is freaking out.

It is also supposed to flash the Check Engine light if it encounters Knock.

I just want to make sure that this feature is working and not disabled along with the Map Number Flashing.

Don't want to end up with a nasty surprise.

Thanks.

David.
i4dat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:44 PM   #4
YourMother'sLover
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 76565
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Ask me about POWDERCOATING!!!
Vehicle:
CLXX Stricta Parata
Neci!

Default

Mine does that...

What you need to do is turn your key to "Acc" and wait for the light to blink. Don't start your car right away...put the key to Acc...wait 5 secs so you can see the blink....then start your car. It won't flash after you change maps, just when you initially turn on the car. Plus, as I'm sure (I hope) you know, map change is not "on the fly" for the Utec. You can change maps, but it won't take effect until the RPMs drop below 1500 or so (where UTEC takes over for stock ECU).

I'm on map 3 so my CEL blinks 3 times and then holds on the 4th.....
YourMother'sLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:49 PM   #5
i4dat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83512
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru WRX
Sedona Red

Default

Thanks for the input.

When I get a chance I will have to see if it will do it after waiting a few seconds.

Thanks again, I appreciate the help.

David.

i4dat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 03:44 PM   #6
Lost_Pete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100570
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney
Default

It depends on the version of software you have. The latest version (5.0) does not flash the CEL to indicate the map selected.

regards
Pete
Lost_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 04:24 PM   #7
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

^^^^^^ 12345

v5 of the firmware no longer flashes CEL to indicate map selection. Explaied in the v5 update notes

http://www.turboxs.com/downloads/UTE...nformation.doc

Last edited by Gethin; 01-31-2006 at 04:31 PM.
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:01 PM   #8
fzturbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43482
Join Date: Sep 2003
Vehicle:
2004 JDM 2 litre STI
WRB

Default

Hi, sorry for hi jacking the thread, i just want to know something since i'm also a noob at UTEC, is there anyway to erase a cel with the utec??? got my check engine light on and want to shut it.
Thanks.
fzturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:47 PM   #9
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

You need a OBD2 tool to remove the stored code from the stock Subaru ECU, the UTEC is a seperate piggyback unit. It's good to read the code before erasing it so you know the cause.

If you are asking if you can supress the CEL light completely, then yes the UTEC can disable all CEL's from appearing. They will still be stored in the ECU to be retrieved via OBD2 and it will still flash if it detects knock. Beware that if you disable the CEL light using the UTEC you will not get any indication that you are having problems if they appear!
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 09:53 AM   #10
i4dat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83512
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru WRX
Sedona Red

Default

Ok, now it makes sense.

I guess it pays to read the updates to the manual as well.

Thanks and take care.

David.
i4dat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
utec help/ noob wasey13 UTEC 12 10-29-2006 02:05 PM
UTEC w/ 2004 and CEL's ???? UTEC NOOB mmorningstar Engine Management & Tuning 14 05-12-2005 04:14 PM
Ultra noob utec tuning Q duckride Engine Management & Tuning 1 08-06-2003 04:14 PM
Utec Noob boost question C Dust Engine Management & Tuning 1 07-21-2003 02:06 PM
Noob UTEC Question Re: Knock and 91Octane Brian Broz Engine Management & Tuning 2 03-01-2003 08:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.