Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday October 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2006, 08:59 AM   #1
riggs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85389
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default FREE ECUExplorer Datalogger 3.0.25 released today for 2006 WRX..

http://www.tari.co.za/cgi-bin/yabb2/...num=1138965460

This program absolutely rocks and I hope everyone that has the Cobb AP, etc takes advantage of it...

Now just have to figure out the settings I need to use..

Best part is the software is free and since you already have the cable that comes with the Cobb AP, you can datalog at no extra cost...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by riggs; 02-03-2006 at 09:16 AM.
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:11 AM   #2
Silver_04_WRX_SC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67198
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Boiling Springs, SC
Vehicle:
2007 Audi S4 Avant
V8...Blue

Default

Forgive me for my noobiness, but what will this do for the AP?
Silver_04_WRX_SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:14 AM   #3
riggs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85389
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver_04_WRX_SC
Forgive me for my noobiness, but what will this do for the AP?
You remove the OBDII cable that attaches to the AP and you hook it straight to the computer...(serial port)

The cable syncs with this software and you can read the majority of the data that the ECU reads...

enabling you to datalog....(You could datalog dyno pulls, highway runs, etc.)

Awesome software, and I have been waiting patiently on a version that would support the 06 WRX...
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:18 AM   #4
riggs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85389
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Thanks for moving this, my apologies for putting it in the wrong spot...
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:20 AM   #5
SilverSurfer04STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71542
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Midwest
Vehicle:
2013 WRB BRZ

Default

On page 5 of the instructional pdf it says it doesn't support drive by wire. So this won't help any years of the USDM STIs if that's the case. The WRX isn't drive by wire is it? I honestly don't know...
SilverSurfer04STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:25 AM   #6
riggs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85389
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSurfer04STi
On page 5 of the instructional pdf it says it doesn't support drive by wire. So this won't help any years of the USDM STIs if that's the case. The WRX isn't drive by wire is it? I honestly don't know...
It does support the USDM STI, because I have several friends that use the software. I know it does support datalogging...
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:34 AM   #7
SilverSurfer04STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71542
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Midwest
Vehicle:
2013 WRB BRZ

Default

Maybe you just can't read throttle position as one of the data fields then??? Wonder why that's in the pdf then. If it works for STi that's awesome.

Does the data just get stored in a file with some sort of delimiter and then you can export the file into a spreadsheet?
SilverSurfer04STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:53 AM   #8
KGreb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13463
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2012 Chevy Volt
Silver

Default

The ECU copy and reflash functions are not yet supported on the DBW ECUs. All the logging works fine.
KGreb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:05 AM   #9
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

It reads throttle position on my Forester which is drive by wire. It logs everything just fine.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:19 AM   #10
SilverSurfer04STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71542
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Midwest
Vehicle:
2013 WRB BRZ

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGreb
The ECU copy and reflash functions are not yet supported on the DBW ECUs. All the logging works fine.
OK. So I can still log everything just fine even with the DBW on the STi. Cool. Thanks.
SilverSurfer04STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:21 PM   #11
remowgn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41149
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange, CA
Vehicle:
04 09 FXT
SSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSurfer04STi
Maybe you just can't read throttle position as one of the data fields then??? Wonder why that's in the pdf then. If it works for STi that's awesome.

Does the data just get stored in a file with some sort of delimiter and then you can export the file into a spreadsheet?
Yep, it saves a CSV file. It's actually pretty cool... you can set it so that the defroster button turns logging on and off... so you can drive around with your laptop plugged in, and you don't even have to take your eyes off the road if you want to log a 3rd gear pull or something.
remowgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 02:28 PM   #12
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

Flash support and logging support are completely different problems.

It isn't so much what this program will do for your AP. It's just you can use your AP cable for this program rather than have to buy an SSM cable. If you already have an AP, this is free. Give it a shot. Why not.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:59 PM   #13
riggs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85389
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remowgn
Yep, it saves a CSV file. It's actually pretty cool... you can set it so that the defroster button turns logging on and off... so you can drive around with your laptop plugged in, and you don't even have to take your eyes off the road if you want to log a 3rd gear pull or something.
How do you program it to do that?
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:26 PM   #14
dingobite
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82391
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lou. ky
Vehicle:
08 OBP Sti
stg2.... 279awhp, 299tq

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSurfer04STi
On page 5 of the instructional pdf it says it doesn't support drive by wire. So this won't help any years of the USDM STIs if that's the case. The WRX isn't drive by wire is it? I honestly don't know...

Not sure about the 04 wrx i do know the 05 wrx is drive by wire.
dingobite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:24 PM   #15
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

in the USDM, it is the 06 WRX which is drive by wire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dingobite
Not sure about the 04 wrx i do know the 05 wrx is drive by wire.
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 12:04 PM   #16
dingobite
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82391
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lou. ky
Vehicle:
08 OBP Sti
stg2.... 279awhp, 299tq

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by colby
in the USDM, it is the 06 WRX which is drive by wire.

Sorry for any wrong info the 05 is differant than the 03 wrx and older models though. Right now im google the the web over and i cannot find a standard wrx pdf spec anywhere just stis and the bugeyes.

Ive had a local tuner point out to me a certain standalone system would work on the 05 and not on the bugeyes due to the way they where built im just having a memory lasp on what he said right now.
dingobite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 10:02 AM   #17
sebtarta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82883
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3rd Planet
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon
'72 Nova Turns & Stops

Default

I have a question on this.

With my STi 05, and a 30 +/- min. drive will the data logging be huge?? it must right, about 1000 lines??

Also how to you make the ecuExplorer to start loging the data and how to save it. I have the pdf next to me, but it is not very informative on how to work the software. it shows in detail what it does.

Any light for the ecuExplorer ppl....thanx
sebtarta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 10:16 AM   #18
edmundu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 54672
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebtarta
I have a question on this.

With my STi 05, and a 30 +/- min. drive will the data logging be huge?? it must right, about 1000 lines??

Also how to you make the ecuExplorer to start loging the data and how to save it. I have the pdf next to me, but it is not very informative on how to work the software. it shows in detail what it does.

Any light for the ecuExplorer ppl....thanx
For 30min of continuous logging, you can expect a heck of a lot more than 1000 lines. I logged about 10.5 min. and it was 2830 lines.

To easily save the logs, right click in the pane which shows the available values to log, and select to trigger logging to a file using the rear defroster. Then, all you do is press the rear defrost, and it'll start logging, then press again to stop. It'll save it using the date/timestamp naming convention. Within the software you can choose where you want to save the logs. By default they are in the C:\Programfiles\Tari Racing Software\Ecuexplorer folder.
edmundu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 11:05 AM   #19
sebtarta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82883
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3rd Planet
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon
'72 Nova Turns & Stops

Default

Thank you very much. I guess i wont log a full 30min.
sebtarta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 09:37 PM   #20
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Tariracing for Mac users anyone? Am I stuck borrowing a PC laptop?
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:36 PM   #21
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

For those who have PDX or TDC maps, what steps do we need to take to record logging? how much information do either PDX or TDC require for correcting any problems you car may have?

Can someone explain step by step what needs to be done?
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:20 PM   #22
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txl146
For those who have PDX or TDC maps, what steps do we need to take to record logging? how much information do either PDX or TDC require for correcting any problems you car may have?

Can someone explain step by step what needs to be done?


...ya just need the cable and a laptop and the progie
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 08:00 PM   #23
Riight112
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 32071
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NorCal
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
WR Blue

Default

+1 for a mac version please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by theicewall
Tariracing for Mac users anyone? Am I stuck borrowing a PC laptop?
Riight112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I use AccessPort 2.0 for 2006 WRX? wonsin83 Newbies & FAQs 10 05-08-2007 08:36 AM
I thought there was going to be a 250HP 3.0 Legacy as well for 2005? HB_Dad News & Rumors 21 05-04-2004 12:51 PM
3.0 h6 question again in a wrx.. jefersun Subaru Conversions 14 02-25-2004 05:11 PM
release date for 2004 WRX, not STi WRX lova News & Rumors 12 02-24-2003 04:37 PM
h6-3.0 rear upgrade, questions for application to non WRX ciper Brakes, Steering & Suspension 7 05-25-2002 01:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.