Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 4, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2006, 01:22 AM   #1
mishka
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 102520
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: durango co
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
yellow

Unhappy no com1 what to do.

i only have com3 on my laptop. do i need a usb adapter or is there a way around this.

thanks,
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mishka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 02-06-2006, 03:22 AM   #2
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Do you have a serial port (nine pins, 5 on top, 4 on bottom)? if not, you will need a USB Serial Adapter.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 10:18 AM   #3
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

You can change it. right-click on 'my computer' and goto system properties. Then find the button for "device manager". open up the thing that shows your ports. It will show the port 3 device. right-click and goto properties. In one of the tabs will be a place to change what "port" it is. Its as simple as that! I think I typed all of this right, it should get you in the ballpark.

jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:43 AM   #4
x99percent
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27108
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Detroit-ish, MI
Vehicle:
2004 STi
2004 A4

Default

On a laptop, "Com 3" is typically the built-in modem.

More than likely, you will need to buy a USB to Serial adapter (example). This is nothing new, lots of people use/need them.
x99percent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to buy a car with no title...what to do? suman Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 17 03-07-2008 03:43 PM
Need Intardweb idears...no cable, no FIOs....what to do? Grap Off-Topic 40 06-22-2007 03:35 PM
no title!! what to do? silvscorp Off-Topic 0 08-07-2004 02:39 AM
STi little knowledge=no mods. What to do? essogas Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 13 05-05-2004 01:37 PM
I have 2 Original Type C rims and I have no idea what to do with them? Nikkigirl Off-Topic 79 02-14-2003 12:53 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.