Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday November 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2006, 06:18 PM   #1
WrxRick
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85761
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
2005 05' STi
Black

Default My accessport wont read on my PC?

I try to "connect" with my accessport, and a message saying "AccessPORT communication failed (code 0x5b4). Is port in sync mode?"

I have tried connecting my accessport on my two computers. I get the same message on both of them . I made sure the power cord supplied by Cobb was connected to the Accessport, and I made sure the connection from my accessport to the port on my computer was secure. Can anyone help me out?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
WrxRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 09:42 PM   #2
sonicsuby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34162
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX wgn, 01 RS
White, White

Default

Are you sure you have selected the proper COM port? Out of the box, your serial port on the PC should be COM 1. I don't have my COBB instructions handy - are there any speed/bit settings you need to make to the COM port?
sonicsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 10:08 PM   #3
DTECH-WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37042
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: South Florida
Vehicle:
2014 Forester 2.0 XT
Marine Blue Pearl

Default

Just as an FYI...you might get more replies if you post in the Engine Management & Tuning forum.
DTECH-WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 10:11 PM   #4
WR^2X
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37617
Join Date: May 2003
Vehicle:
2007

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTECH-WRX
Just as an FYI...you might get more replies if you post in the Engine Management & Tuning forum.
+1..5
WR^2X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 10:35 PM   #5
WrxRick
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85761
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
2005 05' STi
Black

Default

ok, could a moderator move it? I dont want to make two threads and annoy people
WrxRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 11:05 PM   #6
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

connect to computer unplugged, click connect to AP from the map manager, power AP on, hold arrow buttons (both) while powering on.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 12:40 AM   #7
sonicsuby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34162
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX wgn, 01 RS
White, White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
connect to computer unplugged, click connect to AP from the map manager, power AP on, hold arrow buttons (both) while powering on.
Instructions indicate that you only need to hold the two arrow buttons if the AP is not yet married to an ECU.
sonicsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 03:32 AM   #8
WrxRick
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85761
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
2005 05' STi
Black

Default

^^ Hmm, I read the instructions I must have missed that part. So I basically plug the accessport to the computer, say connect, then power the AP? Makes almost no sense, and after power hold both arrows down?
WrxRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 03:35 AM   #9
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WrxRick
^^ Hmm, I read the instructions I must have missed that part. So I basically plug the accessport to the computer, say connect, then power the AP? Makes almost no sense, and after power hold both arrows down?
has the AP been married to your car yet?
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 08:25 PM   #10
Quack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57264
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Aurora, OH
Vehicle:
2004 18g Wagon - WRB
PDX Tuned - 329whp/315wtq

Default

if you are married to the ECU, are you selecting "connet to PC" on teh AP?
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 10:03 PM   #11
BeBop86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 147776
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bellingham, WA
Vehicle:
'02 Impreza WRX
'85 Toyota Corolla

Default

I'm having the same issue (can't connect to computer v1.0 ap)
I've tried the serial port on my computer and a usb2serial adapter.

Any ideas?
BeBop86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 10:34 PM   #12
fastnfurious817
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201162
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut
Vehicle:
2007 subaru wrx

Default

Hey i just had the same exact problem. Mine just gets stuck on the "connecting to pc, do not disconnect screen" as the red wheel keeps spinning forever and ever. I'm not sure why this is happening
fastnfurious817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:17 PM   #13
Sinister04WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 197092
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Silver

Default

I have a problem as well...when i plug in my accessport to my computer it says windows cannot recognize my usb device..i have the Ap manager installed and idk what to do...i got this with my car and i don't have the cd but i downloaded the drivers and its just not working grrrrr
Sinister04WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 02:35 AM   #14
BeBop86
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 147776
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bellingham, WA
Vehicle:
'02 Impreza WRX
'85 Toyota Corolla

Default

Well, it turns out (at least in my situation, AP V1.0) that you have to use a null modem cable.

Mine didn't come with the serial PC cable (bought it used) so if you have a standard DB9 serial cable, just buy a null modem cable adapter (the wiring of the cable is different than a standard serial cable).
BeBop86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
accessport boost readings on more then one car at a time? elohdaeh78 AccessPort 3 08-20-2006 06:58 PM
help my ac wont turn on cusco4life Interior & Exterior Modification 0 08-10-2005 03:53 PM
My monitor wont turn on. ockS Off-Topic 16 05-24-2005 02:45 AM
rs mudflaps wont fit on my 05 rs. rsracer2005 Interior & Exterior Modification 6 03-30-2005 12:37 PM
I got a new deck but now my basslink wont turn on... HELP WRXakaBooSTi Car Audio, Video & Security 10 12-19-2004 02:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.