Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 7, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2006, 04:16 PM   #26
stees
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122504
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Unabomber: is it possible that your HP/TQ curves are flatter/smoother than the other stage2 wrx 's ?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
stees is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-20-2006, 07:49 AM   #27
Unabomber
Big Ron
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

Smoothness is controlled by the dyno plot software, so that's a moot point. As to flatness, each car is different and as well, that can be changed in the dyno software, a lot of the flatness has to do with the tune or tuner's ability.
Unabomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 03:36 PM   #28
o2sys
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 43842
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
200? WRX STI
Aspen White

Default

umm so instead of opening a new thread....will the Fujitsubo EL headers work fine with my Cobb STG 2?
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 04:38 PM   #29
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4401 Procorpio Dr.
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

What does fine mean?

The map wasnt made for them, so i'd reccomend a custome tune.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 04:50 PM   #30
o2sys
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 43842
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
200? WRX STI
Aspen White

Default

fine as in, ok i understand i wont get full potential of the headers but wont blow up my motor kind of way....
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 11:12 PM   #31
oslice
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 121450
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: az
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
black

Question protune

? I have a 02wrx lookin to go to the 18g with all the upgrades.Cobbs site shows their maps only support the 16g.Thinkin of going with Cobb AP, but if they don't support the modes I'm lookin for, what is the point of goin with the AP?Would I be better off with some other type of EM with a protune or what? Or will the AP get by till the tune?
oslice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 05:42 PM   #32
FastSubaru8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 115518
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MillCity
Vehicle:
04 WRB WRX
Holla Acha Boy!!!

Default

sorry for my stupidity but i have a few questions and I have researched but can't find what i'm lookin for. the maps i've looked at say you need stock air box and stuff like that. well i have a cobb sf intake but no maps use it. so do i load that map and not get the most out of my intake until i pro tune?? and can i asume the same for my other mods like turbo back exaust not cats and uppipe all from cobb of course?
FastSubaru8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 06:14 PM   #33
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4401 Procorpio Dr.
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

Cobb's intake was designed to work with the factory tuning. Therefore, to the best of my knowledge, it is approved for use with the Accessport It should be listed in the map notes, if it isnt.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 02:33 PM   #34
fieldyznuts
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106555
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA, Texas
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
White

Default On the Cobb tuning intake..

With the Access Port, you should hold off if you have the cobb sf intake, and possibly other mods that aren't covered by the MAPS.

If anyone else has heard this and knows specificaly when plz let me know, but I hear that Cobb Tuning is releasing a better ECU for the STi, that will have a MAP available for cars upgraded with the intake, and other performance mods not previously covered.
fieldyznuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 02:42 PM   #35
Unabomber
Big Ron
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

The Cobb SF Intake IS approved with all AccessPORT users according to Christian @ Cobb Tuning. Reading the first post would have told you that.
Unabomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 03:25 PM   #36
fieldyznuts
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106555
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA, Texas
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unabomber View Post
The Cobb SF Intake IS approved with all AccessPORT users according to Christian @ Cobb Tuning. Reading the first post would have told you that.
Ah, sry, I must have read too fast, but thanks for that.
Have you heard anything about Cobb coming out with a better ECU? All I have heard is that it's supposed to be better than the current Access Port, however, this was not first hand info from Cobb.
fieldyznuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 03:45 PM   #37
Unabomber
Big Ron
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

Look in the vendor announcement forum, details are in there. Nothing to get your panties in a bundle about in my opinion though.
Unabomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:25 AM   #38
seank
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 139187
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CA
Default

why do you have listed in the 1st post that Accessport allows you to run a bov? does it specifically tune for the metered air lost? not that i want to waste my money on a bov but trying to understand why accesport would allow you to use one without the known ill effects. btw i love my stage 1 accessport can't wait to get my exhaust components and step up to a PDX tune.
seank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:31 PM   #39
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4401 Procorpio Dr.
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unabomber View Post
The Cobb SF Intake IS approved with all AccessPORT users according to Christian @ Cobb Tuning. Reading the first post would have told you that.
Not the 06 WRX. (more than likely the 07 too)

Cobb's intake is approved for 02-05 WRX's. And for 04-06 STi's.

Reading the map notes gives me the info I posted.

Last edited by parker/slc/gc8fan; 01-31-2007 at 02:11 PM.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 11:25 PM   #40
Jasonzemos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 109993
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North Jersey
Vehicle:
2006 TR E3-16G'ed
Running E85!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seank View Post
why do you have listed in the 1st post that Accessport allows you to run a bov? does it specifically tune for the metered air lost? not that i want to waste my money on a bov but trying to understand why accesport would allow you to use one without the known ill effects. btw i love my stage 1 accessport can't wait to get my exhaust components and step up to a PDX tune.

A b s o l u t e ditto. I think I'm gonna PM unabomber because now, $845 in the hole, I just found out there is no MAP support with the cobb system. I could sell the system and buy a utec or a gun to shoot myself in the foot, but I think I already did the latter. *sigh*
Jasonzemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 11:26 PM   #41
Jasonzemos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 109993
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North Jersey
Vehicle:
2006 TR E3-16G'ed
Running E85!

Default

Wow my browser sucks.
Jasonzemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 12:20 AM   #42
seank
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 139187
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonzemos View Post
A b s o l u t e ditto. I think I'm gonna PM unabomber because now, $845 in the hole, I just found out there is no MAP support with the cobb system. I could sell the system and buy a utec or a gun to shoot myself in the foot, but I think I already did the latter. *sigh*
you are that angry that you can't run a bov, or you spent the money just to run a bov?
seank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 09:17 AM   #43
Jasonzemos
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 109993
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North Jersey
Vehicle:
2006 TR E3-16G'ed
Running E85!

Default

No I'm just angry that I can't run one -- its so far down my planned mod list I don't care right now... but I will later. Edit: And now to make things more confusing for me, I'm being told that I can... Well anyway, I don't worry about it much now, it just made me wonder, considering I stuck with the cobb route.

Last edited by Jasonzemos; 02-01-2007 at 09:47 AM.
Jasonzemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 02:28 PM   #44
mike.bond
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141441
Join Date: Feb 2007
Smile Getting a new WRX

I am going to be getting a 07 WRX TR, and I am looking into the Cobb AP. Now I know it hasnt been released for the 2007 but I assume many parts would be the same as the 06 WRX.

Now I tried to search for the answer and I couldn't find it, sorry if it has been asked already

I am looking at getting the SPT intake with my 07 WRX, and in the future I want to get the Cobb AP 2.0 and I dont want to have any issues with it. Anyone know if it would work without problems (CEL, etc)

Thanks!
mike.bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 08:59 PM   #45
rbahr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40671
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston, ma
Vehicle:
2006 STI, Outback XT
Grey, Blue

Default

Hi Unabomber,

Are the various AP for an STi the same? Can I take an 04, put the 06 maps on it and then program my 06 STi?

TIA

Ray
rbahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 05:04 PM   #46
06BlackSTIwith550WHP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116325
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2006 BLACK STI
UR Rotated GT30R

Default

I have a perrin FMIC with a blow thru boos tube(3 inch section where the MAF sensor is) Will that work with my cobb accessport? I have many mods beyond stage 2, my biggest and most important mods are UR GT30R kit and PE 850 cc injectors. I was told this blow thru boost tube will not work with a accessport and the MAF will be maxed out very very soon. is all that ive heard true?
06BlackSTIwith550WHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 12:35 AM   #47
texwr1889
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 139147
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wentzville/Chesterfield
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black

Default

i am putting a bulit 2.5 2.0 hybrid motor with a port and polish and an fpgreen, with meth injection can i run an ap with this setup or do i have to use utech
texwr1889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 09:13 PM   #48
rek888v2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71287
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: School of Automotive Machinist
Vehicle:
S202 + 04 STi + 06
LGT + 02 WRX

Default

You can use an AP with any setup.

I ran a Stage 2 map with a TurboXS FMIC, TurboXS intakeand Invidia headers back exhaust. My car ran a bit rich but she ran strong as heck. Knowing tuning like I know now, I would have Protuned her when I had her, but she ran fine as she was. Like Unabomber said countless times. You will never know if your rich or lean unless you get a wideband O2 sensor and changing the intake before a turbo upgrade isnt really needed. It will throw the MAF readings way off and your AFR's will be all screwy in turn causing you to run rich, lean or all over the scale. Take it from someone whos put WAY too much money into subies. I did a lot of mods that were worthless just too look cool, not truly make power. Save your cash and get the parts you want then get a Protune. That, in my opinion, is the only way to go!
rek888v2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 01:42 AM   #49
csmith335
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 150530
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: WOODBRIDGE, VA!
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
silver

Default Accesport

I am totally confused and am brand new to subies. I have a 02 wrx with intake and catback exhaust. I want to get the newest COBB accesport but will it work with my AEM intake? im sure this has been answered already but i just cant find it
csmith335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:11 AM   #50
trex616
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132365
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Tampa, Fl
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
EPL B5 S4 & B6 USP

Default

Unabomber do you have any follow-up information on the FMIC that was tested? I really want to flash to stage 2 but Im still a bit unsure.
trex616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does a Cobb Accessport work and will it work with my parts? Twin_Cities_WRX General Community 5 03-08-2009 01:39 AM
How does a Cobb Accessport work and will it work with my parts? Twin_Cities_WRX Newbies & FAQs 2 03-07-2009 07:22 PM
Which turbo will work with my cobb up and down pipes? Samurai_jim Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 15 05-07-2008 01:41 PM
Help: Cobb AP will not work with my car silvsteve AccessPort 3 02-04-2007 05:23 PM
Will this work with my WRX? ice_bomb Engine Management & Tuning 6 10-06-2005 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.