Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday January 30, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > UTEC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2006, 09:49 PM   #1
BuggeyEYED
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 101691
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
97 Supra TT
SOLD - 35r bug/hawkeye

Default Any power limitations with utec??

In the market for a new EM...i see people making big power with Hydra(is this sti only)out of my price range anyway
i have a wrx
I see some good numbers with AEM, but not usualy every day driven cars..
what about UTEC..can it be tuned and power worthy with big turbos..like gt35r, 40r, with worked blocks??
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
BuggeyEYED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:00 PM   #2
Colin84
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57113
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis, MD
Vehicle:
2009 Dodge Ram
Blue

Default

Consider this- BV's 9.67 STi is using a UTEC.

I think it will be plenty for whatever you're going to be doing.
Colin84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:24 PM   #3
Physics Junkie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65609
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: <3s me some SCIC.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin84
Consider this- BV's 9.67 STi is using a UTEC.

I think it will be plenty for whatever you're going to be doing.
I'm pretty sure they switched to the Hydra...
Physics Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:33 PM   #4
S L O W W R X
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95109
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default

I drive my AEM every day, My personal opinion is that it is by far the most tuneable standalone available for the wrx. I have seen a hydra being tuned, I didnt get to play with it myself. However I didnt care for the interface.

Matt
S L O W W R X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:41 PM   #5
rotanner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88781
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S L O W W R X
I drive my AEM every day, My personal opinion is that it is by far the most tuneable standalone available for the wrx. I have seen a hydra being tuned, I didnt get to play with it myself. However I didnt care for the interface.

Matt
They did, but they were doing 10 second passes with the UTEC before switching.
rotanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 08:39 AM   #6
alcrudojr #00
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20652
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: puerto rico
Vehicle:
06 WRX STI
493whp @ 93oct fuel

Default

If I remember correct they did 720whp with the UTEC, Gadiel once told me that were there might be a diference is at 30+psi with a GT35 or bigger turbo. So unless you are going to run in does parameters every day or every weekend I'll use the UTEC. Much more friendly!
alcrudojr #00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:02 AM   #7
moorebl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59238
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Default

i think utec is garbage. it has no way of learning outside temps and different weather. . blinking light everyday. i use my utec on my sti simply for a race map and then use the trouble free ecutek with a turboxs knocklite. cant go wront there. just make sure whom ever does the tunning is pretty good at it.
moorebl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:20 AM   #8
alcrudojr #00
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20652
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: puerto rico
Vehicle:
06 WRX STI
493whp @ 93oct fuel

Default

Remember that the UTEC its only as good as the tuner who set it up and obviosly UTEC its not the only ECU that is on the market. Depending on your need is it's the computer your going to use. I just think UTEC cover more needs than others.
alcrudojr #00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:23 AM   #9
fastcarman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107623
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new hampshire
Vehicle:
2005 impreza sti
black

Default

are yo ulooking for a utec ? I have one i took off my 2002 wrx before i traded it for my 05 sti. I'll sell it cheap. I only used it for a month . still set up pre programmed from turbo xs
fastcarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:45 PM   #10
lilsix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67185
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MoCounty Maryland
Vehicle:
2007 Audi S4
4.2l V8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorebl
i think utec is garbage.
. . blinking light everyday.
Are you talking about the knock light??? If so, and If you see it everyday, I think your tune is garbage not the utec.
lilsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:11 PM   #11
sprx19
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51091
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marion, Ohio
Vehicle:
2006 Evo

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcrudojr #00
Remember that the UTEC its only as good as the tuner who set it up and obviosly UTEC its not the only ECU that is on the market.
The UTEC is *not* an ECU.
sprx19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:19 PM   #12
Javier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19346
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Dirty all the time...
Vehicle:
2003 MBP WRX
Wiseco / Oliver EJ257

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorebl
i think utec is garbage. it has no way of learning outside temps and different weather. . blinking light everyday. i use my utec on my sti simply for a race map and then use the trouble free ecutek with a turboxs knocklite. cant go wront there. just make sure whom ever does the tunning is pretty good at it.
If your utec knocks everyday, get a new tuner, not a new em.
Javier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 06:20 PM   #13
proflexsti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88866
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

Big v made that 720whp on utec and made almost the same on the hydra. Many guys do not have good tuners and do not get the results that they are looking for.
proflexsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 02:20 PM   #14
keaniegenie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 94494
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2005 Element 92x
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggeyEYED
In the market for a new EM...i see people making big power with Hydra(is this sti only)out of my price range anyway
i have a wrx
I see some good numbers with AEM, but not usualy every day driven cars..
what about UTEC..can it be tuned and power worthy with big turbos..like gt35r, 40r, with worked blocks??
It is with a Wideband 02 sensor. The UTEC is capable of doing anything with this add on.

However, the cost of a wideband 02 sensor and UTEC alone cost the same as a Hydra. If your power goals are that high and you don't have a EM yet, go Hydra. I don't know much about the AEM unit.
keaniegenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 12:04 AM   #15
Gadiel
UTEC Guru
 
Member#: 19290
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Vehicle:
2004 White STI
AEM Factory Trained Tuner

Default

Well I have tuned Utec , Hydra, AEM , Cobb Accesports, Motec and others

I have to say that Utec is a good product but at this moment I like more others products.

If you want high horspower use a AEM or a Hydra.
The first thing that you want on a good ECU specially on a high horspower aplication is a reliable knock control.
Other thing are a good speed procesor, good resolution, and good dataloging.

If you use a good tuner is possible to reach good number with the UTEC but I think that you reach the same numbers and more safe with other ECU like Hydra and AEM.

I know that every body wants to know the diference between Hydra and Utec.
With both computer I reach similar horspower up to 700whp. I test both comp. at the dragstrip on a back to back pass on the Big Valley car and always the car run between .3 to .4 faster on the 1/4mile with the Hydra.
Why this happen? the answer is better resolution. With better resolution you refine more the power over the whole rpm range.

If you see my car I run 10.7@129mph with my STI . I run my car on boost only. I dont think that I could reach thats numbers with the Utec on my car. Thats the reason I switch to Hydra on my car.
If you are going to install a Gt35 or Gt40 and build block on a Subaru use Hydra or AEM and dont look back.

If you have more question send me a PM.

Gadiel
Gadiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 12:42 AM   #16
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsix
Are you talking about the knock light??? If so, and If you see it everyday, I think your tune is garbage not the utec.

..yeah.......really.....bad juju if it blinks all the time....sniff----poor motor dying a blink at a time.....sniff
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 01:46 AM   #17
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Also v5 of the firmware has temp compensation for timing and fuel...blinking CEL = knock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorebl
i think utec is garbage. it has no way of learning outside temps and different weather. . blinking light everyday. i use my utec on my sti simply for a race map and then use the trouble free ecutek with a turboxs knocklite. cant go wront there. just make sure whom ever does the tunning is pretty good at it.
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 11:35 PM   #18
kay95
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 45494
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: glen rock, pa
Vehicle:
95 impreza L awd
green

Default

utec=maf
stand-alone=map
kay95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 12:20 PM   #19
BuggeyEYED
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 101691
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
97 Supra TT
SOLD - 35r bug/hawkeye

Default

which equals more money and having to convert it over to map...right??
now im considering a hydra but i also need a map sensor and a wideband(whichever route i go)
BuggeyEYED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 02:12 PM   #20
Gadiel
UTEC Guru
 
Member#: 19290
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Vehicle:
2004 White STI
AEM Factory Trained Tuner

Default

The hydra include the Map sensor. And the wide band you can ask the tune or the dyno to bring the wide band for the tunning session.

By the way the Utec use the MAF but also use the stock Map sensor.

Gadiel
Gadiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 02:25 PM   #21
gcm05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105948
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Vehicle:
2005 wrx w/sti block
Crystal Grey Metallic

Default

Or just put your utec over an Ecutek tune.....tis fun!!!
gcm05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 09:42 AM   #22
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcm05
Or just put your utec over an Ecutek tune.....tis fun!!!
this is very powerful.
ride5000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 01:46 PM   #23
gcm05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105948
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Vehicle:
2005 wrx w/sti block
Crystal Grey Metallic

Default

yeah...i love it.
safety and ecu learning with some more crazy map tuning on top of it!!!
gcm05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:34 PM   #24
gaby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 94097
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Hybrid GT35
11.2@130.7

Default

Can you tunne the utec to eliminate the oem maf.
gaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:59 PM   #25
cdvma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21980
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Central MA
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX (Sold)
2009 BMW X5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcm05
Or just put your utec over an Ecutek tune.....tis fun!!!
Or put it on top of a free ECU reflash using the tools out there. Just as powerful.
cdvma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power limitation with Utec?? BuggeyEYED UTEC 1 02-16-2006 12:50 AM
any power gains with a turbo inlet hose? WrexFactor36 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 9 12-06-2004 08:55 PM
UTEC capacities or power limits... jared nelson Engine Management & Tuning 14 10-27-2004 02:00 AM
Rev limiter adjustment with Utec annointed Engine Management & Tuning 8 08-31-2003 02:33 AM
any power gains with stock intake and a k&n filter SnowSubaru15 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 13 07-09-2002 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.