Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2006, 07:24 PM   #1
mtxfrk2k1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 103401
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Summersville, WV
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
WRB

Default whats the cheapest way to get by

ive just blown all my money on an Evo 3 big 16 turbo, walbro 255fp, 700cc FT injectors, APS Front mount intercooler.


can i go get dynotuned with my stock ECU?

if i cant..

utec=$1000
Cobb=$545

anything cheaper??

ecutek??
high end EBC with the correct guages?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mtxfrk2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:06 PM   #2
Quack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57264
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Aurora, OH
Vehicle:
2004 18g Wagon - WRB
PDX Tuned - 329whp/315wtq

Default

sure, you can get tuned with your stock ECU, you just need the AP & ProTUNE, or the ECUTek.
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:11 PM   #3
LiquidForce
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12811
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roswell Ga
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l Wrx
517whp/516wtq (Stage pi)

Default

you don't need AP or ecutek. www.openecu.org and a $79 dollar cable are your tickets to freedom. any decent tuner should be able to work with the tools available there.
LiquidForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:17 PM   #4
jlagace
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89858
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Sedan
Crystal Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidForce
you don't need AP or ecutek. www.openecu.org and a $79 dollar cable are your tickets to freedom. any decent tuner should be able to work with the tools available there.
wth is that? never heard of it. anybody else have any experience with this OpenEcu??
jlagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 09:22 PM   #5
LiquidForce
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12811
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roswell Ga
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l Wrx
517whp/516wtq (Stage pi)

Default

This is a good site to read up on about flashing your own ecu. I'd suggest reading through it a couple of times. It pretty much covers all the bases.


http://www.scoobypedia.co.uk/index.p...ctingToYourECU
LiquidForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 12:03 AM   #6
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidForce
you don't need AP or ecutek. www.openecu.org and a $79 dollar cable are your tickets to freedom. any decent tuner should be able to work with the tools available there.

....unless ya got a '06 WRX
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:41 PM   #7
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
....unless ya got a '06 WRX
I know. I know. I've had the reflash working for a month now. I'm just trying to make the whole software package a bit cleaner.

"soon"!

Colby
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 08:51 PM   #8
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by colby
I know. I know. I've had the reflash working for a month now. I'm just trying to make the whole software package a bit cleaner.

"soon"!

Colby
......Uncle loves ya....


....and I even, almost, bought an '06 ECU and shipped it to you....bit I was short ~$100 and no guarantee on being able to vend it when done.....
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the best way to get a deal at the Borgata? MidnightSti05 Off-Topic 12 08-18-2009 10:36 AM
Where is the cheapest way to get silicone intercoolers cuplers pulser9 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 12-21-2008 11:19 AM
HELP!!! OT, Whats the cheapest way to ship a trunk!? socomcaptain05 Off-Topic 19 02-16-2008 05:46 PM
whats the cheapest way to switch btw maps on the fly?? BoGWAgon Engine Management & Tuning 6 05-20-2007 12:01 PM
Whats the cheapest way to get to 300AWHP out of an EJ20? blacktalon606 Newbies & FAQs 23 03-19-2006 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.