Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2006, 01:31 PM   #1
ScoobySnacker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105303
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
White

Default Realtime Vs basemap

I understand that the basemap will not change unless you change it or unmarry it. My question is what is the realtime map?? If i want stage2 93 0ctane, i would make that my base map..What is the point of a realtime map..I read cobbs FAQ and dont understand..could you please point this out to me
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ScoobySnacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:40 PM   #2
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobySnacker
I understand that the basemap will not change unless you change it or unmarry it. My question is what is the realtime map?? If i want stage2 93 0ctane, i would make that my base map..What is the point of a realtime map..I read cobbs FAQ and dont understand..could you please point this out to me

put stg 2 93 as your base and if you want valet mode, use switch map function to do it. then when you dont want it, do a reset. its so you can still switch maps without using up the ecu memory. you can only change base around 100 times. realtime is unlimited.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 02:37 PM   #3
ScoobySnacker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105303
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
White

Default

Thanks..its clear now
ScoobySnacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 03:04 PM   #4
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

A realtime map is for a situation like this... you have flashed the 93 octane base map and you are on a road trip. Dammit, this gas station only has 91, it sucks, what the hell do I do, my ECU will get detonation if I runn less than 93 octane now. Solution, grab handy dandy AP and load the 91 octane map without having to do a reflash. Oh, shoot, I autox and I have the 93 octane map loaded in, but I need the STX legal map, grab handy dandy AP and load up that map without a reflash. And like reviously mentioned, your wife/valet/mechanic, etc needs to borrow your car and you dont want them to have 280-300hp.
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 06:49 PM   #5
ScoobySnacker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105303
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theicewall
A realtime map is for a situation like this... you have flashed the 93 octane base map and you are on a road trip. Dammit, this gas station only has 91, it sucks, what the hell do I do, my ECU will get detonation if I runn less than 93 octane now. Solution, grab handy dandy AP and load the 91 octane map without having to do a reflash. Oh, shoot, I autox and I have the 93 octane map loaded in, but I need the STX legal map, grab handy dandy AP and load up that map without a reflash. And like reviously mentioned, your wife/valet/mechanic, etc needs to borrow your car and you dont want them to have 280-300hp.
Perfect!!! Thanks for the help...
ScoobySnacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 07:25 PM   #6
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

no problem, now just run the same realtime map as your basemap when you want to drive normally, ie. stage II 93 octane mentioned in your first post. Cobb states that your base map should be the highest map that you intend to run so that all of the basemap parameters are implemented. Some of the basemap parameters are not included in the realtime maps which is why it isnt a reflash, and in order to get the most out of stage II for instance you shouldnt run a stage I 91 octane map and then run a stage II 93 octane realtime map.
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 08:27 PM   #7
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theicewall
no problem, now just run the same realtime map as your basemap when you want to drive normally, ie. stage II 93 octane mentioned in your first post. Cobb states that your base map should be the highest map that you intend to run so that all of the basemap parameters are implemented. Some of the basemap parameters are not included in the realtime maps which is why it isnt a reflash, and in order to get the most out of stage II for instance you shouldnt run a stage I 91 octane map and then run a stage II 93 octane realtime map.

i believe when you flash a base map it automatically flashes the same real time map.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 09:51 PM   #8
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Real time maps aren't flashed though, they are selected. It can't hurt to check since it only takes 3 seconds right? Not to step on your toes over a technicality but I'd want to double check if it was my car.
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 08:23 AM   #9
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theicewall
Real time maps aren't flashed though, they are selected. It can't hurt to check since it only takes 3 seconds right? Not to step on your toes over a technicality but I'd want to double check if it was my car.

what do you mean? check which real time map is selected? if so you cant. you can only check the base map. but you could just reset and then do a switch.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 06:27 PM   #10
theicewall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70532
Join Date: Sep 2004
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
what do you mean? check which real time map is selected? if so you cant. you can only check the base map. but you could just reset and then do a switch.
Plug in AP, go to select map, chose 93 octane stage II, push big button. Done. Check it by just pushing the select button and that gurantees 100% that the correct map is loaded.
theicewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 06:37 PM   #11
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theicewall
Plug in AP, go to select map, chose 93 octane stage II, push big button. Done. Check it by just pushing the select button and that gurantees 100% that the correct map is loaded.

ok...
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realtime vs. Reflash justin24 Engine Management & Tuning 2 05-04-2010 05:55 PM
Cobb AP Stg2 basemap vs realtime DubUAreEx Newbies & FAQs 2 02-27-2007 12:16 PM
Need help!!!! QUICK...BASEMAP vs. REALTIME 06BlackSTIwith550WHP AccessPort 7 09-12-2006 11:04 AM
accessport wont flash new basemap or realtime map... wrxraaca Engine Management & Tuning 3 08-09-2005 09:05 AM
AccessPort RealTime vs. Base jnmarshall Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 11 04-02-2004 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.