Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2006, 04:56 PM   #1
chaddeus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56624
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fremont, CA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
Blue

Default About COBB and AccessPort

Their customer service is great. However, the AccessPort product is average. First, the AccessPort user interface is not that good. Things like resetting your ECU. When you perform a reset, it does not say if its done. Also, when using real map, did not tell us what real map we are using.

In addition, if you look at their map notes, http://www.cobbtuning.com/sti/access...2093%20oct.txt

At the bottom, it says if you receive a P0422 OBD code, should use the LWG version of the map. Should it be P0244

Well, overall, they are ok ok..

- Charles
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by chaddeus; 02-17-2006 at 08:57 PM.
chaddeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 01:07 PM   #2
kevin2.5rs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67518
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bean town
Vehicle:
2013 Focus ST
TB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaddeus
Things like resetting your ECU. When you perform a reset, it does not say if its done.

Also, when using real map, did not tell us what real map we are using.
- Charles
It takes like 3 seconds
Do not use the AP to reset the ECU. Pull the neg cable.......
It does not reset everything

Thats an easy one. look at the map before flahing or
> SHOW CURRENT MAP

Also flash the base map only. REAL TIME map is sent along with it
kevin2.5rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 02:47 PM   #3
chaddeus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56624
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fremont, CA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin2.5rs
It takes like 3 seconds
Do not use the AP to reset the ECU. Pull the neg cable.......
It does not reset everything

Thats an easy one. look at the map before flahing or
> SHOW CURRENT MAP

Also flash the base map only. REAL TIME map is sent along with it
Showing current map will ONLY show u the map base and not the real time. So if you base is say xyz map, and you use abc real time map, and when you check your current map, it will show xyz

- Chalres
chaddeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 02:48 PM   #4
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

I'd prefer to reset my ECU and keep the radio presets.

The AccessPorts ECU reset clears all of the engine related memory on the ECU.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 02:51 PM   #5
chaddeus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56624
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fremont, CA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parker/slc/gc8fan
I'd prefer to reset my ECU and keep the radio presets.

The AccessPorts ECU reset clears all of the engine related memory on the ECU.
Yes. That is the reason why I do not want to pull the battery cos I'll need to waste time setting up the audio

- Charles
chaddeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:18 PM   #6
elucas730
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42714
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Apalachin, NY
Vehicle:
'07 BMW 335i E90

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parker/slc/gc8fan
I'd prefer to reset my ECU and keep the radio presets.

The AccessPorts ECU reset clears all of the engine related memory on the ECU.
The user's manual states that using the RESET ECU function on the AccessPort does not reset the learning of the ECU. Hence, kevin's statement that the reset does not clear everything.
elucas730 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:30 PM   #7
chaddeus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56624
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fremont, CA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
Blue

Default

So what is the reset there for? To reset what? If my base is say 93 Oct and real time is Economy, then if I reset, it will go back to 93 Oct right?

Now, if my base is 93 Oct and I set to Economy mode, should I reset OR should I change my real time to 93 Oct?

- Charles
chaddeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:33 PM   #8
scrapin'
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 44681
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: SouthEastern, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX SWP Hatch
www.48hrs.info group lead

Default

Yes...

If you want to go back to your base 93 map, you could reset...or flash the realtime 93. (I personally would reset...it's just as easy and the base maps have more in depth parameters than the realtimes).

Reset ECU only clears the volatile memory. Base map is stored in non volatile memory. You dont have to flash the base map again, but you will lose your real time map. (if using one)

Last edited by scrapin'; 03-07-2006 at 09:27 PM. Reason: Added tech jargon
scrapin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 09:00 AM   #9
chaddeus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56624
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fremont, CA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
Blue

Default

I have a question about the reset function. How do I know its being resetted? There is no indicator that the reset is successful or whatever.

I think the user interface of AccessPort is very poor

- Charles
chaddeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 10:49 AM   #10
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

you dont really know by it telling you. but rather load the valet map and then do a reset and you can clearly see its working.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb DP Borla hush and Perrin UP and Accessport FS! Ej205scoob Engine/Power/Exhaust 17 10-11-2009 12:05 AM
FS: Cobb catback and AccessPort v1 for 04 STi and tranny mount 801_STi RMIC Private Classifieds 5 09-30-2009 12:32 AM
Cobb Tuning Accessport Version I Cobb Accessport WRX0520 Engine/Power/Exhaust 0 07-18-2007 03:02 AM
Gauging interest: 04 Cobb AP / Accessport and 04 ECU Bishop SCIC Private Classifieds 4 05-03-2006 04:48 AM
Questions about UTEC and Accessport/AccessECU anti.team Engine Management & Tuning 1 04-22-2004 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.