Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2006, 02:16 PM   #1
Anihil8r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92006
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default AP - Car won't go into test mode! Help please.

I had done all the steps to "Revert to Stock". It went in to test mode. I started the AP. Turned the car off and back on. It initialized and started flashing. It got to 2% then stopped and read "Select a map to switch to". Well that wasn't good. So I canceled it, turned the key off, unpluged it and the connectors. Then I plugged the connectors back together (yes, the blue one too) and turned the key on. No CEL flashing or fans turning on or off. I disconnected everything and then disconnected the battery for a bit. I reconnected the battery and tried the process again but it still won't go into test mode.

I really hope someone can help!

PS. The car won't start either. It turns over good but doesn't start.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Anihil8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 02:18 PM   #2
06WRXTR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96668
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SW Missouri
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR

Default

blue? i thought they were green
06WRXTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 02:34 PM   #3
Anihil8r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92006
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 06WRXTR
blue? i thought they were green
I may have not relayed that correctly. I connected the two green connectors and the blue one that comes with the AP to the white connector.
Anihil8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 07:02 PM   #4
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

If you don't go into test mode with just the green connectors connected, then the passanger side green connectors are disconnected. On 04+ WRXs there is more then one connection for these diag plugs. One on passanger and one on driver side under dash. When the techs at the dealership PDI the car they are supposed to connect the passanger side ones, but sometimes one slips by (usually lame ass PDI techs). Try to track them down... they will look the same... I think they are under the dash or carpet to the right of the ECU... there are a few threads on here and Cobb's site about this. Haven't heard of it in a long time. When you find them, connect them and leave them connected... just disconnect the driver side ones once you're done flashing.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 07:58 PM   #5
Anihil8r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92006
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default

I should have mentioned it's on '02 WRX. This has all worked in the past perfectly but for some reason this time it's all gone haywire and I don't have any idea how to reset things or whatever needs to be done. I just hope the ECU isn't jacked up.
Anihil8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 08:03 PM   #6
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

carpet to the right of the ECU...... im pretty sure.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 08:14 PM   #7
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

More than likely you have a failed reflash on your hands. You will probably have to send your ECU in to Cobb to revive it. It can't hurt to try everyone else's suggestions first as this point though.
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 07:07 PM   #8
monkeytuner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 95081
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

how much would a reflash from cobb cost?
monkeytuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 12:17 AM   #9
duc748s
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44050
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 'Wrong Turn' Jerzy
Vehicle:
Lead paint chips....
.....delicious but deadly

Default

First try to disconnect your battery and hold the brake down for about 30 sec.. then reconnect and try to start..

Cobb will tell you this step if you call, so try it first..
duc748s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 07:34 AM   #10
monkeytuner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 95081
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

Well I solved the problem at about midnight. I have downloaded the service manual and was trying all the wiring diag. for the testmode connectors and it did not help so using the wire diagram I was able to trace it down to a problem at the connector at the ecm someone had cut an inch of wire out of this pin 14 on the b134 connector. but I am all set reflashed the ECM last night and can't wait to go drive it.
monkeytuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 08:21 AM   #11
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeytuner
Well I solved the problem at about midnight. I have downloaded the service manual and was trying all the wiring diag. for the testmode connectors and it did not help so using the wire diagram I was able to trace it down to a problem at the connector at the ecm someone had cut an inch of wire out of this pin 14 on the b134 connector. but I am all set reflashed the ECM last night and can't wait to go drive it.
Well, thanks for contributing, but seems to me you had our own problem which you didn't state in this thread... then just started posting statements.

Still waiting to hear from the OP on his problem (the subject of this thread).
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 07:35 PM   #12
bowenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6439
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

and a bump...

I can't get my AP into test mode...

connected the greens...
then connected the blue to the whitish one...
then turned ON...nothing. No CEL flash.

refered to page 47, found the pass. green connectors, they are already connected.

tried again...nothing.

it's on an 02 wrx...any thoughts?
bowenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 07:45 PM   #13
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

It's possible the wires have been cut.

Which means alot of pita searching.

FYI: The AP doesnt go into test mode, the car goes into test mode. Test mode allows the AP to communicate with the ECU.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 07:46 PM   #14
bowenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6439
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

There are no reasons the wires should be cut...

it's been mine since new.

and yeah, the car doesn't flash the CEL...

grrr...

wondering if I should just try to connect/install it anyway?
bowenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 07:57 PM   #15
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

There are plenty of reasons the wires can be cut.

It's the dealer's job to do the pdi (pre-delivery inspection).

If the tech decides it's easier to just cut the wires, thats what he does. I dont like it as much as you dont, but it happens none-the-less.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 08:16 PM   #16
bowenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6439
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

well, said screw it...tried to get it installed...

worked fine.

installed fine..car works..

time to drive !
bowenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 08:57 PM   #17
Anihil8r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92006
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default

I ended up sending my ECU to cobb to be reporgrammed then in went into test mode. They didn't charge me one red cent. GO COBB!
Anihil8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 10:12 PM   #18
bowenx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6439
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

I'm not sure why it didn't flash the CEL...but I figured I'd try to see what happens up to the step where it intializes...it was doing exactly what the instructions said...so just kept up with it.

Just got back from a test drive...oh yeah, I love it.

can't wait for the DP to come in now too.
bowenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 03:39 PM   #19
Flexx999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36302
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Vehicle:
2006 Big 16G WRX
Addicted to Blue

Default

I just reflashed my 06 this morning to stage 1. When I put the car into test mode the fan went on and off and the cel light flashed. I looked in the book and this is all normal. But I didnt ever notice this on my 02 wrx when I reflashed it. And I did it a few times....from stock to stage 1 then to stage 2 and then again to stage 2 when they upgraded my ECU on warranty then back to stock again. And never once to I remember it doing the same thing as my 06 did. And my 02 flashed fine every time. So unless Im mistaken about my 02 not doing that....then I think it will work.
Flexx999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help!!! Car won't go into test mode wuuusaa Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 5 02-28-2008 04:59 PM
not going into test mode when uploading a new map shane04 AccessPort 5 03-03-2007 11:55 PM
car not going into Test mode with AP Lordhowe Engine Management & Tuning 2 08-27-2005 04:32 PM
Help!! My car won't go into 2nd ej20_876 Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 20 08-02-2005 12:36 AM
Help, car won't go into gear with cable clutch! yebokmj Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 6 10-04-2004 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.