Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2006, 10:44 AM   #1
djpete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 90395
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North End, Boston
Vehicle:
2000 Nissan Altima
JUNKKKKK

Default AP Help! Low Voltage message?

Hey guys....i have an 04 wrx with the cobb AP.... i was running stg 2 91 oct and wanted to change my base map to stg 2 93 oct but when i hooked everything up, the AP came up with a car low voltage message, anyone ever get this before?

help!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 01:38 AM   #2
ase05scooby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 103710
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: canton
Vehicle:
05 impreza wrx
red

Default

Make sure you have every electrical component turned off or you might have a battery with a low charge try taking your car and getting the battery tested.
ase05scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 03:42 AM   #3
subarulz!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99061
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Beaverton Or.
Vehicle:
06 wrx wagon
CGM

Default

I may even look into getting a bettery. If you run out of juice midway through the flash, your ECU will be fried and useless. This has happened to some people. Be very sure your battery is good.
subarulz! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 04:09 AM   #4
SketchINoc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 87370
Join Date: May 2005
Location: So Cal
Vehicle:
2005 WRX,Soon to be
EVO9-94 toyota4x4 project

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subarulz!
I may even look into getting a bettery. If you run out of juice midway through the flash, your ECU will be fried and useless. This has happened to some people. Be very sure your battery is good.
it will not be fried useless, but it will need to be sent to cobb for a fix. I suggest taking your car out for a half hour drive, then flashing.
SketchINoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 01:16 PM   #5
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

No, it will be fried if you dont have enough voltage to keep the ECU on during a flash.

Dont post somthing you think you know.

To the starter of the thread, it is also possible you forgot to connect your innitialization connector.

FYI: This forum is full of mis-information. Too many people think they kno now a days, so they post as if they did know, even though they dont, all you have to do is say you "think"!
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 01:58 PM   #6
Sooby1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86829
Join Date: May 2005
Default

Do a search!
Sooby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 02:10 PM   #7
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Did you connect the white flash connector? I know it's a supid question, but you won't have sufficient voltage unless you connect that connector... it's what actually puts the ECU into the higher flashing voltage. If you have done this, it's either a weak battery like everyone else stated or you're Cobb cable is borked (so what else is new).
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 02:37 PM   #8
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

The "Fried" term is a bit lacking in technical accuracy. In general, if you are reflashing and memory blocks are erased or partially written that are essential to the ECU booting up, you are at risk of having an unbootable ECU if the reflash process dies at that point and you can't resume it .

Once you turn the ignition off and try to boot the ECU again, it won't respond to commands via the OBDII K-line, and so you can't restart the reflash process as you did the previous time. It also will not be able to run the engine. From an end-user perspective, this ECU is dead. This is also why it is important to not turn the car off if you think you have a bad flash and you are still trying to resolve the problem.

Nothing is truly damaged on the ECU however, it just has non-functional software. If you have the right hardware, you can open up the ECU and wire in to the CPU chip on the circuit board (or remove the CPU), and reprogram it via a BDM / JTAG / PROM or other development interface. This is often how these chips get programmed initially at the factory. A Sti ECU, for example, has special connection pads on the PCB where you can connect up 6 wires to a special circuit and reprogram the main CPU. The secondary drive by wire CPU can also be done via a similar method. Once good software is loaded back into the ECU, it will work again and can also be reflashed via the OBD port in the future.

Colby
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 04:30 PM   #9
elduderino11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 75464
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Vehicle:
'05 WRX sedan Stg 2
2.3L CGM, Harman Tuned

Default

Quote:
Did you connect the white flash connector? I know it's a supid question, but you won't have sufficient voltage unless you connect that connector... it's what actually puts the ECU into the higher flashing voltage. If you have done this, it's either a weak battery like everyone else stated or you're Cobb cable is borked (so what else is new)
this just happened to me about a week ago. Changed map to eco mode, went to change it back to stage 1, forgot to hook up the white flash connector. Took me almost an hour to figure out my dumb mistake.
elduderino11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 08:03 PM   #10
pjensen641
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 36777
Join Date: May 2003
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

I hooked my car up to a trickle charger while I was flashing. Don't know if this is a good idea or not. I assume the AP has a voltage regulator to knock the voltage down exactly where it needs to be in order to re-write the ECU.

FWIW...if you don't turn everything off..i.e. radio, lights, fan, etc. I was seeing the voltage drop in to the 11.XX range according to my Pasport 8500 (which reads the exact same voltage as a datalog). If I turned everything off, I was seeing the voltage hold around 12.2 with no charger. My trickle charger held it at 13 volts, which is comfortably above the volt minumum that Cobb indicates.
pjensen641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 10:21 AM   #11
djpete
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 90395
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North End, Boston
Vehicle:
2000 Nissan Altima
JUNKKKKK

Default

i forgot the flash connector geez thanks for your help...my stupid mistake!
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 11:05 AM   #12
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooby1
Do a search!




http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=946860
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP version 1, low voltage problems Black Pearl07 AccessPort 1 10-25-2009 11:49 PM
AP v1 flashing low voltage issue bugeyedriver AccessPort 5 08-13-2007 07:19 PM
AP help, "Car voltage too low??" lunatic meth AccessPort 20 04-17-2006 08:15 PM
AP Low voltage fix EmsTrauma Engine Management & Tuning 3 11-14-2005 06:41 PM
AP low voltage check cable, ***??? Reddstars Engine Management & Tuning 13 03-08-2005 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.