Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
Preacher
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107456
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default Connection

I'm a little confused. Do you all keep the accessport connected while driving? I know it's possible to change on the fly/while driving, so that would imply you have the accessport connected at all times? Like with valet mode or anti-theft mode, you would need the accessport with you to change the map when you arrive at one of those places or have a need for that paricular map. Or do most of you just flash the ECU and then disconnect the accessport and leave it off? Or is it a thing where you have the accessport in car with you (i.e. glovebox) to change the maps when needed?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:48 PM   #2
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

do a little more reading. you shouldnt change maps "on the fly". i keep mine in the glovebox while driving. and take it out at home during the night or whatever.

edit: i think i know what your saying.... NO you dont have to leave it plugged in.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:06 AM   #3
Preacher
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107456
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

I know you're not supposed to change maps while driving and it's not recommended, and I never would....but I thought the Cobbs website said it is "posssible". I know you don't HAVE to leave it in either. Maybe I should clarify/rephrase the questions.....do most of you drive with it plugged in, in the car somewhere but not plugged in, or not even near the car/only to flash the ECU?
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:36 AM   #4
fantomas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87500
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ctsubaru.com
Vehicle:
2012 Outback 2.5i P
Graphite Gray

Default

i don't think anyone does because of where the OBD port is located (it gets in the way of your knees) and unless you want to see the boost, its really pointless.

you can, however, move the OBD port and run the cables behind the dash buts thats a pain if you switch maps constantly.
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:46 AM   #5
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

i dont think anybody drives w/ it constantly plugged in....like fantomas said it would get in the way. but like i said before i keep it in the car w/ me while driving and take it out at night so it doesnt get stolen. the only time i drive with it plugged in is to read live boost.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:45 AM   #6
Preacher
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107456
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

That's what I was thinking but the way some people post, it sounds like they have it constantly plugged in. I was thinking about doing what fantomas said and somehow moving the port and wires behind the dash and mounting the accessport somewhere. It does sound like more trouble then it's worth though....but have any of you done that? any pics or descriptions of how and where?

p.s. My '06 is on order so I don't know exactly how things look/are set-up. Just going off of pictures and descriptions I've seen/heard.
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems connecting to ecu with green connectors and jumper connected claudefrog Open Source Reflashes 3 05-15-2008 11:58 AM
Connecting an old G3 Powerbook to connect to our wireless network? Dennis ex24 Off-Topic 14 03-01-2007 03:46 AM
DSL connection drops everytime AIM direct connect attempted live311 Off-Topic 5 01-02-2005 11:23 PM
EJ25 Intake, connected to EJ22T ECU. Electronics interaction and Accessory connection ciper Subaru Conversions 1 12-06-2003 02:50 PM
Intakes connected to plenum VS. Intakes Connected to throttle body - opinions pls. JaiMak Normally Aspirated Powertrain 16 10-19-2000 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.