Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2006, 10:56 AM   #1
XENONSVX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41719
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: LANSING, MI
Vehicle:
XT, SVX, JUSTY &
GF8 STI V4 RA

Default standalone on V4

thinking about standalone, I know I can get an apexi power fc for my V4 STi

Also thinking about rewiring and putting a wrx ecu in there w/ access port. Only problem I can think of would be the fact that 02 wrx uses individual coils. Any thoughts on this?

that or just getting one of those pro m maf converters

thoughts, comments, please post
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
XENONSVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 11:24 AM   #2
Matt Monson
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 832
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Teh Ghetto Garage, CO
Vehicle:
99 2.5RS, '85 911
'73 914 and 2012 BRZ

Default

The problem with using a modern USDM ECU is going to be the cam gears and trigger points. I used to think this would be a fairly straight forward conversion to run an older JDM engine, but some digging suggests otherwise.

I don't think it would be impossible, but the cam diameter of the newer engines is larger and you can't just swap the cam gears over. Finding a way to make your cam gears have the proper trigger points will be the greatest challenge...
Matt Monson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 12:34 PM   #3
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

intersting ... about the cam diamater ..

there are at least 2 other brands of plug n play for the v4
link and autronic
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 10:19 PM   #4
johnkaldar
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51047
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hart, Michigan
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 RS/sti-ra
White

Default

I found link around 1500 and autronic around 1900. What is different between these brands? I heard something about autronic being able to learn like the stock ecu.
johnkaldar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 11:17 PM   #5
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

Have you considered getting a cheaper used standalone and wiring it up in parrallel with the stock ecu to retain stockish driveability. What you'd do is have the 'standalone' control the fueling and spark and let the stock ecu retain the rest (idle, AC, etc.)

Just throwing it out there as it could be a cheap alternative that retains some nice features of the stock ecu. This used to be done with good success in the older Turbo RS days with a TEC 2.

Louis
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:29 PM   #6
XENONSVX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41719
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: LANSING, MI
Vehicle:
XT, SVX, JUSTY &
GF8 STI V4 RA

Default

i thought they stopped making the tec2 a while ago?
XENONSVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:23 PM   #7
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XENONSVX
i thought they stopped making the tec2 a while ago?
My suggestion was not to get a Tec2 but a comprable standalone...there are plenty of ECU's that you can do this with.

Louis
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:45 PM   #8
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

i would say look into the Autronic, they have plug in applications for the earlier motors. they are great ecu's.

www.autronic.com

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 02:07 PM   #9
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

yeah negitiev vote on tec 2
the tec 3 on the other hand has plenty of features ...

the autronic has an autolearn feature that works with an lm-1 or autronic wideband .. you set open loop and closed loop targets instead of setting fuel duty cycels then drive around .. pretty cool.. the hydra does this too
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 02:23 PM   #10
kheff46
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66739
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Medina, Ohio
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
silver

Default

jaxx- are you running your tec2 with stock ecu, or standalone, or??? and what does the tec3 do beyond tec2 capabilities? im on the V4 bandwagon too, and would like to get more info about whats possible with using multiple em devices together. any more info helps even a lil. TIA!
kheff46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 02:24 PM   #11
Matt Monson
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 832
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Teh Ghetto Garage, CO
Vehicle:
99 2.5RS, '85 911
'73 914 and 2012 BRZ

Default

OK,
Going a little OT here, but say someone acquires a V4 or some other swap without ECU. Could they realistically take the plug in Autronic replacement and use it, as long as they got the connectors (legacy turbo is the same) and wired it up properly?

I ask because of the cam issues I mention above and my desire to run my RS-RA on a tuneable ECU...
Matt Monson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 02:40 PM   #12
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

kheff. both ecus
tec2 controlls fuel and timing
stock ecu controls cluster/fuel pump/fans/relays - stuff the tec 2 could do
the tec 2 is 8x8 the tec 3 is 16x16 and has a ton more inputs and outputs (close loop boost control/wideband closed loop)

one thing about the tec 2 its not a pretty setup, the wiring is all at the coil unit making in (my case) a rats nest of wires

matt sure .. or the link or the pfc . .that said the base map could be bad or good..

with the link or autronic .. you won't even need the maf, but will need to run a vaccume line to the ecu
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 02:53 PM   #13
Matt Monson
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 832
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Teh Ghetto Garage, CO
Vehicle:
99 2.5RS, '85 911
'73 914 and 2012 BRZ

Default

I've got a local tuner who knows the autronics, so I am not too worried about the base map. We can make it work...
Matt Monson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 04:44 PM   #14
kheff46
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66739
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Medina, Ohio
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
silver

Default

jaxx- is the tec 3 better looking than your cluster**** you have now? (wired in at coil also)? and what is the best supplement to the V4 ecu thats currently avail. in your opinion? i'd like something that can handle basic upgrades but is capable of much more. sorry about the hijack fellas!
kheff46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 05:02 PM   #15
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

cleaner install than tec2-- yes, considreably..
more expensive than a autronic by $600+ --yes (and need an install kit that isn't made any more (vishnu)
plug n play like autronic,link,pfc --no

a non plug n play sm2 or sm4 is a good option too

i know gary cavett (subiegals better half ) runs a autronic in his ej20G based rally car


matt pull down the autronic software and play with it is very envolved...
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 03:42 PM   #16
kheff46
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66739
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Medina, Ohio
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
silver

Default

thanks for the info jaxx!
kheff46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
04 brembo's on v4 sti hubs? Rei_Akira Brakes, Steering & Suspension 0 03-05-2009 01:09 PM
Anyone in NY running a standalone on an OBD2 car? Dr Tweak Engine Management & Tuning 5 02-21-2007 10:29 AM
limp mode on V4 XENONSVX Subaru Conversions 7 04-06-2006 11:20 AM
data logger on V4? XENONSVX Subaru Conversions 0 03-02-2006 10:04 AM
AEM standalone on GC - No speedometer... Really_Soaked Subaru Conversions 11 11-12-2005 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.