Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2006, 02:10 PM   #1
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default AWD Fuel Tank Conversion Question???

I just purchased and installed an AWD gas tank from a Legacy. The main sending unit has 5 wires. My car has 4 wires. The extra wire is for a fuel temp. sensor, I think. I wired all the matching wires together and tapeing off the other. I used a fuel pump that I know works in the AWD sending unit. I did not touch the wiring in the secondary sending unit. When I turn the key to the on position I can here the fuel pump run, But the car will not start. If anyone can help please tell me what I've overlooked.

Thanks,
Wayne
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 02:43 PM   #2
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

hmm if you get the fuel pump prime the car should start ...


if the return line was fubar it might cause this ...did you get the return hooked up to the right port- thinking you connected it to the vent port which might have a check valve ..
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 05:39 PM   #3
Lachlan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19470
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
1981 Brat GL
Blue

Default

Doesn't sound like a fuel pump problem then. Is it cranking at all?
Lachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 07:33 PM   #4
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

Yes the car cranks. All I did was change the tank. I took out the working pump that I had and put in the new tank. I am going to double check the lines in a minute.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 08:36 PM   #5
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

If I cycle the key to the on position and back to the off position several times in a row then try to start the carit will tray to start for a couple of rotations. When you mention priming how exsactly do you go about doing that?
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:39 PM   #6
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

priming as in
when you turn the key to on the ecu turns on the pump for ~1 sec then shuts it off until it sees measurable RPM
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 10:33 PM   #7
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

Yes, it pimes itself. But if I take off te fuel line it doesn't send any fuel out. Do I need enough gas in the tank to have some on both sides of the tank?
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:30 AM   #8
scobaru
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 31345
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wisconsin
Vehicle:
05 LGT, GC8, NA
blue, white, blue

Default

this might be a stupid question but are you sure you hooked up the hoses in the correct position? My FWD gas tank only had 2 lines going into it and the awd one had 3. one coming from the other side I believe or something of that sort.
scobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:50 AM   #9
spongejosh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62783
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Saudi Aurora, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

why didn't you just reuse the impreza sending unit?

josh
spongejosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 06:06 AM   #10
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

Because the AWD tank requires the third conection in the sending unit to get the gas form the other side of the tank.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:40 AM   #11
scobaru
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 31345
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wisconsin
Vehicle:
05 LGT, GC8, NA
blue, white, blue

Default

could you take a picture of what you did or what your doing... i'm intrested to see a picture of the harness vs the old harness... when I did my AWD swap I used a legacy wireharness but I had to repin 2 of the wires...
scobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:26 AM   #12
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

I spliced the Legacy plug onto the end of the Impreza harness. I wasn't sure about how to repin the plug. All of the wires matched up though. I already have the tank in the car. What are you wanting pictures of?
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:30 AM   #13
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

Quote:
AWD tank requires the third conection in the sending unit to get the gas form the other side of the tank
????
mmm i believe the the third connection is for the charcoal vent not a connection to the drivers side of the tank
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:42 AM   #14
Lachlan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19470
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
1981 Brat GL
Blue

Default

One of them pulls gas from the left side of the saddle over to the right side to be pumped.
Lachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:06 PM   #15
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

corect. The tank had all of the original hoses on it, they were cut but were still lined up apropriatly.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:11 PM   #16
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

I only replaced the hoses with new ones.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:12 PM   #17
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

I did not check the lines on the sending unit. Could these possibly be cloged?
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 07:11 PM   #18
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

I am getting pressure at the sending unit but now were else. I have disconected both the send and return lines and no pressure on eather. I quadruple checked the lines and they are correct. Could the hard lines on the tank be clogged?
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:23 PM   #19
Lachlan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19470
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
1981 Brat GL
Blue

Default

So you confirm that the pump is definitely pumping at the correct pressure?
Lachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:56 PM   #20
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

No. I don't have a fuel pressure guage. But the 93 Impreza that I took the pump out of was my daily driver. It had only been parked for a week while I was taking it apart to get rid of it when I took the pump out. The 95 that I put it in is now my only car. And I can't get it running. I am having to bum rides to work and back! I need some help bad!
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 07:16 AM   #21
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

Bump.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 09:42 AM   #22
Lachlan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19470
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
1981 Brat GL
Blue

Default

nothing at the fuel filter?
Lachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:51 AM   #23
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

yeah i suppose that is the next thing to try new fuel filter .. might even try flushing the hard lines
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 05:07 PM   #24
Wayne_Coots
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 70481
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
95 Impreza
Semi-Flat Black

Default

No nothing at the fuel filter. But there is pressure at the sending unit.
Wayne_Coots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 05:34 PM   #25
Lachlan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19470
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
1981 Brat GL
Blue

Default

Wierd. well, obviously there's either a leak or a block somewhere along the line from the sending unit to the filter. Some remote possibilities:
You wired the pump with opposite polarity and now it's pumping into the tank rather than out of it
You mixed up the hoses and you're pumping into the left side of the tank instead of to the filter (I would check the pressure on the left side of the tank just to make sure that's not it)
One of the rubber hoses is getting crushed by something, thus creating a block.
Lachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which awd fuel tanks will fit into a 95L? 2slofouru Subaru Conversions 10 01-24-2007 01:28 PM
Impreza Fuel Tank Conversion comp1 Subaru Conversions 3 01-03-2007 07:02 PM
Fuel Tank For AWD GC? Wayne_Coots Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 2 02-02-2005 05:50 AM
light kit and fuel tank conversion souljaboi Subaru Conversions 3 06-01-2004 10:31 PM
Fuel tank capacity question STi-Nismo Dood Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 9 07-05-2003 05:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.