Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday October 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2006, 02:14 PM   #1
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default Streettuner Cams and Higher Revs

I am soon to be sporting a stage 3 block from Axis which is capable of 8000+rpms. I will also have some larger duration cams, probably 272I 264E or 272E I haven't made up my mind. It is my understanding that you don't tune for cams, that you can slap them in and they work. Is that true or not? If you do have to tune for cams will street tuner have the appropriate parameters to tune for cams?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 12:05 PM   #2
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default

XX tuning has awnsered my question just in case anyone else wants to know.....You do't have to tune for the cams. You do have to keep in mind the shift in powerband though.
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 02:46 AM   #3
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

Cams will change the VE of your engine in various rpm ranges. This means you MUST also change the timing in those ranges to suit it. Unless you just don't want to have the best/safest tuning.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 08:21 AM   #4
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default

What is VE?
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 06:30 AM   #5
channerman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29046
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
Black

Default

channerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 06:44 AM   #6
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greysave
I am soon to be sporting a stage 3 block from Axis which is capable of 8000+rpms. I will also have some larger duration cams, probably 272I 264E or 272E I haven't made up my mind. It is my understanding that you don't tune for cams, that you can slap them in and they work. Is that true or not? If you do have to tune for cams will street tuner have the appropriate parameters to tune for cams?
If you are going to raise the rev limit with street tuner, you will run into the throttle closing at the stock redline.
I posted some maps at iwsti that has that fixxed and has the low speed boost multiplier increased. The maps are untuned, you will need to tune them to your setup.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:39 AM   #7
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

you got my hopes up TMS. . . no 2006 maps
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:47 AM   #8
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Ohh yeh sorry 2004 Sti only.

Send an email to a protuner near you. Most likely they will make the TPS change for free. It is only one cell in the TPS map the needs to be changed.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:22 PM   #9
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadScientist
If you are going to raise the rev limit with street tuner, you will run into the throttle closing at the stock redline.
I posted some maps at iwsti that has that fixxed and has the low speed boost multiplier increased. The maps are untuned, you will need to tune them to your setup.

TMS
Thanks, I was having a similar problem on my previous setup. Is your name the same on IWSTI.
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:29 PM   #10
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EJ25D re-clocked ECU - 10% higher rev limiter. $50 SHIPPED Patrick Olsen Engine/Power/Exhaust 7 05-21-2010 02:42 PM
Higher CR w/ StgII cams and CNC'd heads. PeteDucati Built Motor Discussion 0 11-24-2006 03:29 PM
Burning Oil only at higher revs? Tricky [RCAF] Normally Aspirated Powertrain 8 09-04-2006 04:28 PM
question about TWE cams and raising rev limit on 99 2.5 RS... Assassin4457 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 9 05-17-2006 12:05 AM
For a higher rev limit mistaboosta Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 20 04-18-2005 06:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.