Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2006, 02:19 PM   #1
abosworth
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53856
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NoVerm Brah......
Vehicle:
2012 Speed3
Red Mica

Default Questions about Access Port.

Couple of easy questions about accessport.

I have a 03 wrx with a 3" turboxs turboback exaust with a gutted up-pipe. I am pretty much sold on gettting the accessport but would like to know with my current mods if i should run stage 1 or stage 2.

Roughly how much horse power would i be looking at for stage 1 upgrade? Stage 2?

Is the accessport able to accept learn for new mods? ie. if i wanted to add an upgraded turbo in the future.

Thanks in advance.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
abosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:29 PM   #2
nate49509
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22452
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Not Flint.
Vehicle:
'04 WRX
witty comment goes here

Default

nate49509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:30 PM   #3
ScoobySnacker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105303
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
White

Default

You would need to run stage2 since you have a downpipe. If you did not have that DP you would be stage1. I believe cobb rates stage 2 at 285/290(at the flywheel of course), someone correct me if i am wrong. Anyways go to cobbs website and read up before you post. All this info is on there
ScoobySnacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:31 PM   #4
ScoobySnacker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105303
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
White

Default

ahh nate you beat me to it
ScoobySnacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:38 PM   #5
abosworth
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53856
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NoVerm Brah......
Vehicle:
2012 Speed3
Red Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobySnacker
You would need to run stage2 since you have a downpipe. If you did not have that DP you would be stage1. I believe cobb rates stage 2 at 285/290(at the flywheel of course), someone correct me if i am wrong. Anyways go to cobbs website and read up before you post. All this info is on there
Okay. thanks for the responses. I did look at that link before but i misinterpreted it. It says stock intake and turboback are required. I thought they meant that the stock turbo back was required but i guess the mean stock intake and an aftermarket 2.5" or 3" exhaust. .

thanks again for the help.

Adam.
abosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 05:08 PM   #6
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

To go a bit further, yes the ECU can learn SOME things, but major changes like a new turbo - no way. You need a professional tune for that.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 09:49 PM   #7
abosworth
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53856
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NoVerm Brah......
Vehicle:
2012 Speed3
Red Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
To go a bit further, yes the ECU can learn SOME things, but major changes like a new turbo - no way. You need a professional tune for that.
Thanks mcowger. I thought not.
abosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 10:11 PM   #8
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

285/285 on 93 octane stg 2.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 12:34 PM   #9
kilfarsnar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106116
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd Wagon
CGM, VF39 Brentuned

Default A bit OT, but

I have searched for this, but can't find a thread: Why does the Cobb Stage 1 not put out more power? I have been told that a "chipped" Audi S4 will push ~300 hp with stock exhaust. That's a 50hp increase over stock! I am wondering why the Cobb stage 1 mod will increase hp by only 30. I seem to remember that torque is increased more. The engines in these two cars are similar in displacement (2.5 WRX, 2.7 S4), though the Audi is a twin turbo 6 of course. Can anyone explain this differnence? Thanks!
kilfarsnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 01:56 PM   #10
DroppedClutch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52313
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Chandler, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 STiOmgWtfBbq20G
2007 MS3 Black

Default

And some "chipped" diesels can make 200+ ftlbs more torque over stock. I think you're trying to compare apples to oranges. I don't think comparing the two is fair since so many factors between the Subies and the Audi's are different. Power is not just a factor of displacement. But, obviously, the Audi's seem to "suffer" from a more conservative factory map, given the hardware, than our cars.
DroppedClutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 02:15 PM   #11
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

all i can say is if you start out w/ more power you will gain more power over a car w/ less with the same mods.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 10:35 AM   #12
kilfarsnar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106116
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd Wagon
CGM, VF39 Brentuned

Default

Thanks for the replies! I guess it is apples to oranges. I was just hoping for some reason that would get my S4 owning friend off my back! "Really? Only 30 HP? WTF?" I'll just tell him it's ok, because I have 500 pounds on him!
kilfarsnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: 04 STI Access Port and 05 STI Access Port NEW in Box $569 Shpped 4 Each!!! mrtrex Engine/Power/Exhaust 10 09-18-2006 07:43 AM
Overstock 3 04 STI Cobb Access Ports 2 05 STI Access Ports FREE OVERNIGHT SHIPPING!! Spun Autosports Engine/Power/Exhaust 41 09-05-2006 09:44 AM
to access port or to not access port. that is the question DarkShadow Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 10 07-15-2004 02:47 AM
questions about access ecu petawabit Engine Management & Tuning 2 04-24-2003 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.