Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2006, 03:21 PM   #1
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Post Tried to unmarry the AP..now car not working

I tried to unmarry the AP today and it seemed to work but my car doesn't start now. Any ideas?

Have an 04 Sti. Used to have a TBX TBE so I had the AP set at stage 2 93. Ran great. Put stock exhaust back on and tried to revert AP back to stock.

Initialization worked ok. But car doesnt respond to turn over.

- I disconnected green test wires
- I also tried disconnected battery for an hour... no help.

Tried initializing again and it when thrtough process but timedout before it got to 100%... keep saying it was trying again... I finally got impatient and disconnected all. Then tried to start car but nothing.

_ When I plug the AP back in to try reinitializing again it looks as if my ECU has BEEN reset but when i tried reinitiallizing to stock, or stage 1 93 or even back to stage 2, keeps saying error connecting and doesnt initialize

HeLLPPP!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:37 PM   #2
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

did you disconnect the white plug? dont know if you even use it, or if it would help, but i had too. you ecu may be gone if it got interfered with during the process.....
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:44 PM   #3
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
did you disconnect the white plug? dont know if you even use it, or if it would help, but i had too. you ecu may be gone if it got interfered with during the process.....
Thanks man but there is no white plug required for the AP for STi. The only pieces required for the reflash are the AP's red connector and making sure the green test connctors are attched to each other.

I am worried about damage to the ECU. But bear in mind, before I tried to reflash it again (this was when I interrupted the initilization process because it was hung up "trying again") it seem to have worked when I initially unmarried the AP. (the only problem was that the car didnt turn over.)
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:53 PM   #4
ScoobyNubieToo!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75234
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon with
07 STI 6-Speed Goodness!

Default

Does it go into the "test mode" with the connectors hooked up and the key turned? A idea that sometimes works is to to attempt reflash/unmarry with another vehicle running and jumper cables connected together.
ScoobyNubieToo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:56 PM   #5
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Default

It does go into test mode although the check engine light doesnt flash (as the manual says it should be doing)
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 04:01 PM   #6
ScoobyNubieToo!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75234
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon with
07 STI 6-Speed Goodness!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skieman
It does go into test mode although the check engine light doesnt flash (as the manual says it should be doing)
Try the technique listed above, I think your ECU can be salvaged.
ScoobyNubieToo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 04:22 PM   #7
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyNubieToo!
Does it go into the "test mode" with the connectors hooked up and the key turned? A idea that sometimes works is to to attempt reflash/unmarry with another vehicle running and jumper cables connected together.

is this an attempt to save itself if the battery is weak?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 07:05 PM   #8
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyNubieToo!
Try the technique listed above, I think your ECU can be salvaged.
I appreciate the idea and tried it but it didn't work.

After leaving the battery disconnected for a few hours, I attempted your idea.(co0nnected batery to my running truck)

The AP menu display asked me what map I wanted to choose (as if I was initializing for the first time) . Selected stock map and it started to initialize correctly. Then at about 25% it stopped and displayed the following message, "There was a problem with communication. Trying again..." (its worth noting that when it first started initializing almost all dash lights were on..such as the speedo dial.. the tach etc... Then right before it gave this error message, all lights, except for the "red" oil, brake, airbag & r. diff temp went off. So the ones that were still on were only those red lights). So it then just sits there with this message as if its hung up or in a loop. I gave it at least 10 minutes, than I turned the car into off position and pulled the red AP connector.

car still wont start..

With the other car still running and battery still connected I then tried it again. This time the AP gave me a menu as if the AP map had aleady been initialized. I checked the map and it was still reading Stage 2 93 (the map I was starting with!!) and the same red lights were only on. I tried changing the map to stock and this time it never starts initializing. Just says Error try again.

car still won't start.

This is driving me insane. I'm open to any other suggestions. BTW- Anyone know what a new Sti ECU costs? and if dealers typically have then in stock? and how hard they are to install.
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 07:53 PM   #9
drees
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25905
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Silver Wagon
Tuned with Enginuity

Default

Sounds like you may have to send the ECU+AP to Cobb. Give them a call tomorrow, they should be able to help you out.
drees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:27 PM   #10
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drees
Sounds like you may have to send the ECU+AP to Cobb. Give them a call tomorrow, they should be able to help you out.
Wow that AP sure seems like a bargain now doesnt it


Anyway, so The reason I am posting is I wanted to know, is Cobb going to replace the ECU that their product screwed up if you cant get this unmarried?
I have firsthand seen an AP refusing to unmarry, and it took 4-5 phonecalls to Cobb to get it working.
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:41 PM   #11
ScoobyNubieToo!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75234
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon with
07 STI 6-Speed Goodness!

Default

Dig around here....maybe ya can find some quick help......
http://www.wrxforum.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi
ScoobyNubieToo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:31 PM   #12
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

As COBB Book says, if there is interference or if you disconnect the AP during initialization you may incur an ECU failure and will have to send them to COBB, and I bet there will be some kind of fee involved.
That's why when I am doing an AP flash I turn off all dome lights, stereo and shut the door when doing the flash.
You said you got frustrated and disconnected it when it was hung at 25%, normally on a reflash it will hang at 25% and again at 80% for some time.
Good luck, COBB folks are very friendly.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 02:40 AM   #13
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

I turn off the stereo, the HVAC blower fan, the dome lights, AND i dim the dash lights
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 08:38 AM   #14
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibblejr
As COBB Book says, if there is interference or if you disconnect the AP during initialization you may incur an ECU failure and will have to send them to COBB, and I bet there will be some kind of fee involved.
That's why when I am doing an AP flash I turn off all dome lights, stereo and shut the door when doing the flash.
You said you got frustrated and disconnected it when it was hung at 25%, normally on a reflash it will hang at 25% and again at 80% for some time.
Good luck, COBB folks are very friendly.
Actually, I didn't disconnect it when the % numbers were still on the AP screen. I disconnected it when it changed to read " There was a problem with communication. Trying again..."

Thanks for veryone's suggestions. I've left a message for COBB this morning. Hopefully they can help sort this out. I suspect, as someone commented earlier, that I'll have to send the AP and ECU to COBB.

Now for the ultimate stupid questions ; 1) Where is the ECU in an 04 STi? 2)How easy is it to take out? (pics please..) 3)Any idea what I might expect repair costs to be? 4) How much is a new ECU?Can this only be ordered by a dealer?
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 03:00 PM   #15
drees
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25905
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Silver Wagon
Tuned with Enginuity

Default

The ECU is under the carpet under the dash on the passenger side of the car. Undo the retainers for the carpet, pull the carpet and and you'll see a few bolts holding the ECU down. Pretty simple, the trickiest part can sometimes be pulling out the carpet fasteners, sometimes they get stuck! Pull harder.
drees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 03:46 PM   #16
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhluhr
I turn off the stereo, the HVAC blower fan, the dome lights, AND i dim the dash lights
The dealership where I worked, if we were flashing an ECU, we didnt even run a lift or use a radio within abotu 30 feet of the car. I actually saw an ECU die because someone ran the lift next to the car being flashed...
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 05:41 PM   #17
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davenow
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhluhr
I turn off the stereo, the HVAC blower fan, the dome lights, AND i dim the dash lights
The dealership where I worked, if we were flashing an ECU, we didnt even run a lift or use a radio within abotu 30 feet of the car. I actually saw an ECU die because someone ran the lift next to the car being flashed...
Yeah, I don't think the Cobb AccessPort User Manual provides enough warnings. Here are the warnings from p. 89 of the Subaru Select Monitor III manual at http://www.subarujtg.com/doc/SSMIII_Application.pdf;
Quote:
Notes on doing ECM reprogramming

Before starting
  1. Do reprogramming more than 50 m (164 ft) away from high voltage wires.
  2. Do reprogramming more than 10 m (33 ft) away from equipment that might emit high voltage.
  3. Do reprogramming more than 2 m (7 ft) away from equipment that emits electronic noise (such as a vehicle having its ignition checked).
  4. Do reprogramming more than 2 m (7 ft) away from electronic devices that emit radio waves (such as cellular phones or pagers).
  5. Before starting the reprogramming, turn off all the electric equipment (such as the ignition system, audio system, cigarette lighter, or power seats).
  6. Reprogramming automatically turns off if the ambient temperature falls below 0C (32F).
During reprogramming
  1. Do not touch any switches in the vehicle.
  2. Do not touch the pedals, and do not open or close the doors.
  3. Stay near the car
  4. Do not touch the cables or connectors, and do not move the SDI.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:42 PM   #18
GotHP?
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51138
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2015 LE STI
WRB

Default

Wow, almost identical problem:

http://www.iwsti.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45959

Only difference is in test mode some solenoid on mine is clicking, no fans running, no fuel pump priming. And I can turn the car over fine, just won't catch (likely due to no fuel). Either way the ECU is confused. Being a daily driver I bought a used ECU. If Cobb can save mine, I can always sell it back.
GotHP? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 10:08 PM   #19
ScoobyNubieToo!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75234
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon with
07 STI 6-Speed Goodness!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT]
Yeah, I don't think the Cobb AccessPort User Manual provides enough warnings. Here are the warnings from p. 89 of the Subaru Select Monitor III manual at http://www.subarujtg.com/doc/SSMIII_Application.pdf;
Great link! Thanks a lot!
ScoobyNubieToo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 09:39 AM   #20
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHP?
Wow, almost identical problem:

http://www.iwsti.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45959

Only difference is in test mode some solenoid on mine is clicking, no fans running, no fuel pump priming. And I can turn the car over fine, just won't catch (likely due to no fuel). Either way the ECU is confused. Being a daily driver I bought a used ECU. If Cobb can save mine, I can always sell it back.
According to COBB, my ECU was "confused". They said they were able to fix ECU and are sending it back to me (with unmarried AP). I'll let you all know if its back to normal later today.

Thanks for all your suggestions!

PS: COBB was very helpful. Good customer service.
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 12:27 PM   #21
Bishop
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 59993
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: WWAAYY west of the Mississippi
Vehicle:
Ass, grass or cash
no one rides for free!!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skieman
According to COBB, my ECU was "confused". They said they were able to fix ECU and are sending it back to me (with unmarried AP). I'll let you all know if its back to normal later today.

Thanks for all your suggestions!

PS: COBB was very helpful. Good customer service.
did you have to pay them for anything?
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 01:07 PM   #22
skieman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38952
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2004 STi, TXS RFL Ti
Accessport Stage#2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J*Bishop
did you have to pay them for anything?
shipping (both ways) and a pretty nominal service fee
skieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 03:57 PM   #23
GotHP?
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51138
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2015 LE STI
WRB

Default

Good to hear, I hope mine turns out so good. I agree Cobb tech support has been good so far.
GotHP? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 07:59 PM   #24
ScoobyNubieToo!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75234
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon with
07 STI 6-Speed Goodness!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHP?
Good to hear, I hope mine turns out so good. I agree Cobb tech support has been good so far.
+1 Very happy with COBB's service.
ScoobyNubieToo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 09:39 PM   #25
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Great for you, let us know how it all works out.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with unmarrying the AP V1 or not unmarrying it! DJS_02_WRX Newbies & FAQs 12 10-18-2009 09:53 AM
Do you have to unplug the AP when car is off? STI 08 Bahrain AccessPort 2 10-03-2008 05:38 AM
Car totalled, can't unmarry the AP -- what now? perret318 AccessPort 19 10-30-2006 06:10 PM
tried to fix exhaust leak - now car sounds like a beast! anthonyrb98 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 04-20-2005 10:56 PM
I tried to order the AP for an STI today imprzya Engine Management & Tuning 7 06-08-2004 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.