Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 11:04 AM   #1
02CWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196013
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Woodinville, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX
EJ207 6-Speed

Default Safe To Run Ver 8 EJ207 Without AVCS?

Just as the title says. I have a complete ver 8 motor in my 02 WRX, but the AVCS kit isn't here yet. Can I still run it safely without it hooked up to check the install and move the car and stuff?

~T.J.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
02CWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:52 PM   #2
seanathanq83
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 173241
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 s256 twinscroll
now with one more gear

Default

which ecu are you running? i have herd that if running a jdm ecu it can cause problems to the ecu
seanathanq83 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:11 PM   #3
02CWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196013
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Woodinville, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX
EJ207 6-Speed

Default

Ok, from what I've been told, it will be fine. Just not full power and no cam advance.

As for the ECU, I don't see how it could "hurt" the ECU. What if the sensor, motor, or wiring failed on a working system? It certainly wouldn't harm the ECU. It should just be a check engine light just like most things.

That was my thinking and reasoning behind thinking it would be fine to run it without it. I just thought I would ask and be sure. Very few things on cars would cause catastrophic damage if they failed or weren't hooked up. This is why we have limp modes and such.

In any case, my wiring kit from IA Performance will be here tomorrow. Its only running long enough to make sure it all looks good, and pull it out of the shop.

~T.J.
02CWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:21 PM   #4
seanathanq83
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 173241
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 s256 twinscroll
now with one more gear

Default

thats just what i have read. i am about to do a v8 swap so i have been looking in to it, my thing is better be safe than sorry
seanathanq83 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 01:24 AM   #5
02CWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196013
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Woodinville, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX
EJ207 6-Speed

Default

Well, it does run, but I wouldn't say "fine" as I was told. Its running rough, extremely rich, and I wouldn't call it driveable.

It hits a rev limiter at about 4K, and has thrown two codes for "cam position sensor" on both bank one and two. Since the US motor only has one cam sensor, I can deduce these codes are due to the lack of AVCS. I only needed to move it out of the shop though, so its no big deal. I will find out what happens tomorrow after the AVCS wiring gets here and installed. Hopefully the above symptoms clear up after the wiring and its not a result of a bigger problem.

~T.J.
02CWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 04:54 AM   #6
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

i just had my ver8 installed last week. I don't have the avcs working, but the car drives just fine. it doesn't run rough and idles fine. I goes way past 4K rpm. Something is not hooked up in your car. I'm in the process of wiring the avcs, but without it, it feels laggier than my cobb stage 2, but its a larger turbo too. The engine feels so much smoother and quicker to rev, love it so far.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 01:48 PM   #7
02CWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196013
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Woodinville, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX
EJ207 6-Speed

Default

Yeah, I've determined there has to be something going on. I've been through the motor from the intake filter to the exhaust downpipe about 15 times now and can't find a single sensor or hose, unplugged, broken, or leaking. But, I'm sure there is something I'm missing somewhere. Interesting fact though, it has stopped hitting that wall at 4K RPMs and now revs past fine. This is leaning me more towards injectors being gummed up or something.

Compression was good even cold, leakdown was only 10% and 12% cold, so I'm sure the motor is fairly healthy.

I will be back on it tonight after I install the AVCS wiring and fuel pump. I'm going to add some fuel injector cleaner to the gas when I do the pump, so maybe that might clear it up some if its the injectors.

~T.J.
02CWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 01:56 PM   #8
zac5
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141702
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Vehicle:
06 apex silve Evo9
Wrong Fitment Crew #054

Default

you should be fine driving without it. AVCS doesn't make it complete different car but it does help spools indeed.
zac5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 02:39 PM   #9
02CWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 196013
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Woodinville, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX
EJ207 6-Speed

Default

Maybe his will be fine. Mine is running wrong, high idle, and bad AFRs.

~T.J.
02CWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 03:08 PM   #10
legacy2003
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38338
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Washington, DC Metro
Vehicle:
2003 Outback Sdn H6
Black

Default

Yes, its totally fine not to run AVCS. I did it for years on my JDM Ver. 7 STI. The turbo will lag in building boost more than it should, but it is totally safe.
legacy2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:29 PM   #11
jeremywrxdcr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303691
Join Date: Dec 2011
Vehicle:
03 ej207 WRX
white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02CWRX View Post
Well, it does run, but I wouldn't say "fine" as I was told. Its running rough, extremely rich, and I wouldn't call it driveable.

It hits a rev limiter at about 4K, and has thrown two codes for "cam position sensor" on both bank one and two. Since the US motor only has one cam sensor, I can deduce these codes are due to the lack of AVCS. I only needed to move it out of the shop though, so its no big deal. I will find out what happens tomorrow after the AVCS wiring gets here and installed. Hopefully the above symptoms clear up after the wiring and its not a result of a bigger problem.

~T.J.

sorry this is a very old thread... but i just finished my v8 swap yesterday and have the exact same issues... i have the usdm ecu currently just to make sure the motor is a good motor but i am also getting a supper rough running car and no power. did you ever figure it out... ive checked everything that i can think of.
jeremywrxdcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:50 AM   #12
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

If you have the matching JDM ecu, plug it in and see how the car runs.
If you don't, you have to reprogram the USDM ECU, using as much as possible the parameters from the tables of the JDM ECU.
Get a tactrix cable.
The USDM ECU can be safe for low load driving, but before this can happen, it needs to account for the injectors and air moving patterns of this engine, etc.
You can receive help via email these days, people can email you maps for your engine, once you are using the tactrix.
Vlad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:32 AM   #13
jeremywrxdcr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303691
Join Date: Dec 2011
Vehicle:
03 ej207 WRX
white

Default

I have a map on the usdm ecu from ia performance. He said he uses it to run his swapped cars. It has the tgv's deleted and set up for the ej207. I'm getting cam pos sensor code still and bank 1 lean and also bank 1 rich. I changed the cam sensor and still the same thing... I have put new plugs changed the coil packs and cleaned the injectors... but nothing has changed the way the motor has ran. It idles with a mis and has no power. Barely gets up to 40mph. The car really has me stumped. I have also double checked the timing to make sure it is on mark. I sent ia performance a data log and he says he's never seen the fuel trim go from +25 to -25 in idle. I'm kinda at a lose of what to do.
jeremywrxdcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What will i make for power? Ver 8. EJ207 with small bolt ons... prokaw875 General Community 10 09-25-2009 05:22 AM
FS: VA- Ver. 8 EJ207 Shortblock EJ207GC Engine/Power/Exhaust 10 04-02-2009 03:17 PM
safe to run dp, up, and cbe without tuning? wrxproject Engine Management & Tuning 24 01-20-2006 01:30 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 21 10-17-2005 01:56 AM
safe to run base ST maps without addtl tuning? hondaeater69 Engine Management & Tuning 4 03-06-2005 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.