Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday August 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2006, 01:49 PM   #1
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default lights flicker with turn signals

I dont know if this has anything to do with the DRL delete mod because it only started happening recently and i did that a while ago. But here is what is happening. Sometimes when i use my turn signals, after i go around the turn and the turn signal shuts itself off, the headlights turn on and off frantically, and its just very confusing to me, how or why this could be happening. It also happens sometimes when i just turn my brights on. Has anyone else had any similar problems. Thanks guys.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-17-2006, 01:57 PM   #2
Handsdown
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 29355
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: seattle
Default

did you unplug the module behind the dash or did you just take out the silver box in the engine bay?

if you haven't unplugged the module behind the glovebox(the plastic one under the dash) then do that, then you'll be sure it's not related to the voltage dropping unit.
Handsdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 02:18 PM   #3
12Voltking
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108906
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Duluth WI
Vehicle:
99 OB
white over gray

Default

it sounds like you have may have a connector halfway out of place. It also sounds like a little bit of an earth issue.
12Voltking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 04:36 PM   #4
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

i unplugged the module behind the glovebox, not the one in the engine bay, should i possibly take that one out as well?
12Voltking, what do you mean it sounds like a little bit of an earth issue? That statement just confuses me a little bit.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 04:58 PM   #5
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

You probably have a bad combination switch, although your car is a bit new to be having that problem. If you're still within the 3/36 period it is covered under warranty.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 10:07 PM   #6
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

no, im past the warranty, i wonder how much that part would cost though?
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 12:08 AM   #7
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

I don't think it's that expensive, probably around $30-40 (WAG). Check with the Subaru parts dealers who are vendors on the site.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:38 PM   #8
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

does anybody know where this is located on the car or how i would be able to check and see if it has gone bad? i hate spending money on parts i dont really need.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 03:56 PM   #9
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

The combination switch is the assembly on the steering column that includes the headlight and turn signal switches. It's what the stalk is attached to.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:39 PM   #10
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

sweet, ill have to check that out in the morning, hopefully ill be able to tell if something is wrong or not.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 02:18 PM   #11
12Voltking
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108906
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Duluth WI
Vehicle:
99 OB
white over gray

Default

earth = ground. Sorry, I've confused a couple of people on here with that it seems. I'm originally from Australia and we don't use the term ground...we call it earth

But anyways, a high resistance joint through a ground connection can cause something similiar to this. Especially if the DRL wire has been rubbing against the turn signal wiring...if they short out against each other then the flasher can will see the DRLs as being indicators and try to flash them...except they draw more current and will discharge the can faster making it flash faster then the indicators.
12Voltking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 02:22 PM   #12
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

DRLs in this car are low beams run at reduced intensity, and they are powered from the DRL module not through the switch.
I'll stick with my original diagnosis of a bad switch, it seems to be a commonly reported failure.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 08:59 PM   #13
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

Could i possibly just buy the switch from say a wrecked wrx or would i have to take the whole turn signal/light dial assembly?
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:30 AM   #14
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

You should be able to get the part from a junkyard, but bear in mind that it could be in no better shape than yours. At least get one from a low mileage car. For a part this inexpensive, that is subject to wear, I would just buy a new one.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 12:07 PM   #15
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

thats a very good point, i appreciate the help guys, im just gonna go ahead and get a new one i think.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 05:11 PM   #16
knertified
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33244
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

I also have this exact problem on my 2003 WRX with the turn signals causing the lights to flicker randomly, however I installed HID's. I did not ground them to the battery because I was lazy. I figured this was the culprit. I am interested in if you have HID's installed or not. If you don't, maybe its a switch defect and my theory is incorrect.
knertified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 10:01 AM   #17
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

No, i dont have HID's. Its really starting to confuse me though, cause it didnt do it at all 2 days ago, so i thought it was fixed, then last night it was just doing it randomly again. I looked around and couldnt see anything that looked wrong or out of place, so i guess im just gonna have to order a new one.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 05:23 PM   #18
knertified
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33244
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Same here, its intermittent. Some times it doesn't happen all day, the other time it constantly happens.
knertified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 01:41 PM   #19
JBravo920
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73420
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Camry XLE
& 10' Kawasaki Vulcan 900

Default

alright, so I called the dealership and told them i needed to order the combination switch...apparently that whole piece is $280.88, which i dont have to spend right now. He said they do sell seperate pieces off of it though. So if anyone has any good idea which piece it would be i would have to order, ie. the headlight piece, the turn signal piece, or if anyone has had this problem before and knows exactly which piece i need, the information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again guys.
JBravo920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
headlight flicker when turn signal used STIckySTIfee Electrical & Lighting 13 07-10-2010 02:04 PM
Headlights flicker when turn signal is applied Aspenbullet Electrical & Lighting 6 07-16-2007 03:46 AM
Turning the side marker light into a turn signal romanom Interior & Exterior Modification 3 03-20-2002 08:48 AM
Switching parking lights with turn signals imprezive Interior & Exterior Modification 22 02-14-2002 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.