Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2006, 04:57 PM   #1
84SubaruDL
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42179
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middle of Far
Vehicle:
SON! F 22's i roll
on 33" 12 fity SON!!!

Default CEL ? with Accessport

my 03 wrx stage 2.5 poped a CEL last week, and when i check it with the accessport scanner, it said no trouble codes found.

has anyone else have this happen to them. and if so, how can i find out if there was really a problem.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
84SubaruDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:01 PM   #2
supermarkus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6971
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
SSM

Default

Are you aware that the AP does not read historic CELs? Once you turn your car off, things like p0420 become historic codes. You need to pull the code as soon as it happens without turning the ignition off if you want to use your AP as a scan tool.
supermarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 07:57 PM   #3
84SubaruDL
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42179
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middle of Far
Vehicle:
SON! F 22's i roll
on 33" 12 fity SON!!!

Default

^^^ so you are saying, that if i drove home turned the car off ran inside my house and grabed the accessport when i go back outside to check it it won't check the code?


cause i turned the car on agian the CEL was still on and when i checked it, it said no trouble codes found
84SubaruDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:35 PM   #4
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 84SubaruDL
^^^ so you are saying, that if i drove home turned the car off ran inside my house and grabed the accessport when i go back outside to check it it won't check the code?


cause i turned the car on agian the CEL was still on and when i checked it, it said no trouble codes found

The AP reads current DTC (diagnostic trouble codes), not CEL's perse. confused yet?
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 06:56 PM   #5
84SubaruDL
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42179
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middle of Far
Vehicle:
SON! F 22's i roll
on 33" 12 fity SON!!!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
The AP reads current DTC (diagnostic trouble codes), not CEL's perse. confused yet?
what does that mean? cause i thought a few hours would be current enough
84SubaruDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 08:17 PM   #6
supermarkus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6971
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
SSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
The AP reads current DTC (diagnostic trouble codes), not CEL's perse. confused yet?

Thanks alot, i was trying to keep thing somewhat simple for the Rhodes Scholars out there

to OP
DTC are thrown when there are problems during the self diagnostic routines, the result is a visual cue= Check Engine Light or Malfunction Indicator Light as some call them. Once you turn the car off, they usually get shuffled into memory as a historic DTC. I seriously don't' know how I could have been any clearer in my first post and still keep it brief and simple. Do yourself a favor and get a real scan tool.
supermarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 11:19 PM   #7
Mach V Dan
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 12029
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Default

On the later model cars, there ARE DTC codes that the AccessPort CANNOT read. I know this is true for '05 and '06 model year cars. I thought it was NOT true of the 2003 model year, so if you have an active Check Engine light, the AP should be able to tell you the code.

--Dan
Mach V
FastWRX.com
Mach V Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P0031 CEL with Accessport (stage 2) Jay04WRX AccessPort 15 09-06-2009 01:24 PM
CEL ? with Accessport 84SubaruDL Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 4 03-22-2006 03:28 PM
CEL with accessport...need help NRTmotorsports Engine Management & Tuning 6 11-24-2005 02:32 PM
Help! CEL with CEL fix electricpork Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 12-31-2004 03:56 PM
throwing cel P0139 with accessport stage II WolfInSheepsCLothing Engine Management & Tuning 2 12-19-2004 07:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.