Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2006, 09:24 PM   #1
Parsons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65688
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milton, NH
Vehicle:
2001 junkyard heap
Black/dirt

Default Swap problem - dash shorted.

Alright I had a shop do my swap, I don't know much about swapped cars myself, but I really don't want to drive it back to another shop, its already been 16 months in waiting.
So I got a 2004 wrx motor swapped into my 01 2.5 RS. I've probably put 300 +/- miles on it since the shop finished with it. Car runs fine, boosts fine, idles fine, basically just the way I want it.
Today I am driving around and my speedo and revs bottom out to 0. I stop my joyriding and bring it back to my house. I notice that when I use my directionals, they work on the outside of the car, but don't show in the dash. But if i turn my hazards on the lights work in dash.
I go to put my windows up and close the sunroof, they also don't work.

I also get no CEL when I first turn the car on or ever, so I am not sure if its even connected. Also that useless display on the dash (has temp, direction of travel, alititude and what not) hasn't worked since I got it back. Not that I ever use it, but that might help someone.

What shorted out on me? A fuse pop? Wires disconnect? I am not really sure where to start on this, but I really need some help. If anyone has some advise on why this is I would appreciate it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 10:35 PM   #2
Hurley 2.5 WRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43916
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Old Town
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 4.7
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

probably a fuse.

always the first thing to check.
Hurley 2.5 WRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 08:42 AM   #3
MysteriousXTC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66771
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: High Point, NC
Vehicle:
93 L w/ V4 STi RA

Default

Strange as it may sound my MY00 did the same thing, often times it would drop the speedo and tach to 0 and everything would just die inside the car... I replaced the altenator and everythign returned to normal... Dont know if this is your problem or if an altenator would fix it, I certainly didn't believe it would fix mine, cause an altenator is a fairly good chunk of change, maybe a belt first... See if you can turn the car on now and see if the gauges work, if so its not a fuse, rather a fusible link?
MysteriousXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 09:22 AM   #4
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

low voltage.. has to be. check your battery
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 03:43 PM   #5
Parsons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65688
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milton, NH
Vehicle:
2001 junkyard heap
Black/dirt

Default Thanks

The battery is brand new and the altenator (as well as the rest of the engine) has less then 5000 miles on it, so not sure if that would be gone already.
I don't think low voltage would short out just those specific things, as everything else works fine all the time.
Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 03:52 PM   #6
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

does the car start and run now? if not, the main relay power wire might have gotten fudged up.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 03:57 PM   #7
MysteriousXTC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66771
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: High Point, NC
Vehicle:
93 L w/ V4 STi RA

Default

low voltage can do some weird things... but its probably just some loose connection somewhere... fun part is finding it, G/L
MysteriousXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:58 AM   #8
Parsons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65688
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milton, NH
Vehicle:
2001 junkyard heap
Black/dirt

Default even worse now.

ok I figured what fuses were blown and replaced them. Drove it another 15 mins or so and the same fueses went again.
So I drove it home to park it and try to figure it out with the shop that did the work. On my way home I noticed that when I got to about 2-3k rpm (by ear, dash didn't work) the car would bog down real bad. I was going up a hill, downshifted to 4th and no throttle response. I coasted to the side of the road, turned it off and popped open the hood to see if anything was strange. Nothing. Went to start it again and all I get is clicks. So my battery was dead.
Called a friend to jump me. We jumped it, went about 100 feet and it died again. Now it wont start at all, I figure my battery is dead. Again, battery is brand new and engine has <5000 miles on it.
The fuses that popped every time were:
10amp Tail clearance (dash fuse box)
15amp turn back srs lamp (dash fuse box)
and the last time the 20amp lighting sw (engine bay fuse box)

Anyone? I figure my only choice now is to get it towed back to shop and have them fix whatever wiring problem they caused when they did the swap.
Problem is its getting inspected by a DoT officer in the next couple weeks for my salvage title. If it doesn't run, I am screwed. (although they are only inspecting the body repair AFAIK)
Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 06:56 PM   #9
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

I would try a new batt first. most of the fuses you listed have nothing to do with the swap.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 08:35 PM   #10
Gator GT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37190
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Vehicle:
07 specB - 6spds,
4 tips, 3 LSDs, stg 2!!!

Default

try your grounds. make sure they didn't skip any grounds or install them in less than desirable locations (plastic or sub-frame; instead of directly to chassis)

having less than the required (or designed) amount of grounds will always play with you.

GGT
Gator GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:42 PM   #11
Ds baruuuuu
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4724
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: in my rs with the ej20 love!!
Vehicle:
01 01RS
brp

Default

if you jumed it and it died like that sounds like your alt isnt charging check the wiring to the back of the alt and if thats good just take it out and checkers will test it i believe
Ds baruuuuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 09:39 AM   #12
Parsons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65688
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milton, NH
Vehicle:
2001 junkyard heap
Black/dirt

Default

My car doesn't know what it wants to do.
Yesterday I replaced all the fuses again, jumped it and let it run for about 20 mins. Then I drove it for about 30 miles without a problem. Only thing is my directionals weren't working the whole time.

Everyday its something different, I don't understand it.

I guess I need to check grounds next.
Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 09:08 PM   #13
Parsons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 65688
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milton, NH
Vehicle:
2001 junkyard heap
Black/dirt

Default

Anyone?
Is there any way I can test which wires/grounds are causing the problem? I can't just look at this mess of wires and know what to check. I have pretty limited knowledge of this subject, hence the reason I brought it to a shop to do the swap.
10amp Tail clearance (dash fuse box) Is currently the only fuse that is burning out on me, all my other fuses are fine.
Also my heads up display (the stock one in the RS dash) and CEL aren't working/getting power.
Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single DIN to double DIN aftermarket swap, needs dash kit? scott.olson Car Audio, Video & Security 4 04-16-2010 04:42 PM
sti swap with dash.... no need to merge harness? reality1011 Subaru Conversions 5 07-18-2006 09:48 AM
Swapping complete dash of USDM WRX/Forester into 98-01 Legacy ? Legacy Subaru Conversions 0 03-27-2005 07:34 AM
sti swap, need dash w/ everything, and pedals orangescooby Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 03-26-2005 03:08 PM
v7 swap and dash circuit svxtrem Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 11-08-2002 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.